Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← TOMBIGBEE ELECTRIC POWER ASSN

Form 990 for tax year 2023

Filed by TOMBIGBEE ELECTRIC POWER ASSN.

Totals

Total revenue
$136,405,998
Total expenses
$132,488,179
Contributions and grants received
$0
Grants paid
$0
Program service revenue
$127,504,316
Investment income
$1,162,389
Other revenue
$7,739,293
Total assets, end of year
$266,020,791
Total liabilities, end of year
$139,628,122
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$126,392,669
Program services expenses (Part IX)
$132,488,179
Management and general expenses
$0
Fundraising expenses
$0
Program service expenses (Part III)
$132,488,179

Program services were 100.0% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 2a · Program service revenue: ELECTRICITY SALES

    total $127,504,316 · related or exempt $127,504,316

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $1,162,389 · related or exempt $1,162,389

  • 6a · Gross rents

    personal property $2,995,077

  • 6c · Rental income or loss

    personal property $2,995,077

  • 6d · Net rental income or loss

    total $2,995,077 · excluded $2,995,077

  • 11a · Other revenue: FIBER LEASE

    total $4,116,521 · unrelated business $4,116,521

  • 11b · Other revenue: MISCELLANEOUS

    total $627,695 · related or exempt $627,695

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $4,744,216

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $9,141,719 · program services $9,141,719

  • 8 · Pension plan contributions

    total $1,731,280 · program services $1,731,280

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $8,492 · program services $8,492

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $632,343 · program services $632,343

  • 20 · Interest

    total $4,501,754 · program services $4,501,754

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $11,147,918 · program services $11,147,918

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $457,380 · program services $457,380

  • 24a · Other expenses: COST OF ELECTRICITY

    total $94,672,526 · program services $94,672,526

  • 24b · Other expenses: DISTRIBUTION/MAINTENANCE

    total $3,483,328 · program services $3,483,328

  • 24c · Other expenses: ACCOUNTING AND COLLECTION

    total $2,559,190 · program services $2,559,190

  • 24d · Other expenses: DISTRIBUTION/OPERATING

    total $1,547,593 · program services $1,547,593

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total $2,604,656 · program services $2,604,656

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $1,777,237 · end of year $373,051

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    beginning of year $2,147,854 · end of year $2,249,996

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    beginning of year $13,453,186 · end of year $14,980,993

  • 7 · Other notes and loans receivable

    beginning of year $339,321 · end of year $190,529

  • 8 · Inventories for sale or use

    beginning of year $3,596,500 · end of year $3,957,761

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    beginning of year $536,485 · end of year $542,651

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $381,793,408

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $151,693,403

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $223,710,917 · end of year $230,100,005

  • 12 · Investments: other securities

    beginning of year $4,355,585 · end of year $4,987,284

  • 15 · Other assets

    beginning of year $9,909,576 · end of year $8,638,521

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $11,903,587 · end of year $12,143,106

  • 23 · Secured mortgages and notes payable

    beginning of year $92,280,419 · end of year $90,016,970

  • 24 · Unsecured notes and loans payable

    end of year $2,200,000

  • 25 · Other liabilities

    beginning of year $33,171,045 · end of year $35,268,046

  • 30 · Paid-in or capital surplus, or land, building or equipment fund

    beginning of year $4,449,887 · end of year $4,453,127

  • 31 · Retained earnings, endowment or other funds

    beginning of year $118,021,723 · end of year $121,939,542

Mission and programs · 2023

Mission

TO BRING SAFE, RELIABLE, AND AFFORDABLE POWER TO CUSTOMERS IN A COURTEOUS AND TIMELY MANNER.

Activities or mission (Part I)

TO PROVIDE ELECTRIC POWER SERVICE TO MEMBERS OF THE ASSOCIATION

  • TO PROVIDE ELECTRIC POWER SERVICE TO MEMBERS OF THE ASSOCIATION

    Expenses $132,488,179 · Revenue $127,504,316

As filed on the 2023 return.

Listed in Part VII

  • Fg Wiygul Jr

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $16,162
    From this org
    $16,162
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    10
  • John McFerrin

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $10,100
    From this org
    $10,100
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    15
  • Mike Irwin

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $10,100
    From this org
    $10,100
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    10
  • Brenda Shumpert

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $10,100
    From this org
    $10,100
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    10
  • Buddy Palmer

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $10,100
    From this org
    $10,100
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    15
  • Steve Holland

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $9,531
    From this org
    $9,531
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    10
  • Donald Knight

    VICE PRESIDE

    Total calculated
    $16,162
    From this org
    $16,162
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    15
  • Jim Gray

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $10,100
    From this org
    $10,100
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    10
  • Lynn Turner

    PRESIDENT

    Total calculated
    $10,100
    From this org
    $10,100
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    20
  • Chip Prestage

    TREASURER

    Total calculated
    $10,100
    From this org
    $10,100
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    15
  • Tj Adams

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $10,100
    From this org
    $10,100
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    10
  • Andy Spradling

    SECRETARY

    Total calculated
    $10,100
    From this org
    $10,100
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    15
  • Randy Letson

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $10,100
    From this org
    $10,100
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    10
  • Sammy Reed

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $10,100
    From this org
    $10,100
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    10
  • Danny Riley

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $10,100
    From this org
    $10,100
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    10
  • Scott Hendrix

    CEO

    Total calculated
    $316,735
    From this org
    $304,662
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $12,073
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $304,662
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    $12,073
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported
    Filer's total
    $316,735
  • Bruce Williams

    CFO

    Total calculated
    $133,992
    From this org
    $126,275
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $7,717
    Hours/week
    40
  • Greg Hood

    LINEMAN

    Total calculated
    $161,213
    From this org
    $154,685
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $6,528
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $154,685
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    $6,528
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported
    Filer's total
    $161,213
  • Mark Graham

    LINEMAN

    Total calculated
    $154,309
    From this org
    $147,781
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $6,528
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $147,781
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    $6,528
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported
    Filer's total
    $154,309
  • Greg Spradling

    LINEMAN

    Total calculated
    $153,749
    From this org
    $147,221
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $6,528
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $147,221
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    $6,528
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported
    Filer's total
    $153,749
  • Brock Pearce

    LINEMAN

    Total calculated
    $151,156
    From this org
    $144,647
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $6,509
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $144,647
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    $6,509
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported
    Filer's total
    $151,156
  • Mark Burleson

    LINEMAN

    Total calculated
    $148,283
    From this org
    $141,755
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $6,528
    Hours/week
    40

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

  • 3 · Form 990 of other organizations
  • 3 · Compensation survey or study
  • 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

No itemized grants to organizations on this return.

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2023
Filed
31 January 2025
IRS schema version
2023v6.0
Source object
202530319349302113

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.