Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← RIVERSPORT FOUNDATION

Form 990 for tax year 2022

Filed by RIVERSPORT FOUNDATION.

This return was superseded by a later amendment. matched by us It is kept because history is preserved rather than replaced.

What the amendment changed

Compared with the latest return for 2022 , filed 13 November 2023. matched by us Only the return's totals, a 990-PF's accounting method and the names listed in Part VII (Part VIII on a 990-PF) are compared. We relate returns by organization, tax year and form, and order them by each return's own timestamp; the filer's own "amended return" checkbox is a separate fact.

Those are the same on the two returns, so the amendment changed something else.

Totals

Total revenue
$9,784,157
Total expenses
$8,943,626
Contributions and grants received
$3,120,104
Grants paid
$559
Program service revenue
$6,086,470
Investment income
$13,281
Other revenue
$564,302
Total assets, end of year
$17,010,844
Total liabilities, end of year
$4,321,203
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$12,689,641
Program services expenses (Part IX)
$7,144,584
Management and general expenses
$1,173,594
Fundraising expenses
$625,448
Program service expenses (Part III)
$8,943,625

Program services were 79.9% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 1a · Federated campaigns

    $0

  • 1b · Membership dues

    $0

  • 1c · Fundraising events

    $21,714

  • 1d · Related organizations

    $0

  • 1e · Government grants (contributions)

    $0

  • 1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants

    $3,098,390

  • 1g · Noncash contributions included above

    $0

  • 2a · Program service revenue: ADMISSION REVENUE

    total $1,349,603 · related or exempt $1,349,603

  • 2b · Program service revenue: PROGRAM REVENUE

    total $623,088 · related or exempt $623,088

  • 2c · Program service revenue: MANAGEMENT FEES

    total $2,364,333 · related or exempt $2,364,333

  • 2d · Program service revenue: SPECIAL & PRIVATE EVENTS

    total $718,790 · related or exempt $718,790

  • 2f · All other program service revenue

    total $1,030,656 · related or exempt $1,030,656

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $13,281 · excluded $13,281

  • 6a · Gross rents

    personal property $32,072

  • 6c · Rental income or loss

    personal property $32,072

  • 6d · Net rental income or loss

    total $32,072 · related or exempt $32,072

  • 10a · Gross sales of inventory

    $595,270

  • 10b · Cost of goods sold

    $236,349

  • 10c · Net income from sales of inventory

    total $358,921

  • 11a · Other revenue

    total $173,309 · related or exempt $173,309

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $173,309

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments

    total $559 · program services $559

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $200,164 · program services $40,033 · management and general $40,033 · fundraising $120,098

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $3,203,242 · program services $2,282,884 · management and general $552,215 · fundraising $368,143

  • 8 · Pension plan contributions

    total $25,210 · program services $12,605 · management and general $7,563 · fundraising $5,042

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $194,749 · program services $121,334 · management and general $47,452 · fundraising $25,963

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $275,256 · program services $206,442 · management and general $41,288 · fundraising $27,526

  • 11a · Fees: management

    total $79,935 · program services $73,766 · management and general $6,169

  • 11b · Fees: legal

    total $14,754 · program services $13,279 · management and general $1,475

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $53,460 · management and general $53,460

  • 11g · Fees: other

    total $268,682 · program services $268,682

  • 12 · Advertising and promotion

    total $402,488 · program services $348,900 · fundraising $53,588

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $32,684 · program services $29,416 · management and general $3,268

  • 14 · Information technology

    total $203,067 · management and general $203,067

  • 15 · Royalties

    total $1,753 · program services $1,753

  • 17 · Travel

    total $266,166 · program services $266,166

  • 20 · Interest

    total $227,615 · program services $62,445 · management and general $140,082 · fundraising $25,088

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $1,017,086 · program services $1,017,086

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $584,737 · program services $584,737

  • 24a · Other expenses: DIRECT PROGRAM ITEMS

    total $1,128,632 · program services $1,127,573 · management and general $1,059

  • 24b · Other expenses: UTILITIES

    total $763,249 · program services $686,924 · management and general $76,325

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total $138 · management and general $138

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $187,464 · end of year $224,989

  • 3 · Pledges and grants receivable

    beginning of year $26,736 · end of year $1,270,629

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    beginning of year $36,080 · end of year $265,036

  • 7 · Other notes and loans receivable

    beginning of year $7,655

  • 8 · Inventories for sale or use

    beginning of year $70,953 · end of year $59,233

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    beginning of year $7,735 · end of year $130,765

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $27,388,991

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $12,377,154

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $15,315,102 · end of year $15,011,837

  • 13 · Investments: program-related

    beginning of year $60,368 · end of year $48,355

  • 15 · Other assets

    beginning of year $400

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $708,388 · end of year $437,783

  • 19 · Deferred revenue

    beginning of year $213,816 · end of year $369,354

  • 23 · Secured mortgages and notes payable

    beginning of year $2,941,178 · end of year $3,514,066

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $11,802,648 · end of year $12,643,178

  • 28 · Net assets with donor restrictions

    beginning of year $46,463 · end of year $46,463

Mission and programs · 2022

Mission

We inspire excellence, enhance communities, and change lives through Olympic water-sports and outdoor adventures.

  • We inspire excellence, enhance communities, and change lives through Olympic water-sports and outdoor adventures.

    Expenses $8,943,625 · Grants $559 · Revenue $9,784,155

As filed on the 2022 return.

Listed in Part VII

  • Michael Joseph Knopp

    EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $190,380
    From this org
    $190,380
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $196,000
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported
    Filer's total
    $196,000
  • Stephen Robert Ball

    CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER

    Total calculated
    $118,140
    From this org
    $118,140
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $129,000
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported
    Filer's total
    $129,000
  • Elizabeth M Laurent

    CHIEF MARKETING OFFICER

    Total calculated
    $129,904
    From this org
    $129,904
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • Gene Hopper

    CHAIRMAN

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Mark Beffort

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Martha Burger

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Kevin Freeman

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Rhonda Hooper

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Christian Kanady

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • C Michael Ming

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Nikki Nice

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Chad Neimann

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Chuck Walworth

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Donovan Woods

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Itemized on Schedule J with no Part VII listing of the same name on this return:

  • Elizabeth Laurent

    CHIEF MARKETING OFFICER

    Schedule J breakdown

    Base
    $141,000
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported
    Filer's total
    $141,000

Answered yes

None.

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
  • 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
  • 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
  • 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
  • 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
  • 7 · Other non-fixed payments
  • 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

No itemized grants to organizations on this return.

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2022
Filed
13 November 2023
IRS schema version
2022v5.0
Source object
202313179349311426

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.