Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← THE RIVIERA RIDGE SCHOOL

Form 990 for tax year 2022

Filed by THE RIVIERA RIDGE SCHOOL.

Totals

Total revenue
$8,974,204
Total expenses
$9,003,598
Contributions and grants received
$1,220,591
Grants paid
$852,505
Program service revenue
$7,490,415
Investment income
$43,195
Other revenue
$220,003
Total assets, end of year
$11,401,528
Total liabilities, end of year
$4,721,234
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$6,680,294
Program services expenses (Part IX)
$5,759,602
Management and general expenses
$2,712,888
Fundraising expenses
$531,108
Program service expenses (Part III)
$5,759,602

Program services were 64.0% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 1e · Government grants (contributions)

    $900,609

  • 1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants

    $319,982

  • 2a · Program service revenue: AUXILIARY SERVICES

    total $282,667 · related or exempt $282,667

  • 2b · Program service revenue: STUDENT TUITION AND FEES

    total $7,207,748 · related or exempt $7,207,748

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $58,175 · excluded $58,175

  • 4 · Income from investment of tax-exempt bond proceeds

    total $0

  • 5 · Royalties

    total $0

  • 6d · Net rental income or loss

    total $0

  • 7a · Gross sales of assets other than inventory

    securities $530,373

  • 7b · Less cost or other basis and sales expenses

    securities $545,353

  • 7c · Gain or loss

    securities -$14,980

  • 7d · Net gain or loss

    total -$14,980 · related or exempt -$14,980

  • 8a · Fundraising events: gross income

    $338,764

  • 8b · Fundraising events: direct expenses

    $119,259

  • 8c · Net income from fundraising events

    total $219,505 · excluded $219,505

  • 9c · Net income from gaming

    total $0

  • 10c · Net income from sales of inventory

    total $0

  • 11a · Other revenue: OTHER

    total $498 · related or exempt $498

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $498

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments

    total $0

  • 2 · Grants to domestic individuals

    total $852,505 · program services $852,505

  • 3 · Grants to foreign organizations and individuals

    total $0

  • 4 · Benefits paid to or for members

    total $0

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $522,098 · program services $404,064 · management and general $84,310 · fundraising $33,724

  • 6 · Compensation of disqualified persons

    total $0

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $4,218,274 · program services $2,612,151 · management and general $1,448,250 · fundraising $157,873

  • 8 · Pension plan contributions

    total $120,197 · program services $89,401 · management and general $29,982 · fundraising $814

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $464,139 · program services $349,397 · management and general $108,749 · fundraising $5,993

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $328,294 · program services $216,266 · management and general $99,587 · fundraising $12,441

  • 11a · Fees: management

    total $0

  • 11b · Fees: legal

    total $0

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $168,647 · management and general $33,641 · fundraising $135,006

  • 11d · Fees: lobbying

    total $0

  • 11e · Fees: professional fundraising services

    total $0

  • 11f · Fees: investment management

    total $11,671 · management and general $11,671

  • 11g · Fees: other

    total $288,358 · program services $169,578 · management and general $101,271 · fundraising $17,509

  • 12 · Advertising and promotion

    total $73,398 · management and general $73,398

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $509,168 · program services $307,606 · management and general $183,918 · fundraising $17,644

  • 14 · Information technology

    total $0

  • 15 · Royalties

    total $0

  • 16 · Occupancy

    total $237,414 · program services $148,265 · management and general $79,181 · fundraising $9,968

  • 17 · Travel

    total $0

  • 18 · Travel or entertainment for public officials

    total $0

  • 19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings

    total $0

  • 20 · Interest

    total $121,438 · management and general $121,438

  • 21 · Payments to affiliates

    total $0

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $520,575 · program services $321,215 · management and general $173,637 · fundraising $25,723

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $74,975 · program services $37,203 · management and general $34,904 · fundraising $2,868

  • 24a · Other expenses: School Trips

    total $178,812 · program services $178,812

  • 24b · Other expenses: PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT

    total $151,277 · program services $8,435 · management and general $69,037 · fundraising $73,805

  • 24c · Other expenses: TEXTBOOKS

    total $59,455 · program services $59,455

  • 24d · Other expenses: Bad Debt

    total $39,140 · management and general $39,140

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total $63,763 · program services $5,249 · management and general $20,774 · fundraising $37,740

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $580,232 · end of year $878,420

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    beginning of year $235,316 · end of year $167,264

  • 3 · Pledges and grants receivable

    beginning of year $73,323 · end of year $121,639

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    beginning of year $118,260 · end of year $137,301

  • 5 · Loans and receivables from officers and key people

    end of year $0

  • 6 · Loans and receivables from disqualified persons

    end of year $0

  • 7 · Other notes and loans receivable

    end of year $0

  • 8 · Inventories for sale or use

    end of year $0

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    beginning of year $337,394 · end of year $330,979

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $14,597,938

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $6,674,670

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $8,203,935 · end of year $7,923,268

  • 11 · Investments: publicly traded securities

    beginning of year $1,692,678 · end of year $1,842,657

  • 12 · Investments: other securities

    end of year $0

  • 13 · Investments: program-related

    end of year $0

  • 14 · Intangible assets

    end of year $0

  • 15 · Other assets

    end of year $0

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $736,212 · end of year $789,284

  • 19 · Deferred revenue

    beginning of year $1,284,271 · end of year $1,385,080

  • 23 · Secured mortgages and notes payable

    beginning of year $2,643,910 · end of year $2,546,870

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $4,484,225 · end of year $4,633,997

  • 28 · Net assets with donor restrictions

    beginning of year $2,092,520 · end of year $2,046,297

Mission and programs · 2022

Mission

The Riviera Ridge School is an independent school for children from age 4 through Grade 8 that places equal value on the intellectual, social-emotional, and ethical dimensions of learning to prepare bright, confident,and caring young people for the next adventures of their lives.

  • At The Riviera Ridge School...- We foster a progressive educational model and capitalize on emerging technologies to create learning experiences that connect students to each other and the global community.- We are committed to our work in cultivating and maintaining a welcoming school community for all students, faculty, and families.- We partner with families to share their journey, watching each student grow intellectually, socially,emotionally, and physically.- We provide a distinct, personalized learning environment to develop the unique potential of each student, building enthusiastic, kind, confident, and resilient critical thinkers, learners, and leaders.At The Riviera Ridge School- Our Teachers provide an integrated and inclusive approach to social and emotional learning that provides a safe and equitable learning environment for all learners.- Our students develop a solid foundation in a diverse array of subject areas including Language Arts, Math, Science, Social Studies, Spanish, World Religions, Visual & Performing Arts, Media Literacy & Technology, and Physical Education.- Our Graduates leave The Riviera Ridge School with a strong sense of themselves as individuals and a deep understanding and commitment to a thoughtful set of lifelong core values.

    Expenses $5,759,602 · Grants $852,505 · Revenue $7,490,415

As filed on the 2022 return.

Listed in Part VII

  • Broderick Christina

    Head of School

    Total calculated
    $356,814
    From this org
    $334,576
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $22,238
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $315,000
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    $12,600
    Nontaxable benefits
    $9,638
    Filer's total
    $337,238
  • Torchin Andrea

    Associate Head of School.

    Total calculated
    $181,794
    From this org
    $171,935
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $9,859
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $171,935
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    $8,750
    Nontaxable benefits
    $1,109
    Filer's total
    $181,794
  • Seguel Molly

    Dir. of Admissions

    Total calculated
    $131,065
    From this org
    $123,749
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $7,316
    Hours/week
    40
  • Brown Beth

    Business Manager

    Total calculated
    $130,871
    From this org
    $116,423
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $14,448
    Hours/week
    40
  • Bucio Mario

    Dir of Student/DEI

    Total calculated
    $129,660
    From this org
    $119,161
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $10,499
    Hours/week
    40
  • Wilson Melissa

    Dir. Acedemic Inno

    Total calculated
    $124,940
    From this org
    $116,365
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $8,575
    Hours/week
    40
  • Dana Margaret

    LS/MS Faculty

    Total calculated
    $121,836
    From this org
    $104,922
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $16,914
    Hours/week
    40
  • Welton Steve

    President

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    4
  • Emmett Daniel

    Vice President

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    3
  • Thacher Nicholas

    Treasurer

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    3
  • Sharma Megan

    Secretary

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    3
  • Sanchez Jose

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Wood TIna

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Weathers Lori

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Borgatello Theresa

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Lynch Erinn

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Groeninger Michael

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Skidmore Beth

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Spengler Lisa

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Storm Erica

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Weaver Alexis

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Deakyne Jenny

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

  • 1a · Housing allowance or residence for personal use
  • 1b · Written policy on the line-1a expenses
  • 3 · Compensation committee
  • 3 · Written employment contract
  • 3 · Compensation survey or study
  • 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
  • 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
  • 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
  • 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
  • 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
  • 7 · Other non-fixed payments
  • 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception

The filer's explanations (Part III)

Part I, Line 1a: Relevant information in regards to selections on 1a.
Housing for the Head of School is a required condition of employment and is included as part of employment. Housing is adjacent to the School's campus.

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

No itemized grants to organizations on this return.

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2022
Filed
19 April 2024
IRS schema version
2022v5.0
Source object
202411109349301456

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.