Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← OVERTOWN YOUTH CENTER INC

Form 990 for tax year 2023

Filed by OVERTOWN YOUTH CENTER INC.

Totals

Total revenue
$10,480,205
Total expenses
$9,157,605
Contributions and grants received
$9,788,650
Grants paid
$0
Program service revenue
$0
Investment income
$346,380
Other revenue
$345,175
Total assets, end of year
$29,079,814
Total liabilities, end of year
$5,200,153
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$23,879,661
Program services expenses (Part IX)
$7,980,320
Management and general expenses
$898,352
Fundraising expenses
$278,933
Program service expenses (Part III)
$7,980,320

Program services were 87.1% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 1e · Government grants (contributions)

    $3,622,720

  • 1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants

    $6,165,930

  • 1g · Noncash contributions included above

    $644,545

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $346,380 · related or exempt $346,380

  • 11a · Other revenue: OTHER INCOME

    total $345,175 · related or exempt $345,175

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $345,175

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments

    total $0

  • 2 · Grants to domestic individuals

    total $0

  • 3 · Grants to foreign organizations and individuals

    total $0

  • 4 · Benefits paid to or for members

    total $0

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $0

  • 6 · Compensation of disqualified persons

    total $0

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $4,312,070 · program services $3,722,898 · management and general $379,919 · fundraising $209,253

  • 8 · Pension plan contributions

    total $0

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $505,976 · program services $349,793 · management and general $156,183

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $0

  • 11a · Fees: management

    total $0

  • 11b · Fees: legal

    total $0

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $0

  • 11d · Fees: lobbying

    total $0

  • 11f · Fees: investment management

    total $0

  • 11g · Fees: other

    total $8,333 · program services $2,211 · management and general $6,122

  • 12 · Advertising and promotion

    total $0

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $457,188 · program services $327,615 · management and general $61,022 · fundraising $68,551

  • 14 · Information technology

    total $0

  • 15 · Royalties

    total $0

  • 16 · Occupancy

    total $391,210 · program services $374,921 · management and general $16,289

  • 17 · Travel

    total $429,454 · program services $418,704 · management and general $10,750

  • 18 · Travel or entertainment for public officials

    total $0

  • 19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings

    total $307,450 · program services $307,450

  • 20 · Interest

    total $0

  • 21 · Payments to affiliates

    total $0

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $88,285 · program services $88,285

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $101,574 · program services $78,964 · management and general $22,610

  • 24a · Other expenses: IN KIND EXPENSES AND OTHER DONATIONS

    total $1,740,545 · program services $1,740,545

  • 24b · Other expenses: NMTC FEES

    total $236,205 · management and general $236,205

  • 24c · Other expenses: STUDENT SERVICES AND EVENTS

    total $95,905 · program services $95,905

  • 24d · Other expenses: FOOD

    total $412,051 · program services $412,051

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total $71,359 · program services $60,978 · management and general $9,252 · fundraising $1,129

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $5,982,801 · end of year $8,861,177

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    beginning of year $651,174 · end of year $627,113

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $862,712

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $348,033

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $462,339 · end of year $514,679

  • 11 · Investments: publicly traded securities

    beginning of year $3,619,071 · end of year $6,488,677

  • 15 · Other assets

    beginning of year $12,693,916 · end of year $12,588,168

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $328,950 · end of year $378,241

  • 19 · Deferred revenue

    end of year $1,900,000

  • 25 · Other liabilities

    beginning of year $523,290 · end of year $2,921,912

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $4,277,921 · end of year $6,431,470

  • 28 · Net assets with donor restrictions

    beginning of year $18,279,140 · end of year $17,448,191

Mission and programs · 2023

Mission

THE MISSION OF THE OVERTOWN YOUTH CENTER IS TO INSPIRE AND EMPOWER YOUTH AND FAMILIES BY FOSTERING HOPE THROUGH ENRICHMENT SERVICES.

  • OVERTOWN YOUTH CENTER IS AN INNER-CITY YOUTH CENTER LOCATED IN MIAMI, FLORIDA ESTABLISHED FOR THE PURPOSE OF HELPING TO IMPROVE THE LIVES OF AT-RISK YOUTH IN SOUTH FLORIDA AND TO GIVE FAMILIES A PLACE THAT INSTILLS A SENSE OF PRIDE THROUGH EDUCATION PROGRAMS, ORGANIZED ATHLETICS, EMPLOYMENT ENHANCEMENT SKILLS AND CULTURAL AWARENESS.

    Expenses $7,980,320

As filed on the 2023 return.

Listed in Part VII

  • Tina Brown

    CEO

    Total calculated
    $208,396
    From this org
    $208,396
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40 + 2 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $208,396
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported
    Filer's total
    $208,396
  • Brittany Lambert Brown

    CHIEF PROGRAMS OFFICER

    Total calculated
    $108,682
    From this org
    $108,682
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • Stephen A Marino Jr Esq

    CHAIRMAN

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 2 related
  • Michelle Febres

    VICE CHAIR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 2 related
  • Andres Asion

    SECRETARY

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 2 related
  • Shawn Alexander

    TREASURER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 2 related
  • Rod Adkins

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    11 + 2 related
  • Ron Book

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 2 related
  • Stephen Boucher

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 2 related
  • Russell H Brooke

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 2 related
  • Magda J Castineyra

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 2 related
  • Linda Coll

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 2 related
  • Gregory Deutch Esq

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 2 related
  • Albert E Dotson Jr Esq

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 2 related
  • Jeffrey Fratarcangeli

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 2 related
  • Allen Furst

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 2 related
  • Michael Fux

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 2 related
  • Sabrina Gallo

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 2 related
  • Salo Grosfeld

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 2 related
  • Natasha Hampton

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 2 related
  • Shevrin Jones

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 2 related
  • Dr Jayne A Klein

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 2 related
  • Jacqueline Mansfield

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 2 related
  • Ashley Perkins

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 2 related
  • Jacquelynn Powers

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 2 related
  • Michael Rose

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 2 related
  • Matthew Roth

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 2 related
  • Elise Scheck Bonwitt Esq

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 2 related
  • Candy M Sicle

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 2 related
  • Jodi A Silva

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 2 related
  • Paul A Shelowitz

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 2 related
  • Jason Sternberg

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 2 related
  • Eric James Vainder

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 2 related

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

None.

Answered no

  • 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
  • 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
  • 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
  • 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
  • 7 · Other non-fixed payments
  • 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

No itemized grants to organizations on this return.

Related organizations on this return

Schedule R Part II: tax-exempt organizations related to the filer by control. It does not record shared board members or money.

  • MOURNING FAMILY FOUNDATION INC

    501C3 · YOUTH SERVICES · FL · controlled entity

    Directly controlled by OYC

  • HONEY SHINE INC

    501C3 · YOUTH SERVICES · FL · controlled entity

    Directly controlled by OYC

  • OYC PROPERTY HOLDINGS INC

    501C3 · SUPP ORG · FL · controlled entity

    Directly controlled by OYC

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2023
Filed
20 December 2024
IRS schema version
2023v5.1
Source object
202413559349300906

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.