Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← BOYS AND GIRLS CLUBS OF GREATER SACRAMENTO

Form 990 for tax year 2023

Filed by BOYS AND GIRLS CLUBS OF GREATER SACRAMENTO.

Totals

Total revenue
$3,241,014
Total expenses
$3,889,632
Contributions and grants received
$3,235,170
Grants paid
$0
Program service revenue
$0
Investment income
$884
Other revenue
$4,960
Total assets, end of year
$12,872,942
Total liabilities, end of year
$281,577
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$12,591,365
Program services expenses (Part IX)
$3,232,913
Management and general expenses
$604,807
Fundraising expenses
$51,912
Program service expenses (Part III)
$3,232,913

Program services were 83.1% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 1c · Fundraising events

    $55,500

  • 1e · Government grants (contributions)

    $2,212,758

  • 1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants

    $966,912

  • 1g · Noncash contributions included above

    $54,950

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $884 · excluded $884

  • 4 · Income from investment of tax-exempt bond proceeds

    total $0

  • 5 · Royalties

    total $0

  • 6d · Net rental income or loss

    total $0

  • 7d · Net gain or loss

    total $0

  • 8a · Fundraising events: gross income

    $17,164

  • 8a · Fundraising events: contributions included on line 1c

    $55,500

  • 8b · Fundraising events: direct expenses

    $12,204

  • 8c · Net income from fundraising events

    total $4,960

  • 9c · Net income from gaming

    total $0

  • 10c · Net income from sales of inventory

    total $0

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $0

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments

    total $0

  • 2 · Grants to domestic individuals

    total $0

  • 3 · Grants to foreign organizations and individuals

    total $0

  • 4 · Benefits paid to or for members

    total $0

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $203,495 · program services $30,524 · management and general $172,971

  • 6 · Compensation of disqualified persons

    total $0

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $1,983,756 · program services $1,786,782 · management and general $159,532 · fundraising $37,442

  • 8 · Pension plan contributions

    total $0

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $173,375 · program services $143,998 · management and general $26,443 · fundraising $2,934

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $217,760 · program services $180,861 · management and general $33,213 · fundraising $3,686

  • 11a · Fees: management

    total $0

  • 11b · Fees: legal

    total $0

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $0

  • 11d · Fees: lobbying

    total $0

  • 11e · Fees: professional fundraising services

    total $0

  • 11f · Fees: investment management

    total $0

  • 11g · Fees: other

    total $67,926 · management and general $67,926

  • 12 · Advertising and promotion

    total $0

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $0

  • 14 · Information technology

    total $0

  • 15 · Royalties

    total $0

  • 16 · Occupancy

    total $56,983 · program services $37,558 · management and general $19,425

  • 17 · Travel

    total $22,120 · program services $11,328 · management and general $10,132 · fundraising $660

  • 18 · Travel or entertainment for public officials

    total $0

  • 19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings

    total $0

  • 20 · Interest

    total $0

  • 21 · Payments to affiliates

    total $0

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $377,275 · program services $358,411 · management and general $18,864

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $97,891 · program services $88,102 · management and general $9,789

  • 24a · Other expenses: BUILDING MAINTENANCE

    total $325,027 · program services $304,366 · management and general $20,661

  • 24b · Other expenses: PROGRAM EXPENSES

    total $124,009 · program services $117,827 · management and general $6,182

  • 24c · Other expenses: COMPUTER EXPENSE

    total $67,524 · program services $56,554 · management and general $10,970

  • 24d · Other expenses: IN-KIND GOODS

    total $54,950 · program services $54,950

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total $117,541 · program services $61,652 · management and general $48,699 · fundraising $7,190

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    end of year $0

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    beginning of year $1,446,294 · end of year $1,052,387

  • 3 · Pledges and grants receivable

    beginning of year $537,848 · end of year $528,163

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    end of year $0

  • 5 · Loans and receivables from officers and key people

    end of year $0

  • 6 · Loans and receivables from disqualified persons

    end of year $0

  • 7 · Other notes and loans receivable

    end of year $0

  • 8 · Inventories for sale or use

    end of year $0

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    beginning of year $5,957 · end of year $8,483

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $15,992,919

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $6,007,813

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $10,205,935 · end of year $9,985,106

  • 11 · Investments: publicly traded securities

    end of year $0

  • 12 · Investments: other securities

    end of year $0

  • 13 · Investments: program-related

    end of year $0

  • 14 · Intangible assets

    end of year $0

  • 15 · Other assets

    beginning of year $988,674 · end of year $1,298,803

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $282,094 · end of year $270,663

  • 25 · Other liabilities

    end of year $10,914

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $11,706,940 · end of year $11,060,559

  • 28 · Net assets with donor restrictions

    beginning of year $1,195,674 · end of year $1,530,806

Mission and programs · 2023

Mission

Boys & Girls Clubs of Greater Sacramento, Inc (the Organization) is a nonprofit corporation whose mission is to inspire and enable all young people, especially those who need us most, to reach their full potential as productive, caring, and responsible citizens. The organization provides a world-class Club Experience that assures success is within reach of every young person who attends the Club, with all members on track to graduate from high school with a plan for the future, demonstrating good character and citizenship, and living a healthy lifestyle.

Activities or mission (Part I)

Boys & Girls Clubs of Greater Sacramento offers a variety of tested, proven and nationally recognized programs designed to empower kids and teens to excel in school, become good citizens and lead healthy, productive lives. Our programs are tailored to the local communities we serve and customized for each age group to meet the interests and developmental needs of young people ages 6-18. Core Program Areas include: Academic Success & Workforce Readiness, Character & Leadership Development, Health & Social-Emotional Wellness.

  • THE BOYS AND GIRLS CLUB OF GREATER SACRAMENTO IS A YOUTH DEVELOPMENT ORGANIZATION FORMED TO PROVIDE COMPREHENSIVE PREVENTION PROGRAMS FOR HIGH-RISK YOUTH 6-18 YEARS OF AGE.

    Expenses $3,232,913

As filed on the 2023 return.

Listed in Part VII

  • Kimberly Key

    CEO

    Total calculated
    $197,409
    From this org
    $181,125
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $16,284
    Hours/week
    65

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $181,125
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    $16,284
    Filer's total
    $197,409
  • Jonathan Ranco

    Director

    Total calculated
    $109,917
    From this org
    $100,136
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $9,781
    Hours/week
    40
  • Zach Hatch

    Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Becky Vierra

    Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Steve Barrilleaux

    Secretary

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Lori Rianda

    Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Elena Acasio

    Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Robert Bonner

    Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Mike Frame

    Board Safety Ch

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Maggy Krell

    Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Bindu Jaduram

    Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Michelle DuCharme

    Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Markisha Webster

    Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Deborah Rubens

    Chair

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • John Lockwood

    Vice Chair

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Edward Unwin

    Treasurer

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

  • 3 · Written employment contract
  • 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
  • 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
  • 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
  • 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
  • 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
  • 7 · Other non-fixed payments
  • 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

No itemized grants to organizations on this return.

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2023
Filed
1 May 2025
IRS schema version
2023v6.0
Source object
202501219349302280

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.