Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← ENGINEERING & UTILITY CONTRACTORS ASSOCIATION

Form 990 for tax year 2023

Filed by ENGINEERING & UTILITY CONTRACTORS ASSOCIATION.

Totals

Total revenue
$7,567,026
Total expenses
$6,671,436
Contributions and grants received
$873,327
Grants paid
$65,800
Program service revenue
$6,555,423
Investment income
$143,491
Other revenue
-$5,215
Total assets, end of year
$8,234,231
Total liabilities, end of year
$1,938,724
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$6,295,507
Program services expenses (Part IX)
not reported
Management and general expenses
not reported
Fundraising expenses
not reported
Program service expenses (Part III)
not reported

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 1c · Fundraising events

    $228,324

  • 1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants

    $645,003

  • 1g · Noncash contributions included above

    $115,824

  • 2a · Program service revenue: CONTRACT ADMIN FUND

    total $3,758,298 · related or exempt $3,758,298

  • 2b · Program service revenue: MEMBERSHIP DUES

    total $1,799,130 · related or exempt $1,799,130

  • 2c · Program service revenue: MEMBER EVENTS

    total $858,028 · related or exempt $858,028

  • 2d · Program service revenue: EUCA MAGAZINE

    total $139,967 · unrelated business $139,967

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $166,657 · excluded $166,657

  • 7a · Gross sales of assets other than inventory

    securities $219,197

  • 7b · Less cost or other basis and sales expenses

    securities $242,363

  • 7c · Gain or loss

    securities -$23,166

  • 7d · Net gain or loss

    total -$23,166 · excluded -$23,166

  • 8a · Fundraising events: gross income

    $544,299

  • 8a · Fundraising events: contributions included on line 1c

    $228,324

  • 8b · Fundraising events: direct expenses

    $549,514

  • 8c · Net income from fundraising events

    total -$5,215 · excluded -$5,215

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 2 · Grants to domestic individuals

    total $65,800

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $552,870

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $2,606,003

  • 8 · Pension plan contributions

    total $132,722

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $256,554

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $203,486

  • 11b · Fees: legal

    total $8,909

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $59,580

  • 12 · Advertising and promotion

    total $73,139

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $69,835

  • 14 · Information technology

    total $120,178

  • 16 · Occupancy

    total $109,124

  • 17 · Travel

    total $57,221

  • 19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings

    total $153,850

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $136,872

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $40,508

  • 24a · Other expenses: MEMBER FUNCTIONS/ACTIVI

    total $944,308

  • 24b · Other expenses: UCON MAGAZINE

    total $166,049

  • 24c · Other expenses: MEMBERSHIP RECRUITMENT

    total $152,949

  • 24d · Other expenses: MEMBERSHIP SERVICES

    total $136,303

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total $625,176

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $872,378 · end of year $506,342

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    beginning of year $3,189,373 · end of year $4,316,397

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    beginning of year $490,185 · end of year $645,207

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    beginning of year $231,235 · end of year $339,817

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $1,909,244

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $979,162

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $909,890 · end of year $930,082

  • 11 · Investments: publicly traded securities

    beginning of year $877,545 · end of year $1,158,253

  • 15 · Other assets

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $338,133

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $537,866 · end of year $568,616

  • 19 · Deferred revenue

    beginning of year $964,781 · end of year $1,025,622

  • 25 · Other liabilities

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $344,486

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $4,850,233 · end of year $5,940,032

  • 28 · Net assets with donor restrictions

    beginning of year $217,726 · end of year $355,475

Mission and programs · 2023

Mission

SUPPORT, PROMOTE, AND PROVIDE SERVICES FOR THE ENGINEERING AND UTILITY CONSTRUCTION INDUSTRY AS WELL AS PROVIDE SERVICES FOR MEMBERS, SUCH AS SAFETY SEMINARS AND ASSISTANCE WITH LABOR NEGOTIATIONS.

Activities or mission (Part I)

SUPPORT, PROMOTE, AND PROVIDE SERVICES FOR THE ENGINEERING AND UTILITY CONSTRUCTION INDUSTRY.

  • UCON IS AN ASSOCIATION, RECOGNIZED FOR PROVIDING MEMBER FIRMS WITH SERVICES IN LABOR REPRESENTATION AND GOVERNMENT ADVOCACY.

  • THE ORGANIZATION PROVIDES INDUSTRY SPECIFIC TRAINING AND EDUCATION PROGRAMS.

  • THE ORGANIZATION PROVIDES RELATIONSHIP BUILDING & NETWORKING, LEGAL REFERRAL PROGRAMS, AND REGULATORY & SAFETY SERVICES.

As filed on the 2023 return.

Listed in Part VII

  • Ron Bianchini

    PRESIDENT

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.5
  • Kevin Hester

    VICE PRESIDENT

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.5
  • Joe Sostaric

    PAST PRESIDENT

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.5
  • Dale Breen

    SECRETARY/TREASURER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.5
  • Juan Arrequin

    SECRETARY/TREASURER ELECT

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.5
  • Christi Plum

    PAST SECRETARY/TREASURER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.5
  • Kelly Attebery

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.5
  • Tom Barr

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.5
  • Bryn Burke

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.5
  • Teresa Dias

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.5
  • Kurt Eddy

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.5
  • Garrett Francis

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.5
  • Greg Goebel Jr

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.5
  • Alan Guy

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.5
  • Jeff Peel

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.5
  • Michael Prlich

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.5
  • Mark Breslinunited Contractors

    CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER

    Total calculated
    $552,870
    From this org
    $494,245
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $58,625
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $369,245
    Bonus
    $125,000
    Other
    $0
    Deferred
    $18,723
    Nontaxable benefits
    $39,902
    Filer's total
    $552,870
  • Emily Cohen

    EXECUTIVE VP

    Total calculated
    $292,042
    From this org
    $257,580
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $34,462
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $217,580
    Bonus
    $40,000
    Other
    $0
    Deferred
    $12,149
    Nontaxable benefits
    $22,313
    Filer's total
    $292,042
  • Melissa Gutwald

    DIRECTOR OF FINANCE

    Total calculated
    $253,521
    From this org
    $212,835
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $40,686
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $167,835
    Bonus
    $45,000
    Other
    $0
    Deferred
    $12,778
    Nontaxable benefits
    $27,908
    Filer's total
    $253,521
  • Clay Michael O'Neal

    REGIONAL VICE PRESIDENT

    Total calculated
    $223,439
    From this org
    $190,486
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $32,953
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $150,486
    Bonus
    $40,000
    Other
    $0
    Deferred
    $11,175
    Nontaxable benefits
    $21,778
    Filer's total
    $223,439
  • Victor Sella-Villa

    DIRECTOR OF LABOR RELATION

    Total calculated
    $222,570
    From this org
    $188,431
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $34,139
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $143,431
    Bonus
    $45,000
    Other
    $0
    Deferred
    $11,087
    Nontaxable benefits
    $23,052
    Filer's total
    $222,570
  • Angelica Gouig

    DIRECTOR OF EVENTS AND EDUCATION

    Total calculated
    $170,930
    From this org
    $147,519
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $23,411
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $132,519
    Bonus
    $15,000
    Other
    $0
    Deferred
    $4,742
    Nontaxable benefits
    $18,669
    Filer's total
    $170,930

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

  • 3 · Compensation committee
  • 3 · Compensation survey or study
  • 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee
  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment

Answered no

  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

No itemized grants to organizations on this return.

Related organizations on this return

Schedule R Part II: tax-exempt organizations related to the filer by control. It does not record shared board members or money.

  • UNITED CONTRACTORS PAC

    527 · POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE - LEGISLATIVE ADVOCACY FOR CONSTRUCTION INDUSTRY · CA · controlled entity

    Directly controlled by ENGINEERING & UTILITY CONTRACTORS ASSOCIATION DBA UNITED CONTRACTORS

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2023
Filed
22 October 2024
IRS schema version
2023v5.1
Source object
202412979349301776

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.