Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← URBANPROMISE MINISTRIES INC

Form 990 for tax year 2022

Filed by URBANPROMISE MINISTRIES INC.

This return was superseded by a later amendment. matched by us It is kept because history is preserved rather than replaced.

What the amendment changed

Compared with the latest return for 2022 , filed 6 December 2023. matched by us Only the return's totals, a 990-PF's accounting method and the names listed in Part VII (Part VIII on a 990-PF) are compared. We relate returns by organization, tax year and form, and order them by each return's own timestamp; the filer's own "amended return" checkbox is a separate fact.

Those are the same on the two returns, so the amendment changed something else.

Totals

Total revenue
$6,961,273
Total expenses
$5,506,112
Contributions and grants received
$6,739,291
Grants paid
$40,853
Program service revenue
$132,168
Investment income
$7,468
Other revenue
$82,346
Total assets, end of year
$10,326,658
Total liabilities, end of year
$1,850,539
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$8,476,119
Program services expenses (Part IX)
$4,463,705
Management and general expenses
$415,485
Fundraising expenses
$626,922
Program service expenses (Part III)
$4,463,705

Program services were 81.1% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 1e · Government grants (contributions)

    $46,212

  • 1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants

    $6,693,079

  • 1g · Noncash contributions included above

    $239,087

  • 2a · Program service revenue: TUITION & PROGRAM FEES

    total $132,168 · related or exempt $132,168

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $7,468 · excluded $7,468

  • 6b · Less rental expenses

    real property $30,000

  • 6c · Rental income or loss

    real property -$30,000

  • 6d · Net rental income or loss

    total -$30,000 · excluded -$30,000

  • 8a · Fundraising events: gross income

    $246,230

  • 8b · Fundraising events: direct expenses

    $133,884

  • 8c · Net income from fundraising events

    total $112,346 · excluded $112,346

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 2 · Grants to domestic individuals

    total $40,853 · program services $40,853

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $118,476 · program services $100,112 · management and general $4,147 · fundraising $14,217

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $2,769,415 · program services $2,390,670 · management and general $85,552 · fundraising $293,193

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $270,383 · program services $214,845 · management and general $12,541 · fundraising $42,997

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $249,468 · program services $214,353 · management and general $7,929 · fundraising $27,186

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $22,750 · management and general $22,750

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $174,823 · program services $58,698 · management and general $47,025 · fundraising $69,100

  • 14 · Information technology

    total $19,689 · program services $12,010 · management and general $3,938 · fundraising $3,741

  • 16 · Occupancy

    total $518,876 · program services $451,941 · management and general $53,444 · fundraising $13,491

  • 17 · Travel

    total $79,243 · program services $72,111 · management and general $396 · fundraising $6,736

  • 19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings

    total $23,460 · program services $2,228 · management and general $20,176 · fundraising $1,056

  • 20 · Interest

    total $77,953 · management and general $77,953

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $193,212 · program services $193,212

  • 24a · Other expenses: OTHER EDUCATION & PRGM EX

    total $419,787 · program services $391,687 · management and general $8,292 · fundraising $19,808

  • 24b · Other expenses: IN-KIND EXPENSE

    total $239,087 · program services $220,677 · management and general $4,543 · fundraising $13,867

  • 24c · Other expenses: PROFESSIONAL FEES

    total $190,461 · program services $2,132 · management and general $66,799 · fundraising $121,530

  • 24d · Other expenses: FUNDRAISING

    total $98,176 · program services $98,176

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    beginning of year $2,578,317 · end of year $3,297,401

  • 3 · Pledges and grants receivable

    beginning of year $1,063,657 · end of year $1,900,507

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    beginning of year $52,065 · end of year $62,101

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    beginning of year $22,787 · end of year $50,669

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $6,765,103

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $2,521,888

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $4,326,174 · end of year $4,243,215

  • 15 · Other assets

    beginning of year $726,553 · end of year $772,765

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $205,599 · end of year $370,727

  • 19 · Deferred revenue

    beginning of year $1,325 · end of year $1,105

  • 23 · Secured mortgages and notes payable

    beginning of year $1,522,610 · end of year $1,440,212

  • 25 · Other liabilities

    beginning of year $19,061 · end of year $38,495

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $3,356,267 · end of year $3,299,378

  • 28 · Net assets with donor restrictions

    beginning of year $3,664,691 · end of year $5,176,741

Mission and programs · 2022

Mission

URBAN PROMISE MINISTRIES SEEKS TO EQUIP THE CHILDREN AND TEENS OF CAMDEN, NJ WITH SKILLS NECESSARY FOR ACADEMIC ACHIEVEMENT, LIFE MANAGEMENT, SPIRITUAL GROWTH, AND CHRISTIAN LEADERSHIP.

Activities or mission (Part I)

EQUIPS YOUTH WITH SKILLS FOR ACADEMIC SUCCESS, LIFE MANAGEMENT, SPIRITUAL GROWTH AND CHRISTIAN LEADERSHIP.

  • CAMDENFORWARD SCHOOL (K-8) AND URBANPROMISE ACADEMY (9-12): PRIVATE SCHOOLS THAT PROVIDE 150+ STUDENTS WITH QUALITY EDUCATION AND UNIQUE EXTRACURRICULAR OPPORTUNITIES.

    Expenses $1,687,259 · Grants $40,853

  • AFTER SCHOOL PROGRAMS & SUMMER CAMPS: EXTENDED LEARNING AND RECREATIONAL CAMPS THAT PROVIDE SAFE, FUN, AND POSITIVE SPACES FOR 300+ CHILDREN AGES 5 -14.

    Expenses $1,372,679

  • YOUTH EMPLOYMENT PROGRAMS: TRAINING AND EMPLOYMENT FOR UP TO 100 TEENS AND YOUNG ADULTS INCLUDING ACADEMIC ENRICHMENT AND LEADERSHIP DEVELOPMENT. YOUTH GAIN EXPERIENCE IN THE FIELDS OF EDUCATION, COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT, AND ENVIRONMENTAL ADVOCACY.

    Expenses $271,910

  • EXPERIENTIAL LEARNING: HANDS-ON AND JOURNEY-BASED ACTIVITIES FOR 250+ YOUTH AND LOCAL RESIDENTS INCLUDING ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCE, LEADERSHIP DEVELOPMENT, REAL-WORLD APPLICATIONS OF CLASSROOM LEARNING (E.G. BOAT BUILDING), AND ON-THE-WATER PADDLING EXPERIENCES. WELLNESS INITIATIVES: ENGAGE ALL STUDENTS AND YOUTH PROGRAM PARTICIPANTS IN A VARIETY OF PROGRAMS AND ACTIVITIES THAT PROMOTE OVERALL WELL-BEING. IN ADDITION, URBANPROMISE WORKS WITH FAMILIES TO ADDRESS EMERGENCY NEEDS THROUGH OUR EMERGENCY FAMILY FUND AND BY WORKING CLOSELY WITH URBANPROMISE MINISTRIES COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT ON REFERRING FAMILIES TO THE COMMUNITY FOOD CO-OP. FAMILIES ARE ALSO CONNECTED WITH ADDITIONAL COMMUNITY RESOURCES ON AN AS-NEEDED BASIS.

    Expenses $1,131,857

As filed on the 2022 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.

Listed in Part VII

  • Bruce Main

    PRESIDENT

    Total calculated
    $209,902
    From this org
    $118,476
    From related orgs
    $52,427
    Other
    $38,999
    Hours/week
    24 + 16 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $118,476 + $52,427 related
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    $38,999
    Filer's total
    $157,475 + $52,427 related
  • Robert Bartholomew

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Frank Beideman

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Merle Brown

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Michael Byrne

    CHAIR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Steve Eigenrauch

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Jamie Reynolds Esq

    LEGAL COUNSE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Lisa Folks

    SECRETARY

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Robert Hill

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Frank Manhiem

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • John Payne

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Henry Andrew Cross

    CFO

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    15

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

None.

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
  • 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
  • 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
  • 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
  • 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
  • 7 · Other non-fixed payments
  • 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

No itemized grants to organizations on this return.

Related organizations on this return

Schedule R Part II: tax-exempt organizations related to the filer by control. It does not record shared board members or money.

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2022
Filed
16 November 2023
IRS schema version
2022v5.0
Source object
202303209349303715

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.