Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← ASSOCIATION FOR NEIGHBORHOOD & HOUSING DEVELOPMENT INC

Form 990 for tax year 2024

Filed by ASSOCIATION FOR NEIGHBORHOOD & HOUSING DEVELOPMENT INC.

Totals

Total revenue
$4,791,421
Total expenses
$4,330,149
Contributions and grants received
$4,282,451
Grants paid
$227,500
Program service revenue
$370,768
Investment income
$103,767
Other revenue
$34,435
Total assets, end of year
$6,212,412
Total liabilities, end of year
$116,155
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$6,096,257
Program services expenses (Part IX)
$2,667,553
Management and general expenses
$1,283,668
Fundraising expenses
$378,928
Program service expenses (Part III)
$2,667,553

Program services were 61.6% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 1a · Federated campaigns

    $3,497,762

  • 1b · Membership dues

    $41,454

  • 1e · Government grants (contributions)

    $734,027

  • 1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants

    $9,208

  • 2a · Program service revenue: TRAINING & DEVELOPMENT

    total $370,768 · related or exempt $370,768

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $103,767 · related or exempt $103,767

  • 8c · Net income from fundraising events

    total $0

  • 11a · Other revenue: MISCELLANEOUS

    total $34,435 · related or exempt $34,435

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $34,435

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments

    total $227,500 · program services $227,500

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $180,187 · program services $138,744 · management and general $30,632 · fundraising $10,811

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $1,800,114 · program services $1,386,235 · management and general $301,173 · fundraising $112,706

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $460,188 · program services $305,707 · management and general $131,671 · fundraising $22,810

  • 11b · Fees: legal

    total $34,200 · management and general $34,200

  • 12 · Advertising and promotion

    total $1,418 · program services $509 · management and general $909

  • 16 · Occupancy

    total $175,143 · management and general $175,143

  • 17 · Travel

    total $182,315 · program services $35,496 · management and general $4,883 · fundraising $141,936

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $13,054 · management and general $13,054

  • 24a · Other expenses: PROFESSIONAL FEES

    total $827,955 · program services $258,461 · management and general $490,113 · fundraising $79,381

  • 24b · Other expenses: TELEPHONE AND ONLINE SERVICE

    total $40,691 · program services $13,012 · management and general $27,670 · fundraising $9

  • 24c · Other expenses: PARTICIPANT STIPENDS

    total $300,112 · program services $299,018 · management and general $1,094

  • 24d · Other expenses: DUES AND CONTRIBUTIONS

    total $9,003 · program services $292 · management and general $8,711

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total $78,269 · program services $2,579 · management and general $64,415 · fundraising $11,275

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $2,651,079 · end of year $2,243,526

  • 3 · Pledges and grants receivable

    beginning of year $1,901,562 · end of year $2,499,305

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    beginning of year $176,252 · end of year $226,881

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    beginning of year $43,552 · end of year $30,325

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $166,692

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $118,093

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $6,982 · end of year $48,599

  • 11 · Investments: publicly traded securities

    beginning of year $991,077 · end of year $1,069,133

  • 15 · Other assets

    beginning of year $114,829 · end of year $94,643

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $168,937 · end of year $116,155

  • 25 · Other liabilities

    beginning of year $81,410

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $2,240,390 · end of year $3,265,367

  • 28 · Net assets with donor restrictions

    beginning of year $3,394,596 · end of year $2,830,890

Mission and programs · 2024

Mission

To support community development in low and moderate income neighborhoods of New York City by providing training and program support to community based groups that work to build and preserve affordable housing.

  • Training and Technical Assistance - ANHD provides technical assistance and trainings to our member groups on an ongoing basis and on a range of issues, including affordable housing development, housing asset management, environment issues, housing preservation policy and community organizing.

    Expenses $1,565,005

  • Advocacy and Policy - ANHD provides policy research to support the advocacy goals of our member groups to achieve an imporved affordable housing environment in New York City

    Expenses $1,102,548

As filed on the 2024 return.

Listed in Part VII

  • BARIKA WILLIAMS

    EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $180,187
    From this org
    $180,187
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $180,187
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported
    Filer's total
    $180,187
  • LAUREN D NYE

    DIRECTOR OF OPERATIONS

    Total calculated
    $133,167
    From this org
    $133,167
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • EMILY GOLDSTEIN

    DIRECTOR OF ORGANIZING AND ADVOCACY

    Total calculated
    $127,941
    From this org
    $127,941
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • STEPHANIE BARRETO-LASTRA

    DIRECTOR OF CAPACITY BUILDING

    Total calculated
    $120,614
    From this org
    $120,614
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • NANCY CARIN

    MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • BRANDON KIELBASA

    MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • MICHELLE NEUGEBAUER

    MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • ARON KURLANDER

    MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • SHEILA GARCIA

    MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • ANNETTA SEECHARRAN

    MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • BERNELL GRIER

    CHAIR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • SCOTT SHORT

    TREASURER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • CHRISTIE PEALE

    MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • MICHELLE DE LA UZ

    MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • GREGORY ANDERSON

    MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

  • 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
  • 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
  • 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
  • 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
  • 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
  • 7 · Other non-fixed payments
  • 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2024
Filed
6 November 2025
IRS schema version
2024v5.2
Source object
202621279349302167

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.