Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← P K M ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC

Form 990 for tax year 2023

Filed by P K M ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC.

Totals

Total revenue
$15,284,496
Total expenses
$15,094,578
Contributions and grants received
$0
Grants paid
$0
Program service revenue
$14,712,599
Investment income
$336,240
Other revenue
$235,657
Total assets, end of year
$38,351,962
Total liabilities, end of year
$16,665,156
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$21,686,806
Program services expenses (Part IX)
not reported
Management and general expenses
not reported
Fundraising expenses
not reported
Program service expenses (Part III)
not reported

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 2a · Program service revenue: SALE OF ELECTRICITY

    total $14,712,599 · related or exempt $14,712,599

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $336,240 · excluded $336,240

  • 10a · Gross sales of inventory

    $73,205

  • 10b · Cost of goods sold

    $84,329

  • 10c · Net income from sales of inventory

    total -$11,124 · unrelated business -$11,124

  • 11a · Other revenue: CAPITAL CREDITS

    total $246,781 · related or exempt $246,781

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $246,781

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 4 · Benefits paid to or for members

    total $906,104

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $457,335

  • 20 · Interest

    total $656,616

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $1,148,209

  • 24a · Other expenses: COST OF POWER PURCHASED

    total $9,560,584

  • 24b · Other expenses: DISTRIBUTION EXPENSE

    total $1,416,786

  • 24c · Other expenses: ALL OTHER EXPENSES

    total $524,169

  • 24d · Other expenses: ADMINISTRATIVE & GENERA

    total $418,985

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total $5,790

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $68,103 · end of year $71,374

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    beginning of year $1,377,009 · end of year $2,122,662

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    beginning of year $1,615,959 · end of year $1,371,893

  • 7 · Other notes and loans receivable

    beginning of year $243,775 · end of year $209,325

  • 8 · Inventories for sale or use

    beginning of year $893,417 · end of year $1,381,974

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    beginning of year $117,758 · end of year $108,847

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $44,194,205

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $15,557,093

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $27,435,390 · end of year $28,637,112

  • 12 · Investments: other securities

    beginning of year $1,420,320 · end of year $2,001,613

  • 13 · Investments: program-related

    beginning of year $2,228,305 · end of year $2,447,162

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $1,523,855 · end of year $1,324,075

  • 21 · Escrow or custodial account liability

    beginning of year $1,086 · end of year $1,117

  • 23 · Secured mortgages and notes payable

    beginning of year $13,195,555 · end of year $15,133,699

  • 25 · Other liabilities

    beginning of year $231,115 · end of year $206,265

  • 29 · Capital stock, trust principal or current funds

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 30 · Paid-in or capital surplus, or land, building or equipment fund

    beginning of year $20,175 · end of year $20,320

  • 31 · Retained earnings, endowment or other funds

    beginning of year $20,428,250 · end of year $21,666,486

Mission and programs · 2023

Mission

TO PROVIDE ELECTRIC SERVICE TO MEMBERS.

Activities or mission (Part I)

SALE OF ELECTRICITY TO MEMBERS

  • PROVIDE ELECTRIC SERVICE TO 2,867 MEMBERS

As filed on the 2023 return.

Listed in Part VII

  • Mark Hatton

    PRESIDENT

    Total calculated
    $9,975
    From this org
    $9,975
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    8
  • Mike Beaudry

    VICE PRESIDENT (THROUGH APRIL 2023)

    Total calculated
    $2,000
    From this org
    $2,000
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    8
  • Wayne Malm

    SECRETARY TREASURER

    Total calculated
    $6,975
    From this org
    $6,975
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    8
  • Tom Woinarowicz

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $6,225
    From this org
    $6,225
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • Steve Goodwin

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $6,225
    From this org
    $6,225
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • Blake Owens

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $7,475
    From this org
    $7,475
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • Paul Aakre

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $7,225
    From this org
    $7,225
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • Chris Mortenson

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $6,725
    From this org
    $6,725
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • Clifford Peterson

    VICE PRESIDENT (EFF APRIL 2023)

    Total calculated
    $7,225
    From this org
    $7,225
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    8
  • Jerred Copp

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $4,475
    From this org
    $4,475
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • Karen Olson

    CFO

    Total calculated
    $170,970
    From this org
    $119,443
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $51,527
    Hours/week
    50

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $119,443
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Deferred
    $39,408
    Nontaxable benefits
    $13,103
    Filer's total
    $171,954
  • Jeffrey Rustad

    CEO

    Total calculated
    $202,647
    From this org
    $142,872
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $59,775
    Hours/week
    50

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $140,472
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $2,400
    Deferred
    $48,135
    Nontaxable benefits
    $12,643
    Filer's total
    $203,650
  • Joe Marcotte

    OPERATIONS MANAGER

    Total calculated
    $219,372
    From this org
    $116,078
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $103,294
    Hours/week
    50

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $115,494
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $584
    Deferred
    $79,625
    Nontaxable benefits
    $24,659
    Filer's total
    $220,362
  • Scott Slusar

    LINE FOREMAN/SAFETY COORDINATOR

    Total calculated
    $142,937
    From this org
    $104,738
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $38,199
    Hours/week
    40
  • Chris Derosier

    LINE FOREMAN

    Total calculated
    $168,134
    From this org
    $101,300
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $66,834
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $101,300
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Deferred
    $51,753
    Nontaxable benefits
    $15,929
    Filer's total
    $168,982

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

  • 3 · Compensation committee
  • 3 · Compensation survey or study
  • 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement

The filer's explanations (Part III)

FORM 990, SCHEDULE J, PART II, COLUMN C
ON THE SCHEDULE OF OFFICERS, DIRECTORS, TRUSTEES, KEY EMPLOYEES, AND HIGHEST COMPENSATED EMPLOYEES, COLUMN C, RETIREMENT AND OTHER DEFERRED COMPENSATION, INCLUDES THE ESTIMATED CURRENT YEAR INCREASE IN THE ACTUARIAL VALUE OF THE DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN. THESE AMOUNTS DO NOT REPRESENT ANY CURRENT YEAR CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE PLAN. THEY ARE ESTIMATES OF THE INCREASE IN THE ACTUARIAL VALUE OF THE PLANS RECEIVED FROM THE NRECA. THE CURRENT YEAR EXPENSE AND THE INCREASE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE FOR EACH EMPLOYEE ARE REFLECTED IN THE SCHEDULE O STATEMENT FOR FORM 990, PART VII, COLUMN F.

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

No itemized grants to organizations on this return.

Related organizations on this return

Schedule R Part II: tax-exempt organizations related to the filer by control. It does not record shared board members or money.

  • PKM ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE TRUST

    501(C)(3) · COLLECT & DISBURSE FUNDS FOR CHARITABLE PURPOSES · MN · controlled entity

    Directly controlled by PKM ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2023
Filed
27 September 2024
IRS schema version
2023v5.1
Source object
202432789349300938

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.