Form 990 for tax year 2024
Filed by PEDERNALES ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC.
Totals
- Total revenue
- $927,894,452
- Total expenses
- $926,135,673
- Contributions and grants received
- $0
- Grants paid
- $0
- Program service revenue
- $919,835,123
- Investment income
- $3,705,908
- Other revenue
- $4,353,421
- Total assets, end of year
- $2,352,562,031
- Total liabilities, end of year
- $1,431,184,267
- Net assets or fund balances, end of year
- $921,377,764
- Program services expenses (Part IX)
- not reported
- Management and general expenses
- not reported
- Fundraising expenses
- not reported
- Program service expenses (Part III)
- not reported
Line items
Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.
Revenue
Part VIII, the statement of revenue.
-
2a · Program service revenue: SALES OF ELECTRICITY
total $870,443,877 · related or exempt $870,443,877
-
2b · Program service revenue: TRANSMISSION ACCESS
total $30,411,641 · related or exempt $30,411,641
-
2c · Program service revenue: CUSTOMER SERVICE FEES
total $11,065,261 · related or exempt $11,065,261
-
2d · Program service revenue: TRANSMISSION LEASE
total $4,159,090 · related or exempt $4,159,090
-
2e · Program service revenue: PATRONAGE DIVIDENDS
total $2,180,336 · related or exempt $2,180,336
-
2f · All other program service revenue
total $1,574,918 · related or exempt $1,574,918
-
3 · Investment income
total $1,166,371 · related or exempt $5,138 · excluded $1,161,233
-
6b · Less rental expenses
personal property $101,764
-
6c · Rental income or loss
personal property -$101,764
-
6d · Net rental income or loss
total -$101,764 · related or exempt -$101,764
-
7a · Gross sales of assets other than inventory
other assets $4,467,680
-
7b · Less cost or other basis and sales expenses
other assets $1,928,143
-
7c · Gain or loss
other assets $2,539,537
-
7d · Net gain or loss
total $2,539,537 · related or exempt $2,539,537
-
11a · Other revenue: POLE ATTACHMENT INCOME
total $4,455,185 · excluded $4,455,185
-
11e · Other revenue, total
$4,455,185
Functional expenses
Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.
-
4 · Benefits paid to or for members
total $53,263,337
-
5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees
total $5,638,493
-
7 · Other salaries and wages
total $53,388,825
-
8 · Pension plan contributions
total $6,356,772
-
9 · Other employee benefits
total $5,988,314
-
10 · Payroll taxes
total $4,094,753
-
20 · Interest
total $52,352,332
-
22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization
total $89,863,674
-
24a · Other expenses: PURCHASED POWER
total $546,612,559
-
24b · Other expenses: DISTRIBUTION EXPENSE
total $80,636,989
-
24c · Other expenses: CONSUMER EXPENSE
total $13,881,359
-
24d · Other expenses: TRANSMISSION EXPENSE
total $11,691,286
-
24e · All other expenses
total $2,366,980
Balance sheet
Part X, book values.
-
1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing
beginning of year $9,387,692 · end of year $3,880,609
-
2 · Savings and temporary cash investments
end of year $16,501,400
-
4 · Accounts receivable
beginning of year $33,246,836 · end of year $43,380,894
-
8 · Inventories for sale or use
beginning of year $52,380,454 · end of year $56,018,420
-
9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges
beginning of year $3,630,644 · end of year $5,123,737
-
10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis
$2,549,230,041
-
10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation
$397,401,079
-
10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net
beginning of year $2,008,322,261 · end of year $2,151,828,962
-
13 · Investments: program-related
beginning of year $20,291,386 · end of year $21,480,385
-
15 · Other assets
beginning of year $84,733,370 · end of year $54,347,624
-
17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses
beginning of year $113,421,533 · end of year $105,061,351
-
19 · Deferred revenue
end of year $5,675,070
-
21 · Escrow or custodial account liability
beginning of year $96,425 · end of year $91,808
-
23 · Secured mortgages and notes payable
beginning of year $1,125,382,139 · end of year $1,222,789,628
-
25 · Other liabilities
beginning of year $91,988,582 · end of year $97,566,410
-
29 · Capital stock, trust principal or current funds
beginning of year $16,764,167 · end of year $17,609,441
-
30 · Paid-in or capital surplus, or land, building or equipment fund
beginning of year $0 · end of year $0
-
31 · Retained earnings, endowment or other funds
beginning of year $864,339,797 · end of year $903,768,323
Mission and programs · 2024
Mission
WE ARE COMMITTED TO DELIVERING LOW-COST, RELIABLE, AND SAFE ENERGY FOR OUR MEMBERS.
Activities or mission (Part I)
TO DELIVER LOW-COST, RELIABLE AND SAFE ELECTRIC ENERGY TO THE MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE.
-
PROVIDING ELECTRIC ENERGY TO OUR MEMBERS ON A COOPERATIVE BASIS THROUGH THE ALLOCATION OF PATRONAGE CAPITAL. THERE WERE 424,966 ACTIVE SERVICES AT YEAR END.
As filed on the 2024 return.
Listed in Part VII
-
Amy Lea Sj AkersAMY LEA SJ AKERS
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $36,100
- From this org
- $36,100
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 15
-
Travis CoxTRAVIS COX
SECRETARY/TREASURER
- Total calculated
- $37,400
- From this org
- $37,400
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 6
-
Mark EkrutMARK EKRUT
PRESIDENT
- Total calculated
- $37,200
- From this org
- $37,200
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 6
-
Paul GrafPAUL GRAF
VICE PRESIDENT
- Total calculated
- $36,500
- From this org
- $36,500
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 10
-
James OakleyJAMES OAKLEY
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $36,300
- From this org
- $36,300
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 8
-
Emily PatakiEMILY PATAKI
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $36,900
- From this org
- $36,900
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 12
-
Milton RisterMILTON RISTER
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $36,100
- From this org
- $36,100
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 10
-
Julie ParsleyJULIE PARSLEY
CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER
- Total calculated
- $808,211
- From this org
- $760,898
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $47,313
- Hours/week
- 53
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $689,334
- Bonus
- $50,000
- Other
- $21,564
- Deferred
- $34,500
- Nontaxable benefits
- $12,813
- Filer's total
- $808,211
-
Randy KrugerRANDY KRUGER
CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER
- Total calculated
- $629,439
- From this org
- $528,920
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $100,519
- Hours/week
- 50
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $384,590
- Bonus
- $121,296
- Other
- $23,034
- Deferred
- $34,500
- Nontaxable benefits
- $66,019
- Filer's total
- $629,439
-
Edward A DauteriveEDWARD A DAUTERIVE
CHIEF STRATEGY OFFICER
- Total calculated
- $661,497
- From this org
- $518,326
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $143,171
- Hours/week
- 65
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $381,019
- Bonus
- $116,477
- Other
- $20,830
- Deferred
- $69,821
- Nontaxable benefits
- $73,350
- Filer's total
- $661,497
-
John UrbanJOHN URBAN
CHIEF ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICER
- Total calculated
- $517,900
- From this org
- $419,961
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $97,939
- Hours/week
- 50
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $320,080
- Bonus
- $81,038
- Other
- $18,843
- Deferred
- $34,500
- Nontaxable benefits
- $63,439
- Filer's total
- $517,900
-
Christian PowellCHRISTIAN POWELL
CHIEF COMPLIANCE OFFICER
- Total calculated
- $504,330
- From this org
- $408,648
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $95,682
- Hours/week
- 54
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $318,257
- Bonus
- $70,750
- Other
- $19,641
- Deferred
- $34,500
- Nontaxable benefits
- $61,182
- Filer's total
- $504,330
-
Nathaniel FulmerNATHANIEL FULMER
CHIEF OPERATIONS OFFICER
- Total calculated
- $469,530
- From this org
- $393,175
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $76,355
- Hours/week
- 50
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $296,950
- Bonus
- $77,145
- Other
- $19,080
- Deferred
- $28,923
- Nontaxable benefits
- $47,432
- Filer's total
- $469,530
-
Don BallardDON BALLARD
GENERAL COUNSEL (JAN-MAR)
- Total calculated
- $217,973
- From this org
- $164,516
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $53,457
- Hours/week
- 50
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $67,542
- Bonus
- $91,094
- Other
- $5,880
- Deferred
- $19,004
- Nontaxable benefits
- $34,453
- Filer's total
- $217,973
-
Andrea StoverANDREA STOVER
GENERAL COUNSEL (OCT-DEC)
- Total calculated
- $147,931
- From this org
- $138,094
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $9,837
- Hours/week
- 50
-
Jonathan GreeneJONATHAN GREENE
CHIEF OPERATIONS OFFICER (NOV-DEC)
- Total calculated
- $64,340
- From this org
- $57,710
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $6,630
- Hours/week
- 50
-
David ThompsonDAVID THOMPSON
VP - MARKETS (JAN-JUNE)
- Total calculated
- $484,507
- From this org
- $437,298
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $47,209
- Hours/week
- 50
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $154,250
- Bonus
- $64,349
- Other
- $218,699
- Deferred
- $22,638
- Nontaxable benefits
- $24,571
- Filer's total
- $484,507
-
Stephen MaldonadoSTEPHEN MALDONADO
VP - OPERATIONS
- Total calculated
- $534,275
- From this org
- $347,830
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $186,445
- Hours/week
- 65
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $258,834
- Bonus
- $82,118
- Other
- $6,878
- Deferred
- $117,860
- Nontaxable benefits
- $68,585
- Filer's total
- $534,275
-
Jose TrevinoJOSE TREVINO
VP - ENGINEERING (JAN-JUNE)
- Total calculated
- $342,060
- From this org
- $291,800
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $50,260
- Hours/week
- 50
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $118,723
- Bonus
- $64,264
- Other
- $108,813
- Deferred
- $20,330
- Nontaxable benefits
- $29,930
- Filer's total
- $342,060
-
Aisha HagenAISHA HAGEN
SENIOR ASSOCIATE GENERAL COUNSEL
- Total calculated
- $473,428
- From this org
- $382,774
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $90,654
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $261,793
- Bonus
- $100,579
- Other
- $20,402
- Deferred
- $33,569
- Nontaxable benefits
- $57,085
- Filer's total
- $473,428
-
Katherine JonesKATHERINE JONES
CONTROLLER
- Total calculated
- $450,065
- From this org
- $353,471
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $96,594
- Hours/week
- 45
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $263,764
- Bonus
- $70,665
- Other
- $19,042
- Deferred
- $34,500
- Nontaxable benefits
- $62,094
- Filer's total
- $450,065
-
Lori MuellerLORI MUELLER
VP - TECHNOLOGY & DIGITAL STRATEGY
- Total calculated
- $347,787
- From this org
- $311,468
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $36,319
- Hours/week
- 50
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $247,472
- Bonus
- $46,223
- Other
- $17,773
- Deferred
- $10,385
- Nontaxable benefits
- $25,934
- Filer's total
- $347,787
-
James SpauldingJAMES SPAULDING
DIR - POWER QUALITY & DEV. (JAN-NOV)
- Total calculated
- $367,297
- From this org
- $285,887
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $81,410
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $167,392
- Bonus
- $63,727
- Other
- $54,768
- Deferred
- $23,303
- Nontaxable benefits
- $58,107
- Filer's total
- $367,297
-
Kristi MoritzKRISTI MORITZ
DIR - MBR RELATIONS ENGMT (JAN-NOV)
- Total calculated
- $306,125
- From this org
- $256,637
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $49,488
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $154,191
- Bonus
- $54,964
- Other
- $47,482
- Deferred
- $23,259
- Nontaxable benefits
- $26,229
- Filer's total
- $306,125
Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.
Schedule J
Answered yes
- 3 · Form 990 of other organizations
- 3 · Compensation survey or study
- 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee
- 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
Answered no
- 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
- 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
The filer's explanations (Part III)
- PART I, LINE 4A
- DURING THE YEAR, FOUR INDIVIDUALS RECEIVED A SEVERANCE PAYMENT. THESE AMOUNTS FOUND IN THEIR REPORTED COMPENSATION ON SCHEDULE J, PART II, COLUMN B (III): - DAVID THOMPSON $ 208,107 - JOSE TREVINO $ 100,000 - JAMES SPAULDING $ 36,260 - KRISTI MORITZ $ 33,820
Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.
Grants on this return
No itemized grants to organizations on this return.
Related organizations on this return
Schedule R Part II: tax-exempt organizations related to the filer by control. It does not record shared board members or money.
-
THE PEDERNALES ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE SCHOLARSHIP FUND
501(C)(3) · TO PROVIDE SCHOLARSHIPS FOR POST-SECONDARY AND TECHNICAL EDUCATION · TX · controlled entity
Directly controlled by PEDERNALES ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC
-
501(C)(3) · TO SUPPORT CHARITABLE CAUSES OF OTHER 501(C)(3) ORGANIZATONS · TX · controlled entity
Directly controlled by PEDERNALES ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC
Provenance
- Return type
- form_990
- Tax year
- 2024
- Filed
- 12 November 2025
- IRS schema version
- 2024v5.2
- Source object
- 202523169349308912
Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.
The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.