Form 990 for tax year 2022
Filed by KAUAI ISLAND UTILITY COOPERATIVE.
Totals
- Total revenue
- $175,641,835
- Total expenses
- $175,641,835
- Contributions and grants received
- $0
- Grants paid
- $88,334
- Program service revenue
- $174,807,926
- Investment income
- $1,508,770
- Other revenue
- -$674,861
- Total assets, end of year
- $423,743,821
- Total liabilities, end of year
- $288,966,994
- Net assets or fund balances, end of year
- $134,776,827
- Program services expenses (Part IX)
- not reported
- Management and general expenses
- not reported
- Fundraising expenses
- not reported
- Program service expenses (Part III)
- not reported
Line items
Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.
Revenue
Part VIII, the statement of revenue.
-
2a · Program service revenue: COMMERCIAL/INDUSTRIAL
total $98,190,497 · related or exempt $98,190,497
-
2b · Program service revenue: RESIDENTIAL
total $75,465,976 · related or exempt $75,465,976
-
2c · Program service revenue: IRRIGATION
total $718,357 · related or exempt $718,357
-
2d · Program service revenue: STREET LIGHTING
total $692,840 · related or exempt $692,840
-
2e · Program service revenue: SERVICE FEES & OTHER
total -$259,744 · related or exempt -$259,744
-
3 · Investment income
total $1,508,770 · excluded $1,508,770
-
6a · Gross rents
real property $98,576
-
6b · Less rental expenses
real property $32,810
-
6c · Rental income or loss
real property $65,766
-
6d · Net rental income or loss
total $65,766 · unrelated business $65,766
-
11a · Other revenue: PATRONAGE ALLOCATIONS
total $196,261 · related or exempt $196,261
-
11b · Other revenue: NONOPERATING
total $3,816 · related or exempt $3,816
-
11c · Other revenue: NET LOSS FROM SUBS
total -$940,704 · related or exempt -$940,704
-
11e · Other revenue, total
-$740,627
Functional expenses
Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.
-
1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments
total $88,334
-
4 · Benefits paid to or for members
total $3,172,759
-
5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees
total $2,742,063
-
11d · Fees: lobbying
total $114,665
-
20 · Interest
total $6,780,697
-
22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization
total $15,662,092
-
24a · Other expenses: POWER COST
total $103,918,936
-
24b · Other expenses: UNRELATED BUSINESS TAX
total $14,154
-
24c · Other expenses: ADMINISTRATIVE
total $18,778,422
-
24d · Other expenses: OTHER TAXES
total $14,704,580
-
24e · All other expenses
total $9,665,133
Balance sheet
Part X, book values.
-
1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing
beginning of year $22,533,909 · end of year $44,402,512
-
4 · Accounts receivable
beginning of year $11,612,390 · end of year $12,573,543
-
8 · Inventories for sale or use
beginning of year $19,059,947 · end of year $22,484,856
-
9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges
beginning of year $2,670,907 · end of year $1,309,242
-
10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis
$608,360,062
-
10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation
$335,406,265
-
10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net
beginning of year $263,461,671 · end of year $272,953,797
-
12 · Investments: other securities
beginning of year $33,496,087 · end of year $27,107,244
-
15 · Other assets
beginning of year $42,509,446 · end of year $42,912,627
-
17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses
beginning of year $19,695,126 · end of year $19,362,392
-
23 · Secured mortgages and notes payable
beginning of year $227,105,703 · end of year $242,842,267
-
25 · Other liabilities
beginning of year $14,799,398 · end of year $26,762,335
-
29 · Capital stock, trust principal or current funds
beginning of year $583 · end of year $598
-
30 · Paid-in or capital surplus, or land, building or equipment fund
beginning of year $0 · end of year $0
-
31 · Retained earnings, endowment or other funds
beginning of year $133,743,547 · end of year $134,776,229
Mission and programs · 2022
Mission
SEE SCHEDULE OTO PROVIDE RELIABLE POWER SAFELY THAT IS FAIRLY AND COMPETITIVELY PRICED, PRACTICE CONSERVATION AND EFFICIENT USE OF ENERGY RESOURCES AND INCREASE SUSTAINABLE POWER SUPPLY AND ENVIRONMENTAL STEWARDSHIP WHILE IMPROVING THE QUALITY OF LIFE FOR MEMBERS AND KAUA'I.
Activities or mission (Part I)
PROVIDE POWER TO OUR MEMBERS IN A CONSERVATIVE AND SUSTAINABLE MANNER.
-
GENERATED, TRANSMITTED AND DISTRIBUTED ELECTRICITY TO APPROXIMATELY 38,898 ACTIVE SERVICES AT YEAR END ON THE ISLAND OF KAUAI.
As filed on the 2022 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.
Listed in Part VII
-
ALLAN SMITH
CHAIRMAN
- Total calculated
- $18,867
- From this org
- $18,867
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 15
-
CALVIN MURASHIGE
SECRETARY
- Total calculated
- $14,135
- From this org
- $14,135
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 9
-
DAVID IHA
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $11,149
- From this org
- $11,149
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 5 + 5 related
-
DEE CROWELL
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $14,865
- From this org
- $14,865
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 12 + 12 related
-
JAN TENBRUGGENCATE
VICE CHAIR
- Total calculated
- $14,107
- From this org
- $14,107
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 10 + 1 related
-
JANET KASS
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $11,870
- From this org
- $11,870
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 6.6
-
JIM MAYFIELD
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $16,104
- From this org
- $16,104
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 6
-
PETER YUKIMURA
TREASURER
- Total calculated
- $20,079
- From this org
- $20,079
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 15
-
TEOFILO TACBIAN
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $18,082
- From this org
- $18,082
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 20 + 1 related
-
DAVID BISSELL
CEO
- Total calculated
- $985,138
- From this org
- $850,542
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $134,596
- Hours/week
- 60
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $576,927
- Bonus
- $100,000
- Other
- $173,615
- Deferred
- $113,235
- Nontaxable benefits
- $21,361
- Filer's total
- $985,138
-
KARISSA JONAS
FINANCIAL VP & CFO
- Total calculated
- $306,416
- From this org
- $202,505
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $103,911
- Hours/week
- 50
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $201,545
- Bonus
- $0
- Other
- $960
- Deferred
- $85,422
- Nontaxable benefits
- $18,489
- Filer's total
- $306,416
-
STACIE DELLAMANO
FINANCIAL VP & CFO
- Total calculated
- $164,446
- From this org
- $135,568
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $28,878
- Hours/week
- 55
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $85,326
- Bonus
- $50,000
- Other
- $242
- Deferred
- $20,661
- Nontaxable benefits
- $8,217
- Filer's total
- $164,446
-
BETH AMARO
MEMBER SERVICES & COMMUNICATIONS
- Total calculated
- $282,862
- From this org
- $205,788
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $77,074
- Hours/week
- 50
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $171,294
- Bonus
- $32,567
- Other
- $1,927
- Deferred
- $57,367
- Nontaxable benefits
- $19,707
- Filer's total
- $282,862
-
BRAD ROCKWELL
CHIEF OF OPERATIONS
- Total calculated
- $408,921
- From this org
- $286,406
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $122,515
- Hours/week
- 60
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $237,879
- Bonus
- $46,974
- Other
- $1,553
- Deferred
- $97,921
- Nontaxable benefits
- $24,594
- Filer's total
- $408,921
-
CAMERON KRUSE
ENGINEERING MANAGER
- Total calculated
- $245,381
- From this org
- $185,240
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $60,141
- Hours/week
- 55
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $153,696
- Bonus
- $30,591
- Other
- $953
- Deferred
- $39,125
- Nontaxable benefits
- $21,016
- Filer's total
- $245,381
-
JOHN COX
T&D MANAGER
- Total calculated
- $295,824
- From this org
- $203,366
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $92,458
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $168,890
- Bonus
- $32,630
- Other
- $1,846
- Deferred
- $67,806
- Nontaxable benefits
- $24,652
- Filer's total
- $295,824
-
ELIZABETH UBAY
HR & SAFETY MANAGER
- Total calculated
- $292,180
- From this org
- $221,742
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $70,438
- Hours/week
- 46
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $183,635
- Bonus
- $36,793
- Other
- $1,314
- Deferred
- $66,153
- Nontaxable benefits
- $4,285
- Filer's total
- $292,180
-
PATRICK MALAMA
PRIMARY TROUBLEPERSON
- Total calculated
- $269,405
- From this org
- $189,987
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $79,418
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $188,212
- Bonus
- $0
- Other
- $1,775
- Deferred
- $68,492
- Nontaxable benefits
- $10,926
- Filer's total
- $269,405
-
RICHARD VETTER
PORT ALLEN STATION MANAGER
- Total calculated
- $288,936
- From this org
- $198,869
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $90,067
- Hours/week
- 48
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $171,068
- Bonus
- $25,817
- Other
- $1,984
- Deferred
- $65,415
- Nontaxable benefits
- $24,652
- Filer's total
- $288,936
-
TIMOTHY BRANTNER
PRIMARY TROUBLEPERSON
- Total calculated
- $237,591
- From this org
- $186,425
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $51,166
- Hours/week
- 55
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $186,196
- Bonus
- $0
- Other
- $229
- Deferred
- $25,572
- Nontaxable benefits
- $25,594
- Filer's total
- $237,591
-
TOM YAMAMOTO
PRIMARY TROUBLEPERSON
- Total calculated
- $268,363
- From this org
- $195,320
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $73,043
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $193,942
- Bonus
- $0
- Other
- $1,378
- Deferred
- $48,449
- Nontaxable benefits
- $24,594
- Filer's total
- $268,363
Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.
Schedule J
Answered yes
- 3 · Compensation committee
- 3 · Independent compensation consultant
- 3 · Compensation survey or study
- 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee
- 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
Answered no
- 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
- 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
The filer's explanations (Part III)
- PART I, LINE 4B
- KIUC ADOPTED A SUPPLEMENTAL EXECUTIVE BENEFIT RESTORATION ("EBR") PLAN, EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2015. THE EBR PLAN IS A NON-QUALIFIED PLAN MAINTAINED BY KIUC. BENEFITS UNDER THE EBR PLAN ARE BASED ON THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN AMOUNTS WITHOUT INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE (IRS) QUALIFIED PENSION PLAN LIMITS ON COMPENSATION AND BENEFITS AND THOSE WITH SUCH LIMITS AS DETERMINED UNDER THE PROVISION OF THE NRECA RS PLAN. THERE IS A RISK OF FORFEITURE IF PARTICIPANTS LEAVE THE COMPANY PRIOR TO BECOMING FULLY VESTED IN THE EBR PLAN. EBR PAYMENTS FOR DAVID BISSELL: $143,670
- PART II, COLUMN C:
- INCLUDED IN COLUMN C IS THE CHANGE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE FOR THE DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN RATHER THAN THE ACTUAL EXPENSE OF THE COOPERATIVE FOR THIS PLAN, AS FOLLOWS: DAVID BISSELL: REPORTED CHANGE - $102,865 ACTUAL EXPENSE - $81,618 STACIE DELLAMANO REPORTED CHANGE - $17,200 ACTUAL EXPENSE - $16,725 KARISSA JONAS: REPORTED CHANGE - $77,615 ACTUAL EXPENSE - $55,005 BRAD ROCKWELL: REPORTED CHANGE - $88,261 ACTUAL EXPENSE - $62,792 JOHN COX: REPORTED CHANGE - $60,904 ACTUAL EXPENSE - $43,618 BETH AMARO REPORTED CHANGE - $50,409 ACTUAL EXPENSE - $43,534 CAMERON KRUSE REPORTED CHANGE - $32,852 ACTUAL EXPENSE - $40,631 ELIZABETH UBAY REPORTED CHANGE - $58,684 ACTUAL EXPENSE - $48,551 RICHARD VETTER REPORTED CHANGE - $58,427 ACTUAL EXPENSE - $45,423 TOM YAMAMOTO: REPORTED CHANGE - $40,547 ACTUAL EXPENSE - $25,880 PATRICK MALAMA: REPORTED CHANGE - $60,827 ACTUAL EXPENSE - $52,918 TIMOTHY BRANTNER: REPORTED CHANGE - $17,939 ACTUAL EXPENSE - $25,880
Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.
Grants on this return
-
$55,538
CHARITABLE GIVING
Related organizations on this return
Schedule R Part II: tax-exempt organizations related to the filer by control. It does not record shared board members or money.
-
501(C)(3) · FOUNDATION · HI · controlled entity
Directly controlled by KAUAI ISLAND UTILITY COOPERATIVE
Taxable family on this return
Schedule R Parts I, III and IV, as filed. These record ownership and control, not shared board members or money moved.
Related partnerships
Part III: related organizations taxable as a partnership, with the filer's share.
-
KIUC RENEWABLE SOLUTIONS TWO LLC
N/A · SOLAR POWER GENERATION · DE
Related corporations and trusts
Part IV: related organizations taxable as a corporation or trust.
-
KIUC RENEWABLE SOLUTIONS ONE LLC
C · SOLAR POWER GENERATION · DE · 100% owned · share of income $1,367,639 · share of assets $30,500,989 · controlled entity
Directly controlled by KAUAI ISLAND UTILITY COOPERATIVE
-
KIUC RENEWABLE SOLUTIONS TWO HOLDINGS LLC
C · HOLDING COMPANY FOR SOLAR POWER GENERATION · DE · 100% owned · share of income $1,286,844 · share of assets -$1,484,311 · controlled entity
Directly controlled by KAUAI ISLAND UTILITY COOPERATIVE
Provenance
- Return type
- form_990
- Tax year
- 2022
- Filed
- 1 September 2023
- IRS schema version
- 2022v5.0
- Source object
- 202312449349300436
Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.
The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.