Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← ANOKA HENNEPIN EDUCATION MINNESOTA

Form 990 for tax year 2023

Filed by ANOKA HENNEPIN EDUCATION MINNESOTA.

Totals

Total revenue
$2,887,718
Total expenses
$2,909,506
Contributions and grants received
$139,087
Grants paid
$0
Program service revenue
$2,727,768
Investment income
$20,863
Other revenue
$0
Total assets, end of year
$933,896
Total liabilities, end of year
$347,485
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$586,411
Program services expenses (Part IX)
$0
Management and general expenses
$0
Fundraising expenses
$0
Program service expenses (Part III)
not reported

Program services were 0.0% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants

    $139,087

  • 2a · Program service revenue: MEMBERSHIP DUES

    total $2,727,768 · related or exempt $2,727,768

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $20,863 · related or exempt $20,863

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $211,770

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $98,394

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $22,995

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $29,169

  • 12 · Advertising and promotion

    total $1,967

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $13,035

  • 16 · Occupancy

    total $5,261

  • 19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings

    total $43,515

  • 21 · Payments to affiliates

    total $2,298,999

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $883

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $1,251

  • 24a · Other expenses: EDUCATIONAL ISSUES

    total $156,640

  • 24b · Other expenses: MISCELLANEOUS

    total $12,053

  • 24c · Other expenses: MEMBERSHIP CADRE

    total $9,550

  • 24d · Other expenses: SCHOLARSHIP

    total $4,024

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $52,749 · end of year $39,124

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    beginning of year $766,332 · end of year $869,654

  • 3 · Pledges and grants receivable

    beginning of year $25,000 · end of year $22,500

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    beginning of year $600

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $27,440

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $24,822

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $3,502 · end of year $2,618

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $136,668 · end of year $147,645

  • 18 · Grants payable

    beginning of year $3,476

  • 25 · Other liabilities

    beginning of year $99,840 · end of year $199,840

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $489,602 · end of year $452,177

  • 28 · Net assets with donor restrictions

    beginning of year $118,597 · end of year $134,234

Mission and programs · 2023

Mission

THE MISSION OF AHEM IS TO PROMOTE THE SOCIAL & ECONOMIC WELDARE OF ITS MEMBERS, TO IMPROVE TEACHING, TO PROMOTE EDUCATIONAL INTERESTS & ADVANCE STANDARDS OF EDUCATION, TO ENHANCE & UNIFY MEMBERS ENGAGED IN THE PROFESSION & TO CREATE & PERPETUATE CIVIC AND ECONOMIC BETTERMENT.

  • BARGAINING A CONTRACT FOR MEMBERS OF AHEM

  • PROMOTING MEMBERSHIP IN AHEM FOR ALL OF THE EDUCATORS IN ANOKA-HENNEPIN SCHOOL DISTRICT

  • OPERATING AHEM UNIT THROUGH ORGANIZED BOARDS, COMMITTEES AND ASSEMBLES

As filed on the 2023 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.

Listed in Part VII

  • Valerie Holthus

    PRESIDENT

    Total calculated
    $152,923
    From this org
    $25,980
    From related orgs
    $104,624
    Other
    $22,319
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $25,980 + $104,624 related
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    $22,319
    Filer's total
    $48,299 + $104,624 related
  • Kate Tverberg

    TREASURER

    Total calculated
    $9,285
    From this org
    $9,285
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    4
  • Jon Kohnen

    VP, SECRETAR

    Total calculated
    $8,094
    From this org
    $8,094
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    7
  • Aaron Balzer

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $2,776
    From this org
    $2,776
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Laura Bratland

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $3,283
    From this org
    $3,283
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Natasha Brown-Guhin

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $5,179
    From this org
    $5,179
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Emilie Buesing

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Justin Bushard

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Jinna Collins-Jwacu

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $4,835
    From this org
    $4,835
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Mark Cocoran

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $4,845
    From this org
    $4,845
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Don Gawreluk

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Mark Duffy

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $937
    From this org
    $937
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Krystyne Hable-Lafean

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Traci Intihar

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $4,905
    From this org
    $4,905
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Michael D Johnson

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Melinda Pazen

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Christopher Vanjoske

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Andrea Whitcomb

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • John Wolhaupter

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $9,712
    From this org
    $9,712
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Leila Youakim

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Michaela Borski

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Trinette Langner

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

None.

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

No itemized grants to organizations on this return.

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2023
Filed
19 March 2025
IRS schema version
2023v6.0
Source object
202520809349300812

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.