Totals
- Total revenue
- $62,571,573
- Total expenses
- $57,009,626
- Contributions and grants received
- $0
- Grants paid
- $64,510
- Program service revenue
- $62,571,573
- Investment income
- $0
- Other revenue
- $0
- Total assets, end of year
- $1,221,344,942
- Total liabilities, end of year
- $1,135,785,434
- Net assets or fund balances, end of year
- $85,559,508
- Program services expenses (Part IX)
- not reported
- Management and general expenses
- not reported
- Fundraising expenses
- not reported
- Program service expenses (Part III)
- $57,009,626
Line items
Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.
Revenue
Part VIII, the statement of revenue.
-
2a · Program service revenue: LOAN INTEREST INCOME
total $37,704,605 · related or exempt $37,704,605
-
2b · Program service revenue: FINANCIAL SERVICE FEE AND OPERATI
total $20,745,252 · related or exempt $19,411,225 · unrelated business $1,334,027
-
2c · Program service revenue: INVESTMENT INCOME
total $4,121,716 · related or exempt $4,121,716
Functional expenses
Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.
-
1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments
total $64,510
-
5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees
total $2,497,401
-
7 · Other salaries and wages
total $14,819,505
-
8 · Pension plan contributions
total $1,048,999
-
9 · Other employee benefits
total $1,816,625
-
10 · Payroll taxes
total $1,219,895
-
11b · Fees: legal
total $138,138
-
11c · Fees: accounting
total $91,760
-
11g · Fees: other
total $639,669
-
12 · Advertising and promotion
total $1,101,614
-
13 · Office expenses
total $5,779,928
-
16 · Occupancy
total $1,352,269
-
19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings
total $312,276
-
22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization
total $3,562,789
-
23 · Insurance
total $443,739
-
24a · Other expenses: MEMBER DIVIDEND AND INT
total $13,951,545
-
24b · Other expenses: COST OF FINANCIAL SERVI
total $5,553,104
-
24c · Other expenses: PROVISION FOR LOAN LOSS
total $1,252,099
-
24d · Other expenses: OTHER OPERATING EXPENSE
total $578,256
-
24e · All other expenses
total $785,505
Balance sheet
Part X, book values.
-
1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing
beginning of year $20,039,983 · end of year $27,341,322
-
2 · Savings and temporary cash investments
beginning of year $235,926 · end of year $17,359,798
-
7 · Other notes and loans receivable
beginning of year $758,413,352 · end of year $883,141,067
-
9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges
beginning of year $2,573,476 · end of year $3,250,340
-
10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis
$49,152,644
-
10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation
$18,432,999
-
10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net
beginning of year $21,460,407 · end of year $30,719,645
-
13 · Investments: program-related
beginning of year $131,709,416 · end of year $206,283,966
-
14 · Intangible assets
beginning of year $4,108,321 · end of year $14,669,220
-
15 · Other assets
beginning of year $30,806,042 · end of year $38,579,584
-
17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses
beginning of year $16,154,274 · end of year $10,387,562
-
19 · Deferred revenue
beginning of year $28,327 · end of year $27,538
-
21 · Escrow or custodial account liability
beginning of year $2,113,656 · end of year $1,433,917
-
23 · Secured mortgages and notes payable
beginning of year $28,921,840 · end of year $50,980,810
-
24 · Unsecured notes and loans payable
beginning of year $5,000,000 · end of year $9,721,548
-
25 · Other liabilities
beginning of year $839,531,465 · end of year $1,063,234,059
-
29 · Capital stock, trust principal or current funds
beginning of year $0 · end of year $0
-
30 · Paid-in or capital surplus, or land, building or equipment fund
beginning of year $0 · end of year $0
-
31 · Retained earnings, endowment or other funds
beginning of year $77,597,361 · end of year $85,559,508
Mission and programs · 2023
Mission
COOPERATIVE SOCIETY INCORPORATED FOR THE TWOFOLD PURPOSE OF PROMOTING THRIFT AMONG ITS MEMBERS AND CREATING A SOURCE OF CREDIT FOR THEM AT LEGITIMATE RATES OF INTEREST.
Activities or mission (Part I)
COOPERATIVE CREDIT UNION
-
ALABAMA BANKING CODE, SECTION 5-17-1, STATES THAT A CREDIT UNION IS A COOPERATIVE SOCIETY INCORPORATED FOR THE TWOFOLD PURPOSE OF PROMOTING THRIFT AMONG ITS MEMBERS AND CREATING A SOURCE OF CREDIT FOR THEM AT LEGITIMATE RATES OF INTEREST. ALABAMA ONE CREDIT UNION, AN ALABAMA STATE CHARTERED CREDIT UNION, PROVIDES A VARIETY OF FINANCIAL SERVICES TO ITS MEMBERS. THE CREDIT UNION'S MEMBERSHIP IS PRIMARILY COMPRISED OF PERSONS WHO LIVE AND WORK IN TUSCALOOSA COUNTY, ALABAMA AND TWENTY-ONE OTHER COUNTIES THROUGHOUT WEST, CENTRAL, AND SOUTH ALABAMA; EMPLOYEES, RESIDENTS, AND/OR PATIENTS OF VARIOUS MEDICAL PROVIDERS WITHIN THE STATE OF ALABAMA; EMPLOYEES OF THE CREDIT UNION AND OTHER SPECIFIED EMPLOYERS; RETIREES OF ALL AFOREMENTIONED GROUPS; AND SPOUSES, WIDOWS, AND IMMEDIATE FAMILY MEMBERS OF ALL AFOREMENTIONED GROUPS. AS OF DECEMBER 31, 2023, THE CREDIT UNION PROVIDED SERVICES TO APPROXIMATELY 83,100 MEMBERS.
Expenses $57,009,626
As filed on the 2023 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.
Listed in Part VII
-
Ron AbernathyRON ABERNATHY
BOARD TREASURER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Tamika AlexanderTAMIKA ALEXANDER
BOARD SECRETARY
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Franklin BohannonFRANKLIN BOHANNON
SUPERVISORY COMMITTEE MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Marion DodsonMARION DODSON
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Tom FanningTOM FANNING
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Barry MixonBARRY MIXON
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Lucy SellersLUCY SELLERS
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Julie SmithJULIE SMITH
SUPERVISORY COMMITTEE MEMB
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Jonathan WalkerJONATHAN WALKER
SUPERVISORY COMMITTEE MEMB
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Loo WhitfieldLOO WHITFIELD
BOARD CHAIRPERSON
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Fred BraswellFRED BRASWELL
BOARD VICE CHAIRPERSON
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
David LoeDAVID LOE
SUPERVISORY COMMITTEE CHAIRPERSON
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Shelia PennSHELIA PENN
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
William C WellsWILLIAM C WELLS
CEO
- Total calculated
- $771,207
- From this org
- $593,911
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $177,296
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $452,102
- Bonus
- $137,700
- Other
- $4,109
- Deferred
- $156,135
- Nontaxable benefits
- $21,161
- Filer's total
- $771,207
-
Whitney OswaltWHITNEY OSWALT
CFO
- Total calculated
- $394,098
- From this org
- $292,763
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $101,335
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $231,469
- Bonus
- $60,695
- Other
- $599
- Deferred
- $74,883
- Nontaxable benefits
- $26,452
- Filer's total
- $394,098
-
Jason HalperinJASON HALPERIN
CHIEF RETAIL LENDING OFFIC
- Total calculated
- $324,154
- From this org
- $266,804
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $57,350
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $215,821
- Bonus
- $50,520
- Other
- $463
- Deferred
- $32,908
- Nontaxable benefits
- $24,442
- Filer's total
- $324,154
-
Shelby GranthamSHELBY GRANTHAM
SENIOR DIRECTOR OF OPERATI
- Total calculated
- $221,202
- From this org
- $165,416
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $55,786
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $143,145
- Bonus
- $21,571
- Other
- $700 + $500 related
- Deferred
- $40,446
- Nontaxable benefits
- $15,340
- Filer's total
- $221,202 + $500 related
-
William R StallingsWILLIAM R STALLINGS
CHIEF COMMERCIAL LENDING O
- Total calculated
- $260,672
- From this org
- $220,659
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $40,013
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $137,616
- Bonus
- $82,880
- Other
- $163
- Deferred
- $29,852
- Nontaxable benefits
- $10,161
- Filer's total
- $260,672
-
Robert LongROBERT LONG
CHIEF TECHNOLOGY OFFICER
- Total calculated
- $317,185
- From this org
- $227,889
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $89,296
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $198,000
- Bonus
- $29,025
- Other
- $864 + $76,250 related
- Deferred
- $71,368
- Nontaxable benefits
- $17,928
- Filer's total
- $317,185 + $76,250 related
-
William TurnerWILLIAM TURNER
SENIOR DIRECTOR OF TREASURY
- Total calculated
- $210,010
- From this org
- $166,042
- From related orgs
- $1,125
- Other
- $42,843
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $143,406
- Bonus
- $22,340
- Other
- $296 + $1,125 related
- Deferred
- $40,446
- Nontaxable benefits
- $2,397
- Filer's total
- $208,885 + $1,125 related
-
Michael BrownMICHAEL BROWN
SENIOR DIRECTOR OF RETAIL OPERATI
- Total calculated
- $223,260
- From this org
- $159,668
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $63,592
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $138,726
- Bonus
- $20,616
- Other
- $326
- Deferred
- $39,913
- Nontaxable benefits
- $23,679
- Filer's total
- $223,260
-
Tyler FosterTYLER FOSTER
DIRECTOR OF WEALTH ADVISOR
- Total calculated
- $172,736
- From this org
- $137,980
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $34,756
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $136,000
- Bonus
- $1,980
- Other
- $0
- Deferred
- $14,620
- Nontaxable benefits
- $20,136
- Filer's total
- $172,736
-
Brittany FloydBRITTANY FLOYD
SENIOR DIRECTOR OF MARKETING & BUSINESS DEVELOPMEN
- Total calculated
- $200,043
- From this org
- $139,894
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $60,149
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $116,655
- Bonus
- $22,848
- Other
- $391
- Deferred
- $28,217
- Nontaxable benefits
- $31,932
- Filer's total
- $200,043
-
Martin HoustinMARTIN HOUSTIN
CHIEF GROWTH OFFICER
- Total calculated
- $198,917
- From this org
- $143,832
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $55,085
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $128,423
- Bonus
- $14,733
- Other
- $676
- Deferred
- $33,805
- Nontaxable benefits
- $21,280
- Filer's total
- $198,917
-
William RickmanWILLIAM RICKMAN
AREA EXECUTIVE
- Total calculated
- $191,821
- From this org
- $163,744
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $28,077
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $138,269
- Bonus
- $25,293
- Other
- $182
- Deferred
- $24,918
- Nontaxable benefits
- $3,159
- Filer's total
- $191,821
Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.
Schedule J
Answered yes
- 1a · Travel for companions
- 1b · Written policy on the line-1a expenses
- 2 · Substantiation required before reimbursing expenses
- 3 · Compensation committee
- 3 · Independent compensation consultant
- 3 · Written employment contract
- 3 · Compensation survey or study
- 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee
- 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
Answered no
- 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
- 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
The filer's explanations (Part III)
- PART I, LINE 1A
- THE CREDIT UNION'S TRAVEL POLICY ALLOWS DIRECTORS, SVC MEMBERS, AND EMPLOYEES TO BRING SPOUSES (AND IN SOME CASES, CHILDREN) WHEN TRAVELING ON CREDIT UNION BUSINESS AND BE REIMBURSED FOR THEIR REASONABLE TRAVEL COSTS.
- PART I, LINE 1B
- THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS APPROVES TRAVEL EACH YEAR FOR ANY BOARD MEMBER OR OFFICER OF THE CREDIT UNION AND IF A SPOUSE WILL BE PERMITTED TO TRAVEL. ALL EXPENSES ARE REVIEWED BY THE BOARD.
- PART I, LINE 3
- MANAGEMENT'S COMPENSATION IS DETERMINED ANNUALLY BY THE CREDIT UNION'S BOARD OF DIRECTORS AND IS BASED ON PERFORMANCE AND INDEPENDENT COMPARABLE INDUSTRY COMPENSATION DATA.
- PART I, LINE 4B
- AS OF APRIL 1, 2018, THE CREDIT UNION ADOPTED THE ALABAMA ONE CREDIT UNION 457(F) DISCRETIONARY CONTRIBUTION PLAN. THE PLAN IS INTENDED TO BE A NON-QUALIFIED INELIGIBLE DEFERRED COMPENSATION PLAN WITHIN THE MEANING OF SECTION 457(F) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE. THE PURPOSE OF THE PLAN IS TO 1) ALLOW PARTICIPANTS AN OPPORTUNITY TO ELECT TO DEFER THE RECEIPT OF COMPENSATION (PARTICIPANT COMPENSATION DEFERRAL), AND 2) PROVIDE A VEHICLE FOR THE CREDIT UNION TO CREDIT AMOUNTS ON A TAX DEFERRED BASIS FOR EMPLOYEE PARTICIPANTS (EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION CREDIT). THE AMOUNT OF ANNUAL CONTRIBUTIONS TO A PARTICIPANT'S ACCOUNT IS SUBJECT TO IRS LIMITATIONS AS DEFINED IN THE PLAN. PARTICIPANT ACCOUNTS ARE 100% VESTED AFTER A PERIOD OF 5 YEARS IN ANY AMOUNTS CREDITED TO THEIR ACCOUNT. EACH PARTICIPANTS ACCOUNT WILL BE ADJUSTED FOR CREDITED INTEREST OR INCREASES OR DECREASES IN THE REALIZABLE NET ASSET VALUE, AS APPLICABLE, OF THE DESIGNATED DEEMED PLAN INVESTMENTS. THE DEFERRED COMPENSATION ACCOUNTS ARE SHOWN AS BOTH ASSETS AND LIABILITIES ON THE CREDIT UNION'S FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AND ARE AVAILABLE TO CREDITORS IN THE EVENT OF THE CREDIT UNION'S LIQUIDATION. THE BALANCE OF THE 457(F) DEFERRED COMPENSATION ARRANGEMENT WAS $1,922,835 AND $1,416,176 AS OF DECEMBER 31, 2023 AND 2022, RESPECTIVELY.
Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.
Grants on this return
-
$64,510
DONATIONS TO SPONSOR AO ASPIRE'S MISSION.
Related organizations on this return
Schedule R Part II: tax-exempt organizations related to the filer by control. It does not record shared board members or money.
-
501(C)(3) · FINANCIAL WELLNESS AND OPERATION CREDIT UNION CHRISTMAS · AL
Directly controlled by ALABAMA ONE CREDIT UNION
Taxable family on this return
Schedule R Parts I, III and IV, as filed. These record ownership and control, not shared board members or money moved.
Disregarded entities
Part I: entities that legally are the filer and file no return of their own.
-
AOCU HOLDINGS LLC
TO HOLD CERTAIN OPERATING OREO PROPERTIES · AL · income $0 · assets $108,518
Directly controlled by ALABAMA ONE CREDIT UNION
-
ALABAMA ONE AGENCY LLC
TO PROVIDE INSURANCE SERVICES · AL · income $335,174 · assets $324,268
Directly controlled by ALABAMA ONE CREDIT UNION
Related partnerships
Part III: related organizations taxable as a partnership, with the filer's share.
-
TELLERIX LLC
UNRELATED · ATM/ITM SERVICING & IT CONSULTING · AL · 45% owned · share of income $164,616 · share of assets $430,914 · general or managing partner
Directly controlled by ALABAMA ONE CREDIT UNION
-
VULCAN DATACORP LLC
UNRELATED · IT CONSULTING · AL · 64.7% owned · share of income -$5,852 · share of assets $70,230 · general or managing partner
Directly controlled by ALABAMA ONE CREDIT UNION
Provenance
- Return type
- form_990
- Tax year
- 2023
- Filed
- 14 November 2024
- IRS schema version
- 2023v5.1
- Source object
- 202433209349308903
Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.
The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.