Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← EL DORADO COMMUNITY FOUNDATION

Form 990 for tax year 2023

Filed by EL DORADO COMMUNITY FOUNDATION.

What the amendment changed

Compared with the return it replaced , filed 7 November 2024. matched by us Only the Part I totals and the names listed in Part VII are compared. We relate returns by organization, tax year and form, and order them by each return's own timestamp; the filer's own "amended return" checkbox is a separate fact.

Grants paid
$2,412,425 changed to $2,412,424

Totals

Total revenue
$7,598,807
Total expenses
$3,504,760
Contributions and grants received
$4,887,158
Grants paid
$2,412,424
Program service revenue
$75,022
Investment income
$2,561,520
Other revenue
$75,107
Total assets, end of year
$31,049,213
Total liabilities, end of year
$3,956,539
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$27,092,674
Program services expenses (Part IX)
$2,807,138
Management and general expenses
$397,007
Fundraising expenses
$300,615
Program service expenses (Part III)
$2,807,138

Program services were 80.1% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants

    $4,887,158

  • 2a · Program service revenue: Rents

    total $75,022 · related or exempt $75,022

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $2,561,520 · related or exempt $2,561,520

  • 4 · Income from investment of tax-exempt bond proceeds

    total $0

  • 5 · Royalties

    total $0

  • 6d · Net rental income or loss

    total $0

  • 7d · Net gain or loss

    total $0

  • 8c · Net income from fundraising events

    total $0

  • 9c · Net income from gaming

    total $0

  • 10c · Net income from sales of inventory

    total $0

  • 11a · Other revenue: Admin Fee From Agency

    total $40,857 · related or exempt $40,857

  • 11b · Other revenue: Other Income

    total $34,250 · related or exempt $34,250

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $75,107

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments

    total $2,412,424 · program services $2,412,424

  • 2 · Grants to domestic individuals

    total $0

  • 3 · Grants to foreign organizations and individuals

    total $0

  • 4 · Benefits paid to or for members

    total $0

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $175,200 · program services $131,400 · management and general $26,280 · fundraising $17,520

  • 6 · Compensation of disqualified persons

    total $0

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $423,167 · program services $48,110 · management and general $213,067 · fundraising $161,990

  • 8 · Pension plan contributions

    total $0

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $0

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $0

  • 11a · Fees: management

    total $0

  • 11b · Fees: legal

    total $288,351 · program services $144,176 · management and general $86,505 · fundraising $57,670

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $0

  • 11d · Fees: lobbying

    total $0

  • 11e · Fees: professional fundraising services

    total $0

  • 11f · Fees: investment management

    total $0

  • 11g · Fees: other

    total $0

  • 12 · Advertising and promotion

    total $0

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $38,527 · program services $6,550 · management and general $3,082 · fundraising $28,895

  • 14 · Information technology

    total $0

  • 15 · Royalties

    total $0

  • 16 · Occupancy

    total $26,917 · program services $16,150 · management and general $4,038 · fundraising $6,729

  • 17 · Travel

    total $0

  • 18 · Travel or entertainment for public officials

    total $0

  • 19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings

    total $25,215 · program services $16,390 · management and general $3,782 · fundraising $5,043

  • 20 · Interest

    total $0

  • 21 · Payments to affiliates

    total $0

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $29,668 · program services $6,824 · management and general $19,877 · fundraising $2,967

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $12,743 · program services $5,097 · management and general $7,009 · fundraising $637

  • 24a · Other expenses: Office Equipment and Maint

    total $32,275 · program services $17,105 · management and general $6,133 · fundraising $9,037

  • 24b · Other expenses: Memberships

    total $15,824 · program services $2,374 · management and general $3,323 · fundraising $10,127

  • 24c · Other expenses: Repairs/Maint

    total $12,760 · management and general $12,760

  • 24d · Other expenses: Property Tax

    total $11,151 · management and general $11,151

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total $538 · program services $538

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $3,563,969 · end of year $3,993,501

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    end of year $0

  • 3 · Pledges and grants receivable

    end of year $0

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    end of year $0

  • 5 · Loans and receivables from officers and key people

    end of year $0

  • 6 · Loans and receivables from disqualified persons

    end of year $0

  • 7 · Other notes and loans receivable

    end of year $0

  • 8 · Inventories for sale or use

    end of year $0

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    beginning of year $17,195 · end of year $18,867

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $1,783,654

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $339,147

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $1,298,259 · end of year $1,444,507

  • 11 · Investments: publicly traded securities

    beginning of year $21,344,054 · end of year $25,409,825

  • 12 · Investments: other securities

    end of year $0

  • 13 · Investments: program-related

    end of year $0

  • 14 · Intangible assets

    beginning of year $14,067 · end of year $14,687

  • 15 · Other assets

    beginning of year $144,094 · end of year $167,826

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $78,117 · end of year $58,501

  • 23 · Secured mortgages and notes payable

    beginning of year $3,304,894 · end of year $3,898,038

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $22,854,533 · end of year $26,924,848

  • 28 · Net assets with donor restrictions

    beginning of year $144,094 · end of year $167,826

Mission and programs · 2023

Mission

The El Dorado Community Foundation is dedicated to strengthening our community both now and for future generations. The Foundation fulfills its mission by:- Encouraging private giving for the public good.- Building and maintaining a permanent endowment fund to respond to changing community needs.- providing a flexible tax-exempt vehicle for donors with varied charitable interest and abilities to give.-serving as a catalyist, a convener, and a partner in shaping effective responses to community problems and opportunities.

  • During the year, the foundation awarded grants to numerous community non-profit organizations in need, administered endowments and grant-making services for local agencies, held planned giving seminars for potential donors, and led focus groups with local leaders to discuss community needs and future areas of grant-making.

    Expenses $2,807,138

As filed on the 2023 return.

Listed in Part VII

  • Bill Roby

    Key Employee

    Total calculated
    $175,200
    From this org
    $170,085
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $5,115
    Hours/week
    40
  • Kathleen Peek

    President

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    30
  • Allan Priest

    Vice President

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    30
  • Brian Veerkamp

    Treasurer

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    30
  • Shelbi Bennett

    Secretary

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    30
  • Dan Stazak

    Past President

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • Wendy David

    Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    30
  • Jana Ellerman

    Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    30
  • Ed Manansala

    Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    30
  • Pam Maxwell

    Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0
  • Bill Roby

    Executive Dir.

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • Kathy Haven

    Program Coord.

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    30
  • Sakina Madraswala

    Accountant

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    30
  • Hillary Mulligan

    Donor Services

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    30
  • Paul Zappettini

    Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    30

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those.

Schedule J

Itemized on Schedule J with no Part VII listing of the same name on this return:

  • Bill Roby

    Key Employee

    Schedule J breakdown

    Base
    $170,085
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    $5,115
    Filer's total
    $175,200

Answered yes

None.

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
  • 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
  • 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
  • 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
  • 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
  • 7 · Other non-fixed payments
  • 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

  • Various - 5K

    $517,950

    Community needs

  • Chandler Electric Inc

    $202,251

    Human services

  • Human Services

  • The Sierra Fund

    $146,000

    Educational support

  • El Dorado County Library - So

    $129,211

    Community needs

  • Lake Tahoe Community College

    $100,000

    Community Projects

  • Simpson University

    $75,000

    Educational support

  • Youth development

  • Big Brothers Big Sisters of N

    $46,640

    Youth development

  • South Lake Tahoe Family Resou

    $45,000

    Human Services

The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2023
Filed
19 August 2025
IRS schema version
2023v6.0
Source object
202532319349301788

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.