Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← GARLAND LIGHT & POWER COMPANY

Form 990 for tax year 2023

Filed by GARLAND LIGHT & POWER COMPANY.

Totals

Total revenue
$5,132,476
Total expenses
$4,734,023
Contributions and grants received
$0
Grants paid
$0
Program service revenue
$4,988,764
Investment income
$98,029
Other revenue
$45,683
Total assets, end of year
$14,761,219
Total liabilities, end of year
$8,414,554
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$6,346,665
Program services expenses (Part IX)
not reported
Management and general expenses
not reported
Fundraising expenses
not reported
Program service expenses (Part III)
not reported

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 2a · Program service revenue: UTILITIES REVENUES FRO

    total $4,988,764 · related or exempt $4,988,764

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $98,029 · related or exempt $98,029

  • 6a · Gross rents

    personal property $8,369

  • 6b · Less rental expenses

    personal property $0

  • 6c · Rental income or loss

    personal property $8,369

  • 6d · Net rental income or loss

    total $8,369 · excluded $8,369

  • 11a · Other revenue: PATRONAGE CAPITAL

    total $37,487 · related or exempt $37,487

  • 11b · Other revenue: MERCHANDISING

    total -$173 · related or exempt -$173

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $37,314

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 4 · Benefits paid to or for members

    total $256,316

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $265,474

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $62,328

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $2,376

  • 11b · Fees: legal

    total $15,885

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $9,600

  • 11d · Fees: lobbying

    total $358

  • 11g · Fees: other

    total $38,504

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $34,521

  • 14 · Information technology

    total $63,850

  • 19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings

    total $3,262

  • 20 · Interest

    total $331,581

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $350,011

  • 24a · Other expenses: PURCHASED POWER

    total $2,509,452

  • 24b · Other expenses: DISTRIBUTION OPERATIONS

    total $479,744

  • 24c · Other expenses: DISTRIBUTION MAINTENANC

    total $203,984

  • 24d · Other expenses: CUSTOMER SERVICE & INFO

    total $34,930

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total $71,847

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $359,618 · end of year $98,298

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    beginning of year $2,625,000 · end of year $2,641,365

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    beginning of year $392,527 · end of year $372,661

  • 8 · Inventories for sale or use

    beginning of year $703,861 · end of year $678,013

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    beginning of year -$9,056 · end of year $12,342

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $11,780,539

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $3,360,326

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $8,422,909 · end of year $8,420,213

  • 13 · Investments: program-related

    beginning of year $2,435,171 · end of year $2,464,352

  • 15 · Other assets

    beginning of year $62,803 · end of year $73,975

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $4,226 · end of year $49,873

  • 23 · Secured mortgages and notes payable

    beginning of year $8,217,440 · end of year $7,913,395

  • 25 · Other liabilities

    beginning of year $822,955 · end of year $451,286

  • 29 · Capital stock, trust principal or current funds

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 30 · Paid-in or capital surplus, or land, building or equipment fund

    beginning of year $47,931 · end of year $47,931

  • 31 · Retained earnings, endowment or other funds

    beginning of year $5,900,281 · end of year $6,298,734

Mission and programs · 2023

Mission

RURAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE ESTABLISHED TO PROVIDE ELECTRICAL POWER AND SERVICES TO ITS MEMBERS LOCATED IN THE NORTH CENTRAL PORTION OF WYOMING.

Activities or mission (Part I)

RURAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE SUPPLYING ELECTRICITY AND SERVICES TO ITS MEMBERS LOCATED IN RURAL WYOMING.

  • RURAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE SUPPLYING ELECTRICAL POWER AND UTILITIES SERVICES TO APPROXIMATELY 2,268 METERS.

As filed on the 2023 return.

Listed in Part VII

  • Spencer George

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $2,029
    From this org
    $2,029
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1.32
  • Jerry Thompson

    PRESIDENT

    Total calculated
    $1,859
    From this org
    $1,859
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    3.46
  • Peggy A Ruble

    VICE PRESIDENT

    Total calculated
    $2,029
    From this org
    $2,029
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    8.48
  • Ryan Gorsuch

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $2,207
    From this org
    $2,207
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1.5
  • Scott Smith

    SECRETARY-TREASURER

    Total calculated
    $7,061
    From this org
    $7,061
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    8.15
  • Molly K Lynn

    GENERAL MANAGER

    Total calculated
    $176,078
    From this org
    $115,370
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $60,708
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $115,370
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Deferred
    $34,286
    Nontaxable benefits
    $26,422
    Filer's total
    $176,078
  • Christina Harrison

    FISCAL MANAGER

    Total calculated
    $74,211
    From this org
    $46,643
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $27,568
    Hours/week
    40
  • Stephen Reimer

    SUPERINTENDENT

    Total calculated
    $184,843
    From this org
    $129,929
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $54,914
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $129,929
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Deferred
    $30,524
    Nontaxable benefits
    $24,390
    Filer's total
    $184,843
  • Todd Lawson

    LINEMAN

    Total calculated
    $104,205
    From this org
    $104,205
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • Joshua Serr

    LINEMAN

    Total calculated
    $103,919
    From this org
    $103,919
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

  • 2 · Substantiation required before reimbursing expenses
  • 3 · Compensation survey or study
  • 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

No itemized grants to organizations on this return.

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2023
Filed
21 May 2024
IRS schema version
2023v5.0
Source object
202401559349301380

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.