Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← CONCRETE REINFORCING STEEL INSTITUTE

Form 990 for tax year 2022

Filed by CONCRETE REINFORCING STEEL INSTITUTE.

Totals

Total revenue
$4,807,530
Total expenses
$4,752,432
Contributions and grants received
$75,000
Grants paid
$0
Program service revenue
$4,200,903
Investment income
$78,520
Other revenue
$453,107
Total assets, end of year
$5,159,382
Total liabilities, end of year
$185,824
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$4,973,558
Program services expenses (Part IX)
not reported
Management and general expenses
not reported
Fundraising expenses
not reported
Program service expenses (Part III)
not reported

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants

    $75,000

  • 2a · Program service revenue: MEMBERSHIP DUES

    total $3,292,141 · related or exempt $3,292,141

  • 2b · Program service revenue: MEETINGS/REGISTRATION

    total $586,327 · related or exempt $586,327

  • 2c · Program service revenue: EPOXY COATING PLANT CE

    total $322,435 · related or exempt $322,435

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $78,520 · excluded $78,520

  • 10a · Gross sales of inventory

    $633,874

  • 10b · Cost of goods sold

    $209,054

  • 10c · Net income from sales of inventory

    total $424,820 · related or exempt $424,820

  • 11a · Other revenue: OTHER REVENUE

    total $28,287 · related or exempt $28,287

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $28,287

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $325,823

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $1,844,529

  • 8 · Pension plan contributions

    total $106,911

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $216,066

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $158,508

  • 11a · Fees: management

    total $60,000

  • 11b · Fees: legal

    total $55,450

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $34,404

  • 11g · Fees: other

    total $296,086

  • 12 · Advertising and promotion

    total $47,292

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $86,442

  • 14 · Information technology

    total $281,364

  • 16 · Occupancy

    total $50,399

  • 17 · Travel

    total $259,776

  • 19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings

    total $558,313

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $35,367

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $43,929

  • 24a · Other expenses: MARKETING

    total $154,004

  • 24b · Other expenses: DUES/SUBSCRIPTIONS

    total $76,819

  • 24c · Other expenses: EDUCATION AND RESEARCH

    total $31,021

  • 24d · Other expenses: BANK FEES

    total $5,944

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total $23,985

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $941,485 · end of year $880,600

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    beginning of year $2,358,221 · end of year $2,368,708

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    beginning of year $273,073 · end of year $176,797

  • 8 · Inventories for sale or use

    beginning of year $267,369 · end of year $243,947

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    beginning of year $88,061 · end of year $75,523

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $1,039,411

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $941,716

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $124,108 · end of year $97,695

  • 11 · Investments: publicly traded securities

    beginning of year $1,432,501 · end of year $1,203,981

  • 15 · Other assets

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $112,131

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $252,873 · end of year $153,255

  • 19 · Deferred revenue

    beginning of year $17,000

  • 25 · Other liabilities

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $32,569

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $5,169,574 · end of year $4,903,596

  • 28 · Net assets with donor restrictions

    beginning of year $45,371 · end of year $69,962

Mission and programs · 2022

Mission

THE MISSION OF THE CONCRETE RENIFORCING STEEL INSTITUTE IS TO MAXIMIZE THE USE OF STEEL REINFORCEMENT IN CONCRETE CONSTRUCTION.

Activities or mission (Part I)

TO PROMOTE AND INCREASE THE USE OF STEEL REINFORCED CONCRETE CONSTRUCTION

  • TECHNICAL PUBLICATIONS AND SOFTWARE - INDUSTRY TEXTS AND REFERENCE BOOKS, INCLUDING COMPUTER SOFTWARE, RELATING TO STANDARDS AND INSTRUCTIONS FOR THE CONCRETE REINFORCED STEEL INDUSTRY.

  • MEETINGS AND SEMINARS - AVAILABLE TO MEMBERS TO PROVIDE UPDATES AND DISCUSS RECENT TRENDS WITHIN THE INDUSTRY; ALSO SERVES AS A FORUM FOR INTERACTION AND THE DEVELOPMENT OF IDEAS AND IMPROVEMENTS.

  • EPOXY INTEREST GROUP - PROVIDES INFORMATION AND UPDATES TO MEMBERS THROUGH NEWSLETTERS AND MEETINGS.

  • EPOXY COATING PLANT CERTIFICATION - PROVIDES INDUSTRY STANDARDS, DEVELOPMENT OF IMPROVEMENTS, AND CERTIFICATION FOR MEMBERS THROUGH INSPECTIONS AND QUALITY CONTROL RESEARCH.

As filed on the 2022 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.

Listed in Part VII

  • Estep Jeff

    CHAIRMAN

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1.5
  • Cottrell Brad

    VICE CHAIRMAN

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.75
  • Simmet Adam

    TREASURER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1.5
  • Barney Donald

    PAST CHAIRMAN

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.75 + 0.75 related
  • Alwin Mary

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.75 + 0.75 related
  • Belland Andre

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.75
  • Bodily Micah

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.75
  • Brack William

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.75 + 0.75 related
  • Colarusso Louis

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.75 + 0.75 related
  • Cornell Kevin

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.75
  • Couturier Bill

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.75
  • Faircloth Rob

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.75
  • Hennings Bethany

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.75
  • Jones Layne

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.75
  • McClean Robert

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.75
  • McManus Eugene

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.75
  • Peery Dean

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.75
  • Peters Spence

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.75
  • Sayers Carrie

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.75
  • Schewe Matthew

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.75 + 0.75 related
  • Acuna Marcelo Term'D During 2022

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.75
  • Melvin James Term'D During 2022

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.75
  • Kleinhans Danielle

    STAFF LIASON / PRESIDENT

    Total calculated
    $325,822
    From this org
    $305,493
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $20,329
    Hours/week
    37 + 3 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $259,450
    Bonus
    $36,540
    Other
    $9,503
    Deferred
    $17,852
    Nontaxable benefits
    $2,477
    Filer's total
    $325,822
  • Fosnough Pete

    EIG MANAGING DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $214,551
    From this org
    $202,983
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $11,568
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $192,800
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $10,183
    Deferred
    $11,568
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0
    Filer's total
    $214,551
  • Trygestad Amy

    DIRECTOR OF CODES & STANDA

    Total calculated
    $211,583
    From this org
    $200,183
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $11,400
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $187,500
    Bonus
    $2,500
    Other
    $10,183
    Deferred
    $11,400
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0
    Filer's total
    $211,583
  • Fanella David

    SENIOR DIRECTOR OF ENGINEE

    Total calculated
    $195,669
    From this org
    $155,157
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $40,512
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $152,657
    Bonus
    $2,500
    Other
    $0
    Deferred
    $10,350
    Nontaxable benefits
    $30,162
    Filer's total
    $195,669
  • Chiappone Mike

    CONTROLLER

    Total calculated
    $173,494
    From this org
    $151,800
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $21,694
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $146,800
    Bonus
    $5,000
    Other
    $0
    Deferred
    $9,180
    Nontaxable benefits
    $12,514
    Filer's total
    $173,494
  • Kinchler Robert

    REGION MANAGER

    Total calculated
    $156,463
    From this org
    $148,183
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $8,280
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $137,000
    Bonus
    $1,000
    Other
    $10,183
    Deferred
    $8,280
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0
    Filer's total
    $156,463

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

  • 2 · Substantiation required before reimbursing expenses
  • 3 · Written employment contract
  • 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

No itemized grants to organizations on this return.

Related organizations on this return

Schedule R Part II: tax-exempt organizations related to the filer by control. It does not record shared board members or money.

  • CRSI EDUCATION AND RESEARCH FOUNDATION

    501(C)(3) · TO FUND, FURNISH AND ADMINISTER SCHOLARSHIPS AND RESEARCH GRANTS · IL

  • CONCRETE REINFORCING INSTITUTE POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE

    527 · SUPPORT POLITICAL CANDIDATES WHO SUPPORT CONCRETE REINFORCING STEEL INDUSTRY · IL · controlled entity

    Directly controlled by CONCRETE REINFORCING STEEL INSTITUTE

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2022
Filed
18 October 2023
IRS schema version
2022v5.0
Source object
202303149349303200

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.