Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← HIGH COUNTRY BEHAVIORAL HEALTH

Form 990 for tax year 2024

Filed by HIGH COUNTRY BEHAVIORAL HEALTH.

Totals

Total revenue
$12,194,263
Total expenses
$10,904,492
Contributions and grants received
$6,676,316
Grants paid
$0
Program service revenue
$5,201,594
Investment income
$288,239
Other revenue
$28,114
Total assets, end of year
$15,245,968
Total liabilities, end of year
$1,934,673
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$13,311,295
Program services expenses (Part IX)
$8,218,285
Management and general expenses
$2,686,207
Fundraising expenses
$0
Program service expenses (Part III)
$8,218,285

Program services were 75.4% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 1e · Government grants (contributions)

    $6,593,281

  • 1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants

    $83,035

  • 2a · Program service revenue: Client Revenue

    total $3,327,760 · related or exempt $3,327,760

  • 2b · Program service revenue: Medicaid Payments

    total $1,857,200 · related or exempt $1,857,200

  • 2c · Program service revenue: State of Wyoming

    total $16,634 · related or exempt $16,634

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $288,239 · related or exempt $288,239

  • 4 · Income from investment of tax-exempt bond proceeds

    total $0

  • 5 · Royalties

    total $0

  • 6a · Gross rents

    real property $26,215

  • 6c · Rental income or loss

    real property $26,215

  • 6d · Net rental income or loss

    total $26,215 · related or exempt $26,215

  • 7d · Net gain or loss

    total $0

  • 8c · Net income from fundraising events

    total $0

  • 9c · Net income from gaming

    total $0

  • 10c · Net income from sales of inventory

    total $0

  • 11a · Other revenue: Other Revenues

    total $1,899 · related or exempt $1,899

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $1,899

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments

    total $0

  • 2 · Grants to domestic individuals

    total $0

  • 3 · Grants to foreign organizations and individuals

    total $0

  • 4 · Benefits paid to or for members

    total $0

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $1,494,721 · program services $1,114,074 · management and general $380,647

  • 6 · Compensation of disqualified persons

    total $0

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $4,502,198 · program services $3,355,664 · management and general $1,146,534

  • 8 · Pension plan contributions

    total $0

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $1,058,658 · program services $816,441 · management and general $242,217

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $561,585 · program services $449,413 · management and general $112,172

  • 11a · Fees: management

    total $0

  • 11b · Fees: legal

    total $1,559 · management and general $1,559

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $34,941 · management and general $34,941

  • 11d · Fees: lobbying

    total $0

  • 11e · Fees: professional fundraising services

    total $0

  • 11f · Fees: investment management

    total $0

  • 11g · Fees: other

    total $493,942 · program services $122,707 · management and general $371,235

  • 12 · Advertising and promotion

    total $26,121 · program services $24,051 · management and general $2,070

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $0

  • 14 · Information technology

    total $0

  • 15 · Royalties

    total $0

  • 16 · Occupancy

    total $355,386 · program services $355,074 · management and general $312

  • 17 · Travel

    total $60,010 · program services $50,509 · management and general $9,501

  • 18 · Travel or entertainment for public officials

    total $0

  • 19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings

    total $0

  • 20 · Interest

    total $58,813 · program services $58,813

  • 21 · Payments to affiliates

    total $0

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $465,165 · program services $465,165

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $251,342 · program services $47,339 · management and general $204,003

  • 24a · Other expenses: Bad Debt

    total $560,798 · program services $560,798

  • 24b · Other expenses: Supplies

    total $391,408 · program services $342,251 · management and general $49,157

  • 24c · Other expenses: Grant Expenses

    total $223,489 · program services $223,489

  • 24d · Other expenses: Utilities

    total $186,953 · program services $132,102 · management and general $54,851

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total $177,403 · program services $100,395 · management and general $77,008

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $3,999,763 · end of year $3,801,441

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    end of year $0

  • 3 · Pledges and grants receivable

    end of year $0

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    beginning of year $2,144,395 · end of year $2,078,557

  • 5 · Loans and receivables from officers and key people

    end of year $0

  • 6 · Loans and receivables from disqualified persons

    end of year $0

  • 7 · Other notes and loans receivable

    end of year $0

  • 8 · Inventories for sale or use

    end of year $0

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    beginning of year $74,482 · end of year $84,821

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $9,013,722

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $2,646,494

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $6,689,254 · end of year $6,367,228

  • 11 · Investments: publicly traded securities

    end of year $2,584,936

  • 12 · Investments: other securities

    end of year $0

  • 13 · Investments: program-related

    end of year $0

  • 14 · Intangible assets

    beginning of year $93,167 · end of year $7,167

  • 15 · Other assets

    beginning of year $933,784 · end of year $321,818

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $528,955 · end of year $624,213

  • 23 · Secured mortgages and notes payable

    beginning of year $1,314,883 · end of year $1,258,329

  • 25 · Other liabilities

    beginning of year $69,483 · end of year $52,131

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $12,021,524 · end of year $13,311,295

Mission and programs · 2024

Mission

HCBH provides mental health and substance abuse counseling.

  • Counseling with clients to help with mental health and substance abuse challenges.

    Expenses $8,218,285 · Grants $6,676,316 · Revenue $5,517,947

As filed on the 2024 return.

Listed in Part VII

  • Kipp Dana

    CEO

    Total calculated
    $268,059
    From this org
    $268,059
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $278,954
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported
    Filer's total
    $278,954
  • Jared Bingham

    COO

    Total calculated
    $144,620
    From this org
    $144,620
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • Brandi Warnke

    Director

    Total calculated
    $127,108
    From this org
    $127,108
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • Kelly M Kleeman

    COO

    Total calculated
    $104,285
    From this org
    $104,285
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • Sarah H Hixson

    Director

    Total calculated
    $103,259
    From this org
    $103,259
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • Jason Marsh

    Director

    Total calculated
    $97,134
    From this org
    $97,134
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • Sheila Newman

    COO

    Total calculated
    $95,179
    From this org
    $95,179
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • Robin Whitmore

    Director

    Total calculated
    $90,970
    From this org
    $90,970
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • Aaron Preece

    Director

    Total calculated
    $90,562
    From this org
    $90,562
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • Jessi Nielsen

    Director

    Total calculated
    $85,012
    From this org
    $85,012
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • Jenny Decker

    Director

    Total calculated
    $83,331
    From this org
    $83,331
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • David Williams

    Director

    Total calculated
    $81,363
    From this org
    $81,363
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • Peggy Hayes

    Director

    Total calculated
    $63,532
    From this org
    $63,532
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • Darby Ransom

    Director

    Total calculated
    $11,865
    From this org
    $11,865
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • Tim Hofmann

    Vice President

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Gayla Mead-Ellis

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Layne McCord

    President

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Carleen Lynch

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Ann Sanderson

    Secretary

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • O'Kelley Pearson

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Brady Stokes

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Rex Thornley

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Matthew Schmidt

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

  • 3 · Compensation committee
  • 3 · Written employment contract
  • 3 · Compensation survey or study
  • 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
  • 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
  • 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
  • 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
  • 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
  • 7 · Other non-fixed payments
  • 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

No itemized grants to organizations on this return.

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2024
Filed
14 March 2026
IRS schema version
2024v5.2
Source object
202630739349300903

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.