Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← NOURISH PIERCE COUNTY

Form 990 for tax year 2022

Filed by NOURISH PIERCE COUNTY.

Totals

Total revenue
$12,233,228
Total expenses
$12,401,938
Contributions and grants received
$12,177,768
Grants paid
$0
Program service revenue
$0
Investment income
$53,374
Other revenue
$2,086
Total assets, end of year
$7,048,902
Total liabilities, end of year
$681,923
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$6,366,979
Program services expenses (Part IX)
$11,647,728
Management and general expenses
$558,330
Fundraising expenses
$195,880
Program service expenses (Part III)
$11,647,728

Program services were 93.9% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 1c · Fundraising events

    $84,124

  • 1e · Government grants (contributions)

    $505,809

  • 1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants

    $11,587,835

  • 1g · Noncash contributions included above

    $8,957,488

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $53,374 · excluded $53,374

  • 4 · Income from investment of tax-exempt bond proceeds

    total $0

  • 5 · Royalties

    total $0

  • 6d · Net rental income or loss

    total $0

  • 7d · Net gain or loss

    total $0

  • 8a · Fundraising events: contributions included on line 1c

    $84,124

  • 8c · Net income from fundraising events

    total $0

  • 9c · Net income from gaming

    total $0

  • 10c · Net income from sales of inventory

    total $0

  • 11a · Other revenue: Sale of pallets

    total $2,086 · excluded $2,086

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $2,086

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments

    total $0

  • 2 · Grants to domestic individuals

    total $0

  • 3 · Grants to foreign organizations and individuals

    total $0

  • 4 · Benefits paid to or for members

    total $0

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $151,666 · program services $75,833 · management and general $45,500 · fundraising $30,333

  • 6 · Compensation of disqualified persons

    total $0

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $1,036,122 · program services $699,252 · management and general $236,795 · fundraising $100,075

  • 8 · Pension plan contributions

    total $22,174 · program services $14,822 · management and general $5,102 · fundraising $2,250

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $166,972 · program services $123,236 · management and general $28,545 · fundraising $15,191

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $108,380 · program services $74,162 · management and general $23,465 · fundraising $10,753

  • 11a · Fees: management

    total $0

  • 11b · Fees: legal

    total $0

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $22,139 · management and general $22,139

  • 11d · Fees: lobbying

    total $0

  • 11e · Fees: professional fundraising services

    total $0

  • 11f · Fees: investment management

    total $0

  • 11g · Fees: other

    total $37,432 · program services $2,168 · management and general $26,764 · fundraising $8,500

  • 12 · Advertising and promotion

    total $0

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $0

  • 14 · Information technology

    total $0

  • 15 · Royalties

    total $0

  • 16 · Occupancy

    total $303,916 · program services $254,192 · management and general $49,724

  • 17 · Travel

    total $2,399 · program services $1,488 · management and general $860 · fundraising $51

  • 18 · Travel or entertainment for public officials

    total $0

  • 19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings

    total $0

  • 20 · Interest

    total $0

  • 21 · Payments to affiliates

    total $0

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $139,720 · program services $139,720

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $50,795 · program services $47,705 · management and general $3,090

  • 24a · Other expenses: Food distributed

    total $9,969,226 · program services $9,967,284 · management and general $1,942

  • 24b · Other expenses: Supplies

    total $150,647 · program services $100,839 · management and general $33,938 · fundraising $15,870

  • 24c · Other expenses: Vehicle expenses

    total $68,530 · program services $68,477 · management and general $53

  • 24d · Other expenses: Other Assistance

    total $43,550 · program services $43,550

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total $128,270 · program services $35,000 · management and general $80,413 · fundraising $12,857

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $1,884,223 · end of year $2,007,412

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    beginning of year $550,860 · end of year $551,017

  • 3 · Pledges and grants receivable

    beginning of year $100,365 · end of year $137,489

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    end of year $0

  • 5 · Loans and receivables from officers and key people

    end of year $0

  • 6 · Loans and receivables from disqualified persons

    end of year $0

  • 7 · Other notes and loans receivable

    end of year $0

  • 8 · Inventories for sale or use

    beginning of year $1,747,357 · end of year $1,048,689

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    beginning of year $37,315 · end of year $40,940

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $1,390,213

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $900,250

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $539,050 · end of year $489,963

  • 11 · Investments: publicly traded securities

    beginning of year $2,001,202 · end of year $2,003,627

  • 12 · Investments: other securities

    end of year $0

  • 13 · Investments: program-related

    end of year $0

  • 14 · Intangible assets

    end of year $0

  • 15 · Other assets

    beginning of year $42,515 · end of year $769,765

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $16,597 · end of year $33,320

  • 25 · Other liabilities

    end of year $648,603

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $6,716,304 · end of year $6,161,652

  • 28 · Net assets with donor restrictions

    beginning of year $169,986 · end of year $205,327

Mission and programs · 2022

Mission

To provide food to individuals in need with compassion, dignity and respect. No one needing assistance is turned away.

  • Incorporated in 1982, Nourish Pierce County is the oldest and largest network of food banks in Pierce County. Nourish currently operates in Edgewood, Graham/South Hill, Lakewood, Southeast Tacoma, West Tacoma, and Northwest Tacoma. Nourishs Mobile Food Banks visit 16 unique locations each week including Gig Harbor, Key Peninsula, Roy, Spanaway, the Lakewood neighborhood of Tillicum, and all of the area technical and community colleges.In 2021 Nourish served over 40,500 unduplicated people through 315,924 visits and distributed 5.5 million pounds of food for a total of 2,843,316 nourishing meals. We are a volunteer driven organization and in 2021, 520 volunteers donated more than 56,000 hours.

    Expenses $11,647,728

  • Since many of our clients are in need of more than just food, Nourish partners with other organizations to provide additional services to our customers. In 2021, customers had the opportunity to participate in vaccination clinics for the flu and COVID 19, were given free COVID PCR testing kits, and had the opportunity to seek assistance in securing basic healthcare insurance, SNAP benefits, filing taxes and more.

  • Nourish impact the community by helping to provide the most basic needbalanced, nutritious food for all in need. Nourish serves the underemployed, unemployed, children, seniors, active-duty military, veterans, individuals experiencing homelessness, individuals with disabilities, and many hard-working families who are often just a paycheck away from losing everything.

As filed on the 2022 return.

Listed in Part VII

  • Sue Potter

    CEO

    Total calculated
    $151,666
    From this org
    $135,000
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $16,666
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $135,000
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    $4,050
    Nontaxable benefits
    $12,616
    Filer's total
    $151,666
  • Megan Leifson

    President

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Lynda Morley

    Vice President

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Christine A Stevens

    Secretary

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Dennis Fulton

    Treasurer

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Melanie Garnica

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Pam Johnson

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Maria Meyer

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Van Sawin

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Mike Mowat

    Emeritus

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

None.

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
  • 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
  • 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
  • 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
  • 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
  • 7 · Other non-fixed payments
  • 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

No itemized grants to organizations on this return.

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2022
Filed
7 August 2023
IRS schema version
2022v5.0
Source object
202302199349301805

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.