Form 990 for tax year 2023
Filed by DIRECTEMPLOYERS ASSOCIATION INC.
Totals
- Total revenue
- $17,492,753
- Total expenses
- $15,882,252
- Contributions and grants received
- $0
- Grants paid
- $0
- Program service revenue
- $17,021,152
- Investment income
- $256,269
- Other revenue
- $215,332
- Total assets, end of year
- $16,701,228
- Total liabilities, end of year
- $13,498,879
- Net assets or fund balances, end of year
- $3,202,349
- Program services expenses (Part IX)
- not reported
- Management and general expenses
- not reported
- Fundraising expenses
- not reported
- Program service expenses (Part III)
- not reported
Line items
Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.
Revenue
Part VIII, the statement of revenue.
-
2a · Program service revenue: Membership Dues & fees
total $16,189,721 · related or exempt $16,189,721
-
2b · Program service revenue: Management Fees
total $470,463 · unrelated business $470,463
-
2c · Program service revenue: One Time Setup Fees
total $245,000 · related or exempt $245,000
-
2d · Program service revenue: Registrations
total $47,968 · related or exempt $47,968
-
2e · Program service revenue: Sponsorships
total $37,000 · related or exempt $37,000
-
2f · All other program service revenue
total $31,000 · related or exempt $31,000
-
3 · Investment income
total $284,454 · excluded $284,454
-
6a · Gross rents
real property $2,092
-
6b · Less rental expenses
real property $0
-
6c · Rental income or loss
real property $2,092
-
6d · Net rental income or loss
total $2,092 · excluded $2,092
-
7b · Less cost or other basis and sales expenses
other assets $28,185
-
7c · Gain or loss
other assets -$28,185
-
7d · Net gain or loss
total -$28,185 · excluded -$28,185
-
11a · Other revenue: Reimbursement
total $193,385 · excluded $193,385
-
11b · Other revenue: Other Income
total $16,501 · excluded $16,501
-
11c · Other revenue: Refunds
total $3,354 · excluded $3,354
-
11e · Other revenue, total
$213,240
Functional expenses
Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.
-
5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees
total $1,002,988
-
7 · Other salaries and wages
total $7,318,739
-
8 · Pension plan contributions
total $220,693
-
9 · Other employee benefits
total $711,915
-
10 · Payroll taxes
total $524,667
-
11b · Fees: legal
total $705,369
-
11c · Fees: accounting
total $96,709
-
11f · Fees: investment management
total $32,336
-
11g · Fees: other
total $425,673
-
12 · Advertising and promotion
total $272,617
-
13 · Office expenses
total $80,908
-
16 · Occupancy
total $388,544
-
17 · Travel
total $79,223
-
19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings
total $616,652
-
22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization
total $182,483
-
23 · Insurance
total $41,011
-
24a · Other expenses: NASWA Alliance Payments
total $1,557,642
-
24b · Other expenses: Technical Service
total $1,284,798
-
24c · Other expenses: Miscellaneous
total $208,102
-
24d · Other expenses: Consulting
total $69,444
-
24e · All other expenses
total $61,739
Balance sheet
Part X, book values.
-
1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing
beginning of year $3,860,677 · end of year $5,612,404
-
4 · Accounts receivable
beginning of year $3,914,241 · end of year $4,143,209
-
7 · Other notes and loans receivable
beginning of year $387,803 · end of year $1,109,219
-
9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges
beginning of year $340,587 · end of year $369,908
-
10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis
$1,132,993
-
10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation
$957,122
-
10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net
beginning of year $353,485 · end of year $175,871
-
11 · Investments: publicly traded securities
beginning of year $3,256,610 · end of year $3,071,935
-
15 · Other assets
beginning of year $2,533,671 · end of year $2,218,682
-
17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses
beginning of year $3,580,724 · end of year $1,157,961
-
19 · Deferred revenue
beginning of year $8,442,793 · end of year $9,041,544
-
25 · Other liabilities
beginning of year $1,211,702 · end of year $3,299,374
-
27 · Net assets without donor restrictions
beginning of year $1,411,855 · end of year $3,202,349
Mission and programs · 2023
Mission
See Schedule O
-
DirectEmployers Association, Inc., a membership association, offers innovative solutions for human resources departments, which include learning and development, recruitment marketing and creative design, and custom software and application development. At the core of our services, DirectEmployers offers job listing services that satisfy VEVRAA mandatory job listing requirements and provide the necessary reporting and tracking capabilities for proof of delivery in OFCCP compliance evaluations. In addition to the VEVRAA compliance services offered, DirectEmployers Membership expands on services further to provide outreach management, peer-to-peer networking and education, professional development, and ongoing support and training all built into the cost of Membership. DirectEmployers Association, Inc. has done the legwork to expand employer access to national, state, and community-based organizations through a careful mix of proprietary partnerships and alliances. DirectEmployers Association, Inc. Members can build more robust talent pipelines that nurture a diverse workforce with this highly targeted reach.DirectEmployers Association, Inc. also offers VocRehab+, an add-on solution utilized outside of the scope of Membership. Also, under DirectEmployers' family of brands sits Recruit Rooster, a wholly-owned subsidiary of DirectEmployers Association, Inc. Recruit Rooster offers fully customized recruitment marketing solutions, including career site hosting, design, development, creative services (recruitment videos and imagery), accessibility audits and consultations, and a suite of talent engagement tools. Under Recruit Rooster, going one step down is RocketBuild, a custom software and application development solution.As part of the Association's history and technological growth, DirectEmployers created and continues to power the National Labor Exchange (NLx), an alternative to commercial job boards, designed to increase labor market efficiency and decrease recruiting costs while generating job opportunities for displaced workers. In March 2007, DirectEmployers teamed with the National Association of State Workforce Agencies (NASWA) to provide job seekers, employers, and states a cost-effective transition from America's Job Bank (AJB) as the AJE was discontinued in June 2007 by the U.S. Department of Labor. The National Labor Exchange provides a wide range of employment services to participating state workforce agencies, from job listing distribution to and from state employment websites to participation in the National Labor Exchange with other states. DirectEmployers Member jobs are electronically acquired directly from their corporate career sites and made available to veterans through VetCentral, providing participating Members with a solution that complies with regulations enforced by the Office of Federal Contract Compliance Programs. VetCentral is fully integrated into DirectEmployers National Labor Exchange, acting as a DirectEmployers Association Inc 30-0008235 distribution point for federal contractors. Thereby, Member jobs are listed with the appropriate employment service delivery system (ESDS), and records are maintained for each transaction, so its employer members comply with VEVRAA mandatory job listing requirements. Due to the technology and resources available, the National Labor Exchange is a tool used for compliance and recruitment activities.
As filed on the 2023 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.
Listed in Part VII
-
Brian Pier
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Chris Liakos
President
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 3
-
Dana Deason
President Elect
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Mike Bazinet
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Paul White
Past President
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Sheri Smith
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
John Whalin
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Bev Curtis
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Diego Gonzales
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Srabanti Mishra - began 41123
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Julie Ohara-Harvey - began 41123
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Candee Chambers
Executive Director
- Total calculated
- $768,907
- From this org
- $739,964
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $28,943
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $342,792
- Bonus
- $397,172
- Other
- $0
- Deferred
- $23,663
- Nontaxable benefits
- $5,280
- Filer's total
- $768,907
-
Dan Jordan
Sec/Treas/Counsel
- Total calculated
- $234,081
- From this org
- $211,145
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $22,936
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $170,063
- Bonus
- $41,082
- Other
- $0
- Deferred
- $9,686
- Nontaxable benefits
- $13,250
- Filer's total
- $234,081
-
Tom Eckhart
VP Membership Development
- Total calculated
- $386,467
- From this org
- $359,581
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $26,886
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $163,782
- Bonus
- $195,799
- Other
- $0
- Deferred
- $15,921
- Nontaxable benefits
- $10,965
- Filer's total
- $386,467
-
Harold Cooper
VP Product Development
- Total calculated
- $331,813
- From this org
- $299,084
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $32,729
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $258,427
- Bonus
- $40,657
- Other
- $0
- Deferred
- $14,660
- Nontaxable benefits
- $18,069
- Filer's total
- $331,813
-
AJ Selvey
Assistant VP Membership Development
- Total calculated
- $379,979
- From this org
- $345,827
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $34,152
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $104,412
- Bonus
- $241,415
- Other
- $0
- Deferred
- $11,390
- Nontaxable benefits
- $22,762
- Filer's total
- $379,979
-
Shannon Offord
VP Strategic P'ships and Alliances
- Total calculated
- $241,914
- From this org
- $218,821
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $23,093
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $189,774
- Bonus
- $29,047
- Other
- $0
- Deferred
- $10,622
- Nontaxable benefits
- $12,471
- Filer's total
- $241,914
-
Jaime Costilow
VP of Marketing
- Total calculated
- $236,857
- From this org
- $214,211
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $22,646
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $171,095
- Bonus
- $43,116
- Other
- $0
- Deferred
- $10,414
- Nontaxable benefits
- $12,232
- Filer's total
- $236,857
Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.
Schedule J
Answered yes
- 3 · Compensation committee
- 3 · Independent compensation consultant
- 3 · Written employment contract
- 3 · Compensation survey or study
- 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee
Answered no
- 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
- 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
- 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.
Grants on this return
No itemized grants to organizations on this return.
Taxable family on this return
Schedule R Parts I, III and IV, as filed. These record ownership and control, not shared board members or money moved.
Related corporations and trusts
Part IV: related organizations taxable as a corporation or trust.
-
DirectEmployers Recruitment Marketing Solutions Inc
C · Employment Services · IN · 100% owned · share of income $4,506,998 · share of assets $2,171,952
Directly controlled by DirectEmployers Association Inc
Provenance
- Return type
- form_990
- Tax year
- 2023
- Filed
- 15 October 2024
- IRS schema version
- 2023v5.1
- Source object
- 202402969349300010
Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.
The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.