Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← MARTIN LIBRARY ASSOCIATION

Form 990 for tax year 2023

Filed by MARTIN LIBRARY ASSOCIATION.

Totals

Total revenue
$1,757,817
Total expenses
$1,116,312
Contributions and grants received
$1,262,495
Grants paid
$0
Program service revenue
$0
Investment income
$255,322
Other revenue
$240,000
Total assets, end of year
$14,139,837
Total liabilities, end of year
$1,486,647
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$12,653,190
Program services expenses (Part IX)
$1,096,786
Management and general expenses
$10,062
Fundraising expenses
$9,464
Program service expenses (Part III)
$1,096,786

Program services were 98.3% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants

    $1,262,495

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $168,280 · excluded $168,280

  • 6a · Gross rents

    real property $240,000

  • 6c · Rental income or loss

    real property $240,000

  • 6d · Net rental income or loss

    total $240,000 · excluded $240,000

  • 7a · Gross sales of assets other than inventory

    securities $1,093,584

  • 7b · Less cost or other basis and sales expenses

    securities $1,006,542

  • 7c · Gain or loss

    securities $87,042

  • 7d · Net gain or loss

    total $87,042 · excluded $87,042

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 11f · Fees: investment management

    total $59,830 · program services $50,856 · management and general $4,786 · fundraising $4,188

  • 20 · Interest

    total $52,763 · program services $42,211 · management and general $5,276 · fundraising $5,276

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $276,117 · program services $276,117

  • 24a · Other expenses: CONTRIBUTION TO YCLS

    total $727,602 · program services $727,602

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $30 · end of year $31

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    beginning of year $564,968 · end of year $1,189,791

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    end of year $60,000

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $15,764,991

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $10,326,913

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $5,714,196 · end of year $5,438,078

  • 11 · Investments: publicly traded securities

    beginning of year $4,688,130 · end of year $5,138,673

  • 12 · Investments: other securities

    beginning of year $2,171,030 · end of year $2,313,264

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $34

  • 23 · Secured mortgages and notes payable

    beginning of year $1,648,602 · end of year $1,486,647

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $9,681,001 · end of year $10,727,466

  • 28 · Net assets with donor restrictions

    beginning of year $1,808,717 · end of year $1,925,724

Mission and programs · 2023

Mission

THE ORGANIZATION PROVIDES FREE PUBLIC LIBRARY SERVICE TO THE CITY OF YORK, PA AND SURROUNDING COMMUNITIES.

  • PUBLIC LIBRARY PROGRAMS AND SERVICES.

    Expenses $1,096,786

As filed on the 2023 return.

Listed in Part VII

  • Robert Lambert

    PRESIDENT

    Total calculated
    $159,686
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $141,470
    Other
    $18,216
    Hours/week
    1 + 40 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    not reported + $141,470 related
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported + $4,952 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported + $13,264 related
    Filer's total
    not reported + $159,686 related
  • Mohamed Mtimet Left 42023

    CHAIR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • William Shipley Left 42023

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Dominic Dellicarpini Start 72023

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Krista Darr

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Tom Donley

    CHAIR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • John Polli

    VICE-CHAIR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • John Schriver

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • John Senft

    COUNSEL

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Chrysta Stine

    TREASURER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

None.

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
  • 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
  • 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
  • 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
  • 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
  • 7 · Other non-fixed payments
  • 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

No itemized grants to organizations on this return.

Related organizations on this return

Schedule R Part II: tax-exempt organizations related to the filer by control. It does not record shared board members or money.

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2023
Filed
17 September 2024
IRS schema version
2023v5.0
Source object
202412639349301666

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.