Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← SOUTH MONTGOMERY COUNTY WOODLANDS CHAMBER OF COMMERCE

Form 990 for tax year 2023

Filed by SOUTH MONTGOMERY COUNTY WOODLANDS CHAMBER OF COMMERCE.

Totals

Total revenue
$2,222,436
Total expenses
$2,129,867
Contributions and grants received
$0
Grants paid
$0
Program service revenue
$2,053,697
Investment income
$11,322
Other revenue
$157,417
Total assets, end of year
$749,010
Total liabilities, end of year
$820,934
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
-$71,924
Program services expenses (Part IX)
$2,129,867
Management and general expenses
$0
Fundraising expenses
$0
Program service expenses (Part III)
not reported

Program services were 100.0% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 2a · Program service revenue: Business & Leadership

    total $157,738 · related or exempt $157,738

  • 2b · Program service revenue: Chairman's Ball

    total $195,523 · related or exempt $195,523

  • 2c · Program service revenue: Economic Outlook Conf.

    total $256,302 · related or exempt $256,302

  • 2d · Program service revenue: Membership Dues

    total $1,074,973 · related or exempt $1,074,973

  • 2e · Program service revenue: Taste of the Town

    total $140,031 · related or exempt $140,031

  • 2f · All other program service revenue

    total $229,130 · related or exempt $229,130

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $11,322 · related or exempt $11,322

  • 4 · Income from investment of tax-exempt bond proceeds

    total $0

  • 5 · Royalties

    total $0

  • 6d · Net rental income or loss

    total $0

  • 7d · Net gain or loss

    total $0

  • 8c · Net income from fundraising events

    total $0

  • 9c · Net income from gaming

    total $0

  • 10c · Net income from sales of inventory

    total $0

  • 11a · Other revenue: All Other Related Revenue

    total $157,417 · related or exempt $157,417

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $157,417

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments

    total $0

  • 2 · Grants to domestic individuals

    total $0

  • 3 · Grants to foreign organizations and individuals

    total $0

  • 4 · Benefits paid to or for members

    total $0

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $113,280 · program services $113,280

  • 6 · Compensation of disqualified persons

    total $0

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $440,510 · program services $440,510

  • 8 · Pension plan contributions

    total $19,178 · program services $19,178

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $66,889 · program services $66,889

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $47,194 · program services $47,194

  • 11a · Fees: management

    total $0

  • 11b · Fees: legal

    total $0

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $10,800 · program services $10,800

  • 11d · Fees: lobbying

    total $0

  • 11e · Fees: professional fundraising services

    total $0

  • 11f · Fees: investment management

    total $0

  • 11g · Fees: other

    total $0

  • 12 · Advertising and promotion

    total $27,479 · program services $27,479

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $25,239 · program services $25,239

  • 14 · Information technology

    total $51,621 · program services $51,621

  • 15 · Royalties

    total $0

  • 16 · Occupancy

    total $295,827 · program services $295,827

  • 17 · Travel

    total $0

  • 18 · Travel or entertainment for public officials

    total $0

  • 19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings

    total $677,874 · program services $677,874

  • 20 · Interest

    total $8,121 · program services $8,121

  • 21 · Payments to affiliates

    total $0

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $26,385 · program services $26,385

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $12,730 · program services $12,730

  • 24a · Other expenses: Printing & Materials

    total $103,229 · program services $103,229

  • 24b · Other expenses: Commissions & Fees

    total $97,169 · program services $97,169

  • 24c · Other expenses: Bank Fees

    total $36,452 · program services $36,452

  • 24d · Other expenses: Community Involvement

    total $25,500 · program services $25,500

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total $44,390 · program services $44,390

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $478,182 · end of year $495,141

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    end of year $0

  • 3 · Pledges and grants receivable

    end of year $0

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    beginning of year $7,415 · end of year $0

  • 5 · Loans and receivables from officers and key people

    end of year $0

  • 6 · Loans and receivables from disqualified persons

    end of year $0

  • 7 · Other notes and loans receivable

    end of year $0

  • 8 · Inventories for sale or use

    end of year $0

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    beginning of year $33,849 · end of year $17,856

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $656,320

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $420,307

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $241,223 · end of year $236,013

  • 11 · Investments: publicly traded securities

    end of year $0

  • 12 · Investments: other securities

    end of year $0

  • 13 · Investments: program-related

    end of year $0

  • 14 · Intangible assets

    end of year $0

  • 15 · Other assets

    end of year $0

  • 19 · Deferred revenue

    beginning of year $689,461 · end of year $641,828

  • 24 · Unsecured notes and loans payable

    beginning of year $235,701 · end of year $179,106

  • 31 · Retained earnings, endowment or other funds

    beginning of year -$164,493 · end of year -$71,924

Mission and programs · 2023

Mission

THE WOODLANDS AREA CHAMBER OF COMMERCE PROVIDES PATHWAYS TO OPPORTUNITIES THROUGH: ADVOCATING FOR THE BUSINESS COMMUNITY, CREATING MARKETING / NETWORKING OPPORTUNITIES, SERVING AS A PROFESSIONAL AND COMMUNITY RESOURCE, AND SUPPORTING CHARITIES.

  • Chairman's Ball- an event that honors the outgoing chairman of the board and welcomes the incoming chairman. This presents an opportunity for guests to interact with the board, as well as for businesses to showcase their companies and market to each other. Est. 650 attendees

  • The Economic Outlook Conference is an opportunity for high-profile business leaders to gain insight and knowledge on the trajectory of the economy and ways to prepare for the coming growth. Global, national and local speakers address attendees on the economy, trends and growth. Est. 800 attendees.

  • Taste of the Town is an event for over 40 local restaurants to provide samples to members of the community. Restaurants showcase their fare, while other local businesses utilize both sponsorship and ambassador opportunities. Est. 3,000 attendees.

As filed on the 2023 return.

Listed in Part VII

  • J J Hollie

    Past President

    Total calculated
    $168,193
    From this org
    $168,193
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $113,280
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported
    Filer's total
    $113,280
  • Jim Carman

    Past Chairman

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Stuart Barrett

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0
  • Ann Wolford

    Vice Chairman

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Angela Storseth-Cooper

    Vice President

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Barry Blanton

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Jennifer Bruse

    Vice President

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0
  • Gil Staley

    TWAEDP CEO

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Jocelyn Durfield

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Brian Albert

    Chairman

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Justin Kendrick

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Theodore Ted Harris

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Carolyn Gray

    Vice President

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Dr Curtis Null

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Courtney Schweitzer

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Kristen Shults

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Ketrese White

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Christin Allphin

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Debbie Kaschik

    Vice President

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0
  • Paul Ikard

    Treasurer

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0
  • Rachel Richmond

    Vice President

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Kristine Marlow

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Linda Nelson

    Vice President

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0
  • Jordan Buras

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0
  • Summer Carter

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0
  • Todd Stephens

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0
  • Kendra Windisch

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0
  • Aaron Cox

    President & CEO

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    40

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

None.

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

No itemized grants to organizations on this return.

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2023
Filed
14 May 2025
IRS schema version
2023v6.0
Source object
202521349349307337

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.