Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← LABORERS HEALTH & SAFETY FUND OF NORTH AMERICA

Form 990 for tax year 2024

Filed by LABORERS HEALTH & SAFETY FUND OF NORTH AMERICA.

Totals

Total revenue
$11,514,199
Total expenses
$11,023,662
Contributions and grants received
$0
Grants paid
$234,594
Program service revenue
$7,383,985
Investment income
$1,019,019
Other revenue
$3,111,195
Total assets, end of year
$13,895,265
Total liabilities, end of year
$496,315
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$13,398,950
Program services expenses (Part IX)
not reported
Management and general expenses
not reported
Fundraising expenses
not reported
Program service expenses (Part III)
not reported

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 2a · Program service revenue: EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTIONS

    total $7,383,985 · related or exempt $7,383,985

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $420,007 · excluded $420,007

  • 7a · Gross sales of assets other than inventory

    securities $4,165,094

  • 7b · Less cost or other basis and sales expenses

    securities $3,566,082

  • 7c · Gain or loss

    securities $599,012

  • 7d · Net gain or loss

    total $599,012 · excluded $599,012

  • 11a · Other revenue: REIMBURSED EXPENSES

    total $2,942,945 · related or exempt $2,942,945

  • 11d · All other revenue

    total $168,250 · excluded $168,250

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $3,111,195

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments

    total $198,472

  • 3 · Grants to foreign organizations and individuals

    total $36,122

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $731,130

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $4,218,806

  • 8 · Pension plan contributions

    total $1,414,062

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $1,257,329

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $307,202

  • 11b · Fees: legal

    total $1,196

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $34,998

  • 11f · Fees: investment management

    total $45,629

  • 11g · Fees: other

    total $205,871

  • 12 · Advertising and promotion

    total $18,104

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $720,410

  • 16 · Occupancy

    total $686,658

  • 17 · Travel

    total $284,615

  • 19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings

    total $54,225

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $96,105

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $74,967

  • 24a · Other expenses: PROGRAM SUPPLIES

    total $495,665

  • 24b · Other expenses: PRINTING AND PUBLICATIO

    total $142,096

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $200 · end of year $200

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    beginning of year $1,198,024 · end of year $1,403,566

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    beginning of year $277,337 · end of year $88,692

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $1,365,362

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $1,160,379

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $267,912 · end of year $204,983

  • 11 · Investments: publicly traded securities

    beginning of year $11,790,056 · end of year $12,197,824

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $546,180 · end of year $496,315

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $12,987,349 · end of year $13,398,950

Mission and programs · 2024

Mission

SEE SCHEDULE O

Activities or mission (Part I)

SEE SCHEDULE O.

  • SEE SCHEDULE O

As filed on the 2024 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.

Listed in Part VII

  • BRENT BOOKER

    CO-CHAIRMAN

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    4
  • DAVID F RAMPONE

    CO-CHAIRMAN

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    4
  • MICHAEL F SABITONI

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • DENNIS L MARTIRE

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • TERRENCE M HEALY

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • JOSEPH S MANCINELLI

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • ROBERT F ABBOTT

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • MICHAEL E HELLSTROM

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • ERNESTO J ORDONEZ

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • JAMES P PIAZZA JR

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • WILLIAM V KOPONEN

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • TONY FANELLI

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • THOMAS W ENSMINGER

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • SAMUEL LYON

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • KENNETH J RUETER

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • EARL R HALL

    TRUSTEE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • LISA SABITONI

    EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $405,077
    From this org
    $326,600
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $78,477
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $303,283
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $23,317
    Deferred
    $60,897
    Nontaxable benefits
    $17,580
    Filer's total
    $405,077
  • MAREN KENCH

    DIRECTOR, ACCOUNTING

    Total calculated
    $326,053
    From this org
    $236,148
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $89,905
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $229,027
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $7,121
    Deferred
    $46,045
    Nontaxable benefits
    $43,860
    Filer's total
    $326,053
  • JOHN MANDARINO

    DIRECTOR, CANADIAN TRI-FUND

    Total calculated
    $337,063
    From this org
    $280,395
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $56,668
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $273,959
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $6,436
    Deferred
    $41,094
    Nontaxable benefits
    $15,574
    Filer's total
    $337,063
  • JAMIE BECKER

    DIRECTOR, HEALTH PROMOTION

    Total calculated
    $323,566
    From this org
    $234,190
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $89,376
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $226,500
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $7,690
    Deferred
    $45,540
    Nontaxable benefits
    $43,836
    Filer's total
    $323,566
  • TRAVIS PARSONS

    DIRECTOR, OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY & HEALTH

    Total calculated
    $323,040
    From this org
    $233,666
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $89,374
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $226,489
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $7,177
    Deferred
    $45,538
    Nontaxable benefits
    $43,836
    Filer's total
    $323,040
  • PATRICK SORCE

    FIELD COORDINATOR

    Total calculated
    $276,309
    From this org
    $228,151
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $48,158
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $221,294
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $6,857
    Deferred
    $33,194
    Nontaxable benefits
    $14,964
    Filer's total
    $276,309
  • ANTHONY PRIMERANO

    FIELD COORDINATOR

    Total calculated
    $270,025
    From this org
    $226,751
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $43,274
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $221,294
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $5,457
    Deferred
    $33,194
    Nontaxable benefits
    $10,080
    Filer's total
    $270,025

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

  • 1a · First-class or charter travel
  • 1b · Written policy on the line-1a expenses
  • 2 · Substantiation required before reimbursing expenses
  • 3 · Compensation survey or study
  • 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement

The filer's explanations (Part III)

PART I, LINE 1A
IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE FUND'S TRAVEL POLICY, LHSFNA TRUSTEES AND EXECUTIVE STAFF ARE AUTHORIZED TO TRAVEL FIRST CLASS.

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2024
Filed
16 April 2025
IRS schema version
2024v5.1
Source object
202511069349301036

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.