Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← UNITED FOOD AND COMMERCIAL WORKERS INTERNATIONAL UNION

Form 990 for tax year 2022

Filed by UNITED FOOD AND COMMERCIAL WORKERS INTERNATIONAL UNION.

Totals

Total revenue
$8,534,533
Total expenses
$8,630,734
Contributions and grants received
$8,315,655
Grants paid
$0
Program service revenue
$0
Investment income
$120,841
Other revenue
$98,037
Total assets, end of year
$8,461,768
Total liabilities, end of year
$126,680
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$8,335,088
Program services expenses (Part IX)
not reported
Management and general expenses
$8,630,734
Fundraising expenses
not reported
Program service expenses (Part III)
not reported

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 1b · Membership dues

    $8,143,996

  • 1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants

    $171,659

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $120,841

  • 11a · Other revenue: Political Check-Off

    total $51,481

  • 11b · Other revenue: Refunds and Reimbursements

    total $49,665

  • 11d · All other revenue

    total -$3,109

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $98,037

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments

    total $0

  • 2 · Grants to domestic individuals

    total $0

  • 3 · Grants to foreign organizations and individuals

    total $0

  • 4 · Benefits paid to or for members

    total $0

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $572,471 · management and general $572,471

  • 6 · Compensation of disqualified persons

    total $0

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $2,409,024 · management and general $2,409,024

  • 8 · Pension plan contributions

    total $131,288 · management and general $131,288

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $339,423 · management and general $339,423

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $222,652 · management and general $222,652

  • 11a · Fees: management

    total $0

  • 11b · Fees: legal

    total $133,155 · management and general $133,155

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $0

  • 11d · Fees: lobbying

    total $0

  • 11f · Fees: investment management

    total $20,186 · management and general $20,186

  • 11g · Fees: other

    total $21,688 · management and general $21,688

  • 12 · Advertising and promotion

    total $22,343 · management and general $22,343

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $255,453 · management and general $255,453

  • 14 · Information technology

    total $0

  • 15 · Royalties

    total $0

  • 16 · Occupancy

    total $67,936 · management and general $67,936

  • 17 · Travel

    total $13,799 · management and general $13,799

  • 18 · Travel or entertainment for public officials

    total $0

  • 19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings

    total $81,395 · management and general $81,395

  • 20 · Interest

    total $0

  • 21 · Payments to affiliates

    total $3,672,581 · management and general $3,672,581

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $121,192 · management and general $121,192

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $67,411 · management and general $67,411

  • 24a · Other expenses: On Behalf of Members-ABC

    total $52,501 · management and general $52,501

  • 24b · Other expenses: Donations

    total $75,738 · management and general $75,738

  • 24c · Other expenses: Automobile Expenses

    total $121,987 · management and general $121,987

  • 24d · Other expenses: Membership Activities/Benefits

    total $169,142 · management and general $169,142

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total $59,369 · management and general $59,369

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    beginning of year $6,169,506 · end of year $6,007,790

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    beginning of year $19,809

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $2,404,430

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $1,649,242

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $661,015 · end of year $755,188

  • 11 · Investments: publicly traded securities

    beginning of year $1,649,022 · end of year $1,698,790

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $68,063 · end of year $126,680

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $8,431,289 · end of year $8,335,088

Mission and programs · 2022

Mission

To enhance working conditions, compensation and benefits for the membership.

Activities or mission (Part I)

To provide representation and services to members through the collective bargaining process.

  • Group life insurance for members and Social activities for members.

As filed on the 2022 return.

Listed in Part VII

  • Robert Blair

    President

    Total calculated
    $238,003
    From this org
    $238,003
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $237,784
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    $218
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported
    Filer's total
    $238,002
  • Paul Whiteley

    Secretary-Treasurer

    Total calculated
    $184,681
    From this org
    $184,681
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $178,405
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    $6,276
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported
    Filer's total
    $184,681
  • Jeffrey Pleasant

    Vice President

    Total calculated
    $93,182
    From this org
    $93,182
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Travis Dean

    Recorder

    Total calculated
    $40,269
    From this org
    $40,269
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Greg Boren

    Vice President

    Total calculated
    $4,611
    From this org
    $4,611
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • James Harpole

    Vice President

    Total calculated
    $2,496
    From this org
    $2,496
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Connie Turner

    Vice President

    Total calculated
    $2,040
    From this org
    $2,040
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Cindy Drake

    Vice President

    Total calculated
    $1,618
    From this org
    $1,618
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Blaine Purcell

    Vice President

    Total calculated
    $1,021
    From this org
    $1,021
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Kevin Riggs

    Vice President

    Total calculated
    $960
    From this org
    $960
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Mary Mudd

    Vice President

    Total calculated
    $877
    From this org
    $877
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Ronald Fleming

    Vice President

    Total calculated
    $832
    From this org
    $832
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Willie Collins

    Vice President

    Total calculated
    $764
    From this org
    $764
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Larry Goldey

    Vice President

    Total calculated
    $723
    From this org
    $723
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Sharon Bayens

    Vice President

    Total calculated
    $394
    From this org
    $394
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • John Gatton

    Vice President

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

None.

Answered no

  • 1b · Written policy on the line-1a expenses
  • 2 · Substantiation required before reimbursing expenses
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
  • 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
  • 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
  • 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
  • 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
  • 7 · Other non-fixed payments
  • 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception
  • 9 · Followed the rebuttable-presumption procedure

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

No itemized grants to organizations on this return.

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2022
Filed
15 August 2023
IRS schema version
2022v5.0
Source object
202302279349302225

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.