Totals
- Total revenue
- $132,931,219
- Total expenses
- $117,955,914
- Contributions and grants received
- $122,940,896
- Grants paid
- $1,201,701
- Program service revenue
- not reported
- Investment income
- not reported
- Other revenue
- not reported
- Total assets, end of year
- not reported
- Total liabilities, end of year
- not reported
- Net assets or fund balances, end of year
- not reported
- Program services expenses (Part IX)
- $106,995,473
- Management and general expenses
- $6,305,013
- Fundraising expenses
- $4,655,428
- Program service expenses (Part III)
- $106,995,473
Program services were 90.7% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.
Listed in Part VII
-
RAHSAAN BERNARD
BOARD CHAIR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 4 + 2 related
-
AMY CELEP
VICE CHAIR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 4 + 2 related
-
ANNE KRESS
TREAS & FIN COMM CHAIR (FROM 7/23)
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2 + 2 related
-
THOMAS LOFLAND
SECRETARY
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
VICTOR HOSKINS
VICE PRESIDENT (FROM 11/23)
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
SHARON O'BRIEN
AUDIT COMMITTEE CHAIR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
ERIC EISENBERG
GOV COMM CHAIR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
ADAM GOLDBERG
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
ANGIE LATHROP
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
BOB COHN
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
DENISE DOMBAY
BOARD MEMBER (UNTIL 11/23)
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
ELAINE RICHARD
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
IRA KRESS
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
JUSTIN WHITE
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
LARRY HENTZ
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
LISA ROSS
BOARD MEMBER (UNTIL 6/24)
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
PETER SCHNALL
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
RITA CARREON
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
SARAH TUCKER-RAY
BOARD MEMBER (FROM 11/23)
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
SETH BLACKLEY
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
WILLIAM TATUM
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
RADHA MUTHIAH
PRESIDENT & CEO
- Total calculated
- $532,548
- From this org
- $493,015
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $39,533
- Hours/week
- 40 + 2 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $417,135
- Bonus
- $75,000
- Other
- $880
- Deferred
- $36,783
- Nontaxable benefits
- $3,750
- Filer's total
- $533,548
-
JOHN ROBERTSON
CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER
- Total calculated
- $325,118
- From this org
- $282,741
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $42,377
- Hours/week
- 40 + 2 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $257,037
- Bonus
- $25,704
- Other
- $0
- Deferred
- $17,649
- Nontaxable benefits
- $24,728
- Filer's total
- $325,118
-
KRISTA SCALISE
CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER
- Total calculated
- $313,269
- From this org
- $271,138
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $42,131
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $246,463
- Bonus
- $24,675
- Other
- $0
- Deferred
- $21,757
- Nontaxable benefits
- $20,374
- Filer's total
- $313,269
-
MARY B HEALY
CHIEF REVENUE OFFICER
- Total calculated
- $245,693
- From this org
- $217,387
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $28,306
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $216,507
- Bonus
- $0
- Other
- $880
- Deferred
- $17,552
- Nontaxable benefits
- $11,634
- Filer's total
- $246,573
-
JANA L LEE
CHIEF HUMAN RESOURCE OFFICER
- Total calculated
- $209,399
- From this org
- $195,664
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $13,735
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $195,664
- Bonus
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Deferred
- $13,735
- Nontaxable benefits
- $0
- Filer's total
- $209,399
-
MELANIE L MINZES
DEPUTY CHIEF DEVELOPMENT OFFICER
- Total calculated
- $188,438
- From this org
- $167,095
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $21,343
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $167,095
- Bonus
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Deferred
- $10,589
- Nontaxable benefits
- $10,754
- Filer's total
- $188,438
-
MOLLY MCGLINCHY
DEPUTY CHIEF, PROGRAMS & INNOVATION
- Total calculated
- $172,594
- From this org
- $156,981
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $15,613
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $156,125
- Bonus
- $0
- Other
- $856
- Deferred
- $15,613
- Nontaxable benefits
- $976
- Filer's total
- $173,570
-
KARL E SPANBAUER
CONTROLLER
- Total calculated
- $170,722
- From this org
- $156,617
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $14,105
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $154,617
- Bonus
- $2,000
- Other
- $0
- Deferred
- $6,418
- Nontaxable benefits
- $7,687
- Filer's total
- $170,722
-
BRADLEY A JENSEMA
SR. DIR., DEVELOPMENT
- Total calculated
- $172,793
- From this org
- $163,012
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $9,781
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $163,012
- Bonus
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Deferred
- $9,781
- Nontaxable benefits
- $0
- Filer's total
- $172,793
-
CHRISTEL HAIR
SR. ADV., CAP CAMPAIGN (UNTIL 10/23)
- Total calculated
- $161,685
- From this org
- $146,507
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $15,178
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $145,700
- Bonus
- $0
- Other
- $807
- Deferred
- $14,647
- Nontaxable benefits
- $1,448
- Filer's total
- $162,602
-
BRADLEY B MISSAL
DIRECTOR OF IT
- Total calculated
- $173,216
- From this org
- $143,715
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $29,501
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $143,715
- Bonus
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Deferred
- $11,807
- Nontaxable benefits
- $17,694
- Filer's total
- $173,216
-
HILARY M SALMON
SR. DIR., MARKETING & COMMUNICATION
- Total calculated
- $149,201
- From this org
- $134,265
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $14,936
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $133,409
- Bonus
- $0
- Other
- $856
- Deferred
- $13,486
- Nontaxable benefits
- $2,426
- Filer's total
- $150,177
-
CYNTHIA SINGISER
SR. DIR., NOVA REGION
- Total calculated
- $162,102
- From this org
- $145,616
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $16,486
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $144,736
- Bonus
- $0
- Other
- $880
- Deferred
- $8,799
- Nontaxable benefits
- $8,687
- Filer's total
- $163,102
Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.
Schedule J
Answered yes
- 3 · Compensation committee
- 3 · Form 990 of other organizations
- 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee
- 7 · Other non-fixed payments
Answered no
- 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
- 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
- 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
- 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
- 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
- 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
- 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
- 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception
The filer's explanations (Part III)
- PART I, LINE 7
- THE CEO IS CONSIDERED FOR A BONUS EACH YEAR BASED ON HER PERFORMANCE, THE FOOD BANK'S PERFORMANCE, AND UPON THE APPROVAL OF THE BOARD'S EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE. MEMBERS OF THE SENIOR LEADERSHIP TEAM PERIODICALLY RECEIVE BONUSES IN LIEU OF SALARY INCREASES AS APPROVED BY THE CEO.
Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.
Grants on this return
-
2024 CAPACITY GRANT
-
$54,000
2024 CAPACITY GRANT
-
2024 CAPACITY GRANT
-
ROYAL MISSIONARY BAPTIST CHURCH
$49,000
2024 CAPACITY GRANT
-
COMMUNITY HEALTH FOUNDATION INC
$48,000
2024 CAPACITY GRANT
-
2024 CAPACITY GRANT
-
2024 CAPACITY GRANT
-
$36,014
2024 CAPACITY GRANT
-
$36,002
2024 CAPACITY GRANT
-
$29,180
2024 CAPACITY GRANT
The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.
Related organizations on this return
Schedule R Part II: tax-exempt organizations related to the filer by control. It does not record shared board members or money.
-
CAPITAL AREA FOOD BANK FOUNDATION
501(C)(3) · TO SUPPORT THE CAPITAL AREA FOOD BANK · DC · controlled entity
Directly controlled by CAPITAL AREA FOOD BANK
Provenance
- Return type
- form_990
- Tax year
- 2023
- Filed
- 5 May 2025
- IRS schema version
- 2023v6.0
- Source object
- 202511259349301966
Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.
The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.