Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← UNITED VETERANS BEACON HOUSE INC

Form 990 for tax year 2024

Filed by UNITED VETERANS BEACON HOUSE INC.

Totals

Total revenue
$21,406,859
Total expenses
$18,666,843
Contributions and grants received
$20,071,246
Grants paid
$0
Program service revenue
$1,060,721
Investment income
$96
Other revenue
$274,796
Total assets, end of year
$35,201,286
Total liabilities, end of year
$20,693,176
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$14,508,110
Program services expenses (Part IX)
$17,288,159
Management and general expenses
$926,701
Fundraising expenses
$451,983
Program service expenses (Part III)
$17,288,159

Program services were 92.6% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 1e · Government grants (contributions)

    $17,665,343

  • 1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants

    $2,405,903

  • 1g · Noncash contributions included above

    $479,871

  • 2a · Program service revenue: Rental Income

    total $1,060,721 · related or exempt $1,060,721

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $96 · related or exempt $96

  • 4 · Income from investment of tax-exempt bond proceeds

    total $0

  • 5 · Royalties

    total $0

  • 6d · Net rental income or loss

    total $0

  • 7d · Net gain or loss

    total $0

  • 8a · Fundraising events: gross income

    $379,225

  • 8b · Fundraising events: direct expenses

    $137,326

  • 8c · Net income from fundraising events

    total $241,899

  • 9c · Net income from gaming

    total $0

  • 10c · Net income from sales of inventory

    total $0

  • 11a · Other revenue: Other Income

    total $32,897 · related or exempt $32,897

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $32,897

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments

    total $0

  • 2 · Grants to domestic individuals

    total $0

  • 3 · Grants to foreign organizations and individuals

    total $0

  • 4 · Benefits paid to or for members

    total $0

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $354,552 · program services $354,552

  • 6 · Compensation of disqualified persons

    total $0

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $8,238,215 · program services $7,647,912 · management and general $380,272 · fundraising $210,031

  • 8 · Pension plan contributions

    total $0

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $0

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $1,584,517 · program services $1,439,601 · management and general $105,015 · fundraising $39,901

  • 11a · Fees: management

    total $0

  • 11b · Fees: legal

    total $28,426 · program services $21,269 · management and general $1,167 · fundraising $5,990

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $3,733 · program services $2,793 · management and general $153 · fundraising $787

  • 11d · Fees: lobbying

    total $0

  • 11e · Fees: professional fundraising services

    total $0

  • 11f · Fees: investment management

    total $0

  • 11g · Fees: other

    total $135,000 · program services $101,014 · management and general $5,540 · fundraising $28,446

  • 12 · Advertising and promotion

    total $0

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $377,466 · program services $359,162 · management and general $14,850 · fundraising $3,454

  • 14 · Information technology

    total $0

  • 15 · Royalties

    total $0

  • 16 · Occupancy

    total $859,914 · program services $844,914 · management and general $15,000

  • 17 · Travel

    total $18,967 · program services $6,645 · management and general $9,685 · fundraising $2,637

  • 18 · Travel or entertainment for public officials

    total $0

  • 19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings

    total $1,096 · program services $1,096

  • 20 · Interest

    total $134,077 · program services $110,454 · management and general $23,623

  • 21 · Payments to affiliates

    total $0

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $924,133 · program services $748,906 · management and general $175,227

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $450,567 · program services $431,611 · management and general $14,796 · fundraising $4,160

  • 24a · Other expenses: Operating lease expense

    total $2,217,066 · program services $2,212,405 · management and general $3,199 · fundraising $1,462

  • 24b · Other expenses: Food for Veterans

    total $1,362,708 · program services $1,356,467 · fundraising $6,241

  • 24c · Other expenses: UTILITIES

    total $525,971 · program services $504,405 · management and general $21,566

  • 24d · Other expenses: REPAIRS & MAINTENANCE

    total $470,130 · program services $422,937 · management and general $46,348 · fundraising $845

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total $980,305 · program services $722,016 · management and general $110,260 · fundraising $148,029

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $4,846,387 · end of year $6,770,499

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    beginning of year $30,995 · end of year $33,490

  • 3 · Pledges and grants receivable

    beginning of year $2,288,807 · end of year $2,570,144

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    beginning of year $216,676 · end of year $430,778

  • 5 · Loans and receivables from officers and key people

    end of year $0

  • 6 · Loans and receivables from disqualified persons

    end of year $0

  • 7 · Other notes and loans receivable

    end of year $0

  • 8 · Inventories for sale or use

    end of year $0

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    beginning of year $60,248 · end of year $43,077

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $26,086,889

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $6,752,487

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $18,277,542 · end of year $19,334,402

  • 11 · Investments: publicly traded securities

    end of year $0

  • 12 · Investments: other securities

    end of year $0

  • 13 · Investments: program-related

    end of year $0

  • 14 · Intangible assets

    end of year $0

  • 15 · Other assets

    beginning of year $6,736,499 · end of year $6,018,896

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $757,709 · end of year $737,929

  • 19 · Deferred revenue

    beginning of year $227,350 · end of year $284,750

  • 20 · Tax-exempt bond liabilities

    beginning of year $3,345,160

  • 23 · Secured mortgages and notes payable

    beginning of year $9,515,291 · end of year $13,610,428

  • 25 · Other liabilities

    beginning of year $6,843,550 · end of year $6,060,069

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $4,580,791 · end of year $7,219,241

  • 28 · Net assets with donor restrictions

    beginning of year $7,187,303 · end of year $7,288,869

Mission and programs · 2024

Mission

To provide temporary and permanent residence for U.S. military veterans. Also, to provide emergency, temporary, and permanent residence for men, women, and women with children.

  • DSS Emergency Shelters To provide shelter for homeless families and single males, case management and assistance in finding permanent housing.

    Expenses $11,069,473

  • To provide clients with housing, food, clothing, and counseling.

    Expenses $3,592,941

  • VA Grant and Per Diem Program to provide transitional housing to homeless male & female veterans, case management and assistant in finding permanent housing to provide clients with housing, food, clothing and counseling.

    Expenses $1,364,569

  • VA HCHV contract emergency shelter for homeless veterans - To provide shelter for homeless veterans single females & males, case management and assistance in finding permanent housing

    Expenses $1,261,176

As filed on the 2024 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.

Listed in Part VII

  • Frank Amalfitano

    CEO/President

    Total calculated
    $200,860
    From this org
    $199,288
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $1,572
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $199,288
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    $1,572
    Filer's total
    $200,860
  • Jacqueline DeLeonardis

    COO / VP

    Total calculated
    $153,692
    From this org
    $153,692
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $153,692
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported
    Filer's total
    $153,692
  • Tina Sferrazza

    VP of Operations

    Total calculated
    $111,570
    From this org
    $111,570
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • Francis Amalfitano

    VP of Property

    Total calculated
    $110,926
    From this org
    $110,926
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • Roger Leathers

    Director

    Total calculated
    $105,102
    From this org
    $105,102
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • Adam Wood ESQ

    Board President

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Grace Mehl

    Vice President

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • John R Yancigay

    Treasurer

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Claudia Troiano

    Secretary

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • David M Barshay ESQ

    Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Edward J Blaskey

    Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Frank Bono

    Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Michael Hults PE

    Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Steven Kahane

    Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Frank Malpigli

    Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Kevin O'Connor

    Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • James Smith

    Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Phil Boyle

    Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Ross Turrini

    Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Tina Sferrazza

    Secretary

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

None.

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
  • 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
  • 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
  • 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
  • 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
  • 7 · Other non-fixed payments
  • 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

No itemized grants to organizations on this return.

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2024
Filed
16 July 2026
IRS schema version
2024v5.2
Source object
202611979349301201

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.