Totals
- Total revenue
- $171,578,829
- Total expenses
- $162,359,016
- Contributions and grants received
- $18,935,885
- Grants paid
- $0
- Program service revenue
- $151,294,217
- Investment income
- $794,769
- Other revenue
- $553,958
- Total assets, end of year
- $330,692,893
- Total liabilities, end of year
- $370,697,762
- Net assets or fund balances, end of year
- -$40,004,869
- Program services expenses (Part IX)
- $139,937,152
- Management and general expenses
- $21,662,033
- Fundraising expenses
- $759,831
- Program service expenses (Part III)
- $139,937,152
Program services were 86.2% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.
Line items
Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.
Revenue
Part VIII, the statement of revenue.
-
1e · Government grants (contributions)
$13,935,939
-
1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants
$4,999,946
-
2a · Program service revenue: STATE EQUALIZATION
total $115,556,631 · related or exempt $115,556,631
-
2b · Program service revenue: CLASSROOM SITE FUNDS
total $11,907,976 · related or exempt $11,907,976
-
2c · Program service revenue: EXTRA-CURRICULAR
total $11,480,450 · related or exempt $11,480,450
-
2d · Program service revenue: EXEMPT PURPOSE RENTAL INCOME
total $5,704,355 · related or exempt $5,704,355
-
2e · Program service revenue: RESULTS BASED FUNDING
total $3,152,264 · related or exempt $3,152,264
-
2f · All other program service revenue
total $3,492,541 · related or exempt $3,492,541
-
3 · Investment income
total $794,769 · excluded $794,769
-
8a · Fundraising events: gross income
$809,298
-
8b · Fundraising events: direct expenses
$255,340
-
8c · Net income from fundraising events
total $553,958
Functional expenses
Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.
-
5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees
total $134,250 · management and general $134,250
-
7 · Other salaries and wages
total $80,781,990 · program services $73,696,062 · management and general $6,581,975 · fundraising $503,953
-
8 · Pension plan contributions
total $3,040,223 · program services $2,778,360 · management and general $247,525 · fundraising $14,338
-
9 · Other employee benefits
total $7,700,819 · program services $7,037,525 · management and general $626,976 · fundraising $36,318
-
10 · Payroll taxes
total $6,278,275 · program services $5,737,509 · management and general $511,157 · fundraising $29,609
-
11a · Fees: management
total $18,363,139 · program services $16,557,058 · management and general $1,806,081
-
11b · Fees: legal
total $22,831 · management and general $22,831
-
11c · Fees: accounting
total $85,000 · program services $53,550 · management and general $31,450
-
11g · Fees: other
total $6,203,030 · program services $5,957,069 · management and general $245,961
-
12 · Advertising and promotion
total $991,289 · program services $297,389 · management and general $693,900
-
13 · Office expenses
total $409,720 · program services $286,112 · management and general $123,608
-
14 · Information technology
total $1,309,602 · program services $777,371 · management and general $531,824 · fundraising $407
-
16 · Occupancy
total $6,270,696 · program services $4,395,744 · management and general $1,874,952
-
17 · Travel
total $31,588 · program services $27,368 · management and general $4,220
-
20 · Interest
total $15,985,363 · program services $11,189,754 · management and general $4,795,609
-
22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization
total $7,924,070 · program services $5,733,635 · management and general $2,190,435
-
23 · Insurance
total $1,214,058 · program services $836,155 · management and general $377,903
-
24a · Other expenses: SUPPLIES
total $3,228,615 · program services $2,817,740 · management and general $410,875
-
24b · Other expenses: OTHER EXPENSES
total $1,953,360 · program services $1,579,522 · management and general $373,838
-
24c · Other expenses: AMORTIZATION
total $255,544 · program services $178,881 · management and general $76,663
-
24d · Other expenses: FUNDRAISING
total $175,206 · fundraising $175,206
-
24e · All other expenses
total $348 · program services $348
Balance sheet
Part X, book values.
-
1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing
beginning of year $38,844,567 · end of year $48,823,815
-
3 · Pledges and grants receivable
beginning of year $7,045,996 · end of year $7,083,397
-
4 · Accounts receivable
beginning of year $1,025,436 · end of year $1,060,052
-
9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges
beginning of year $1,492,394 · end of year $1,112,646
-
10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis
$284,937,568
-
10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation
$60,920,276
-
10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net
beginning of year $226,240,597 · end of year $224,017,292
-
15 · Other assets
beginning of year $40,908,734 · end of year $48,595,691
-
17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses
beginning of year $18,905,283 · end of year $29,725,933
-
19 · Deferred revenue
beginning of year $406,705 · end of year $1,053,082
-
20 · Tax-exempt bond liabilities
beginning of year $330,637,355 · end of year $325,341,049
-
23 · Secured mortgages and notes payable
beginning of year $1,675,250 · end of year $1,675,250
-
25 · Other liabilities
beginning of year $13,218,181 · end of year $12,902,448
-
27 · Net assets without donor restrictions
beginning of year -$55,703,852 · end of year -$47,802,336
-
28 · Net assets with donor restrictions
beginning of year $6,418,802 · end of year $7,797,467
Mission and programs · 2022
Mission
THE MISSION OF BASIS CHARTER SCHOOLS IS TO EMPOWER STUDENTS TO ACHIEVE AT GLOBALLY COMPETITIVE LEVELS WITH A TRANSFORMATIVE K-12 ACADEMIC PROGRAM.
-
DURING THE 2022-2023 SCHOOL YEAR, BASIS CHARTER SCHOOLS INC. OPERATED TWENTY-TWO CHARTER SCHOOLS IN ARIZONA, ELEVEN (11) PRIMARY SCHOOLS, EIGHT (8) UPPER SCHOOLS, AND THREE (3) SERVING KINDERGARTEN THROUGH GRADE 12. MANY OF THE BASIS CHARTER SCHOOLS RECEIVED NATIONAL RECOGNITION BY THE U.S. NEWS & WORLD REPORT INCLUDING BASIS PEORIA RANKING 1 OF ALL TYPES OF SCHOOLS IN AMERICA. BASIS CHARTER SCHOOLS ALSO TOOK 6 OF THE TOP 10 NATIONAL CHARTER SCHOOL RANKINGS (BASIS PEORIA NO.1, BASIS ORO VALLEY NO.4, BASIS SCOTTSDALE NO.7, BASIS TUCSON NORTH NO.8, BASIS AHWATUKEE NO.9, BASIS PHOENIX NO.10). IN ADDITION, UNDER THE NATIONAL STEM HIGH SCHOOLS, BASIS PEORIA WAS RANKED NO. 2, BASIS CHANDLER NO. 3, BASIS TUSCON NORTH NO. 7 AND BASIS SCOTTSDALE NO.9. BASIS REQUIRES ALL STUDENTS TO PARTICIPATE IN AP COURSES AND TESTING BEGINNING IN GRADE 9, AND DESPITE BEING YOUNGER AND IN LOWER GRADE LEVELS, BASIS CHARTER SCHOOL STUDENTS PERFORM EXCEEDINGLY WELL ON AP EXAMS COMPARED TO THIER PEERS ACROSS THE COUNTRY AND AROUND THE GLOBE.
Expenses $139,937,152 · Revenue $151,294,217
As filed on the 2022 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.
Listed in Part VII
-
Craig BarrettCRAIG BARRETT
CHAIRMAN
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 3
-
Don BudingerDON BUDINGER
SECRETARY
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Shelly M EsqueSHELLY M ESQUE
DIRECTOR/TRE
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Terry SarvasTERRY SARVAS
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Mittida RaksanavesMITTIDA RAKSANAVES
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Victoria RicoVICTORIA RICO
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Deanna RoweDEANNA ROWE
EXECUTIVE DI
- Total calculated
- $201,429
- From this org
- $139,781
- From related orgs
- $46,594
- Other
- $15,054
- Hours/week
- 31 + 9 related
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $139,781 + $46,594 related
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- $11,290 + $3,764 related
- Nontaxable benefits
- not reported
- Filer's total
- $151,071 + $50,358 related
Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.
Schedule J
Answered yes
- 3 · Form 990 of other organizations
- 3 · Written employment contract
- 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee
Answered no
- 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
- 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
- 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
- 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
- 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
- 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
- 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
- 7 · Other non-fixed payments
- 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception
The filer's explanations (Part III)
- SCHEDULE J, PART III
- RELATED ORGANIZATIONS ARE ASSIGNED COSTS PROPORTIONATELY FOR THE WORK IN THE REGION.
Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.
Grants on this return
No itemized grants to organizations on this return.
Related organizations on this return
Schedule R Part II: tax-exempt organizations related to the filer by control. It does not record shared board members or money.
-
3 · EDUCATION · LA
-
BASIS TEXAS CHARTER SCHOOLS INC
3 · EDUCATION · TX
-
BDC A PUBLIC CHARTER SCHOOL INC
3 · EDUCATION · DC
Taxable family on this return
Schedule R Parts I, III and IV, as filed. These record ownership and control, not shared board members or money moved.
Related corporations and trusts
Part IV: related organizations taxable as a corporation or trust.
-
BASIS EDUCATIONAL GROUP
MGT CO. · AZ
Provenance
- Return type
- form_990
- Tax year
- 2022
- Filed
- 14 May 2024
- IRS schema version
- 2022v5.0
- Source object
- 202421369349311457
Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.
The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.