Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← JEWISH FEDERATION OF SOUTHERN ILLINOIS

Form 990 for tax year 2023

Filed by JEWISH FEDERATION OF SOUTHERN ILLINOIS.

Totals

Total revenue
$815,861
Total expenses
$907,955
Contributions and grants received
$439,038
Grants paid
$0
Program service revenue
$347,838
Investment income
$14,192
Other revenue
$14,793
Total assets, end of year
$748,396
Total liabilities, end of year
$141,950
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$606,446
Program services expenses (Part IX)
$700,651
Management and general expenses
$162,654
Fundraising expenses
$44,650
Program service expenses (Part III)
$700,651

Program services were 77.2% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants

    $439,038

  • 1g · Noncash contributions included above

    $100

  • 2a · Program service revenue: TUITION

    total $347,838 · related or exempt $347,838

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $4,016 · excluded $4,016

  • 7a · Gross sales of assets other than inventory

    securities $65,000

  • 7b · Less cost or other basis and sales expenses

    securities $54,824

  • 7c · Gain or loss

    securities $10,176

  • 7d · Net gain or loss

    total $10,176 · excluded $10,176

  • 11a · Other revenue: SUMMER 23 STAFF GRATUITY

    total $7,480 · related or exempt $7,480

  • 11b · Other revenue: SUMMER 2023 TRANSPORTATION

    total $6,140 · related or exempt $6,140

  • 11c · Other revenue: ALUMNI REUNION INCOME

    total $1,110 · related or exempt $1,110

  • 11d · All other revenue

    total $63 · related or exempt $63

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $14,793

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $160,858 · program services $144,566 · management and general $12,305 · fundraising $3,987

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $277,597 · program services $249,482 · management and general $21,235 · fundraising $6,880

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $20,554 · program services $18,182 · management and general $1,577 · fundraising $795

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $28,620 · program services $25,177 · management and general $2,613 · fundraising $830

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $32,266 · program services $7,684 · management and general $24,582

  • 11e · Fees: professional fundraising services

    total $30,800 · fundraising $30,800

  • 11f · Fees: investment management

    total $3,416 · management and general $3,416

  • 11g · Fees: other

    total $23,391 · program services $2,427 · management and general $20,964

  • 12 · Advertising and promotion

    total $17,470 · program services $14,034 · management and general $3,399 · fundraising $37

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $5,349 · program services $1,070 · management and general $4,153 · fundraising $126

  • 14 · Information technology

    total $8,660 · program services $1,733 · management and general $6,724 · fundraising $203

  • 16 · Occupancy

    total $7,631 · management and general $7,631

  • 17 · Travel

    total $6,387 · program services $6,387

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $21,089 · management and general $21,089

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $17,912 · program services $3,584 · management and general $13,908 · fundraising $420

  • 24a · Other expenses: CAMP COSTS

    total $221,342 · program services $221,342

  • 24b · Other expenses: MISCELLANEOUS EXPENSES

    total $18,820 · program services $3,766 · management and general $14,612 · fundraising $442

  • 24c · Other expenses: MEMBERSHIPS & SUBSCRIPTIO

    total $5,541 · program services $1,109 · management and general $4,302 · fundraising $130

  • 24d · Other expenses: CHARITABLE CONTRIBUTIONS

    total $252 · program services $108 · management and general $144

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $107,663 · end of year $169,669

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    beginning of year $1,000 · end of year $2

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    end of year $10,341

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    end of year $5,633

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $249,268

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $105,610

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $158,017 · end of year $143,658

  • 12 · Investments: other securities

    beginning of year $423,340 · end of year $419,093

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $7,780 · end of year $12,525

  • 19 · Deferred revenue

    end of year $129,425

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $396,841 · end of year $338,206

  • 28 · Net assets with donor restrictions

    beginning of year $285,399 · end of year $268,240

Mission and programs · 2023

Mission

TO FURTHER THE GENERAL WELFARE AND QUALITY OF LIFE OF THE JEWISH COMMUNITY, LOCALLY, IN ISRAEL, AND THROUGHOUT THE WORLD; TO RAISE AND DISBURSE FUNDS AND OTHERWISE PLAN FOR THE CHARITABLE, SOCIAL, CULTURAL, RELIGIOUS, AND EDUCATIONAL ADVANCEMENT OF THE JEWISH COMMUNITY, LOCALLY, IN ISRAEL, AND THROUGHOUT THE WORLD; AND TO FOSTER COOPERATION AMONG LOCAL JEWISH ORGANIZATIONS DEDICATED TO THESE PURPOSES.

  • CAMP BEN FRANKEL IS AN OVERNIGHT SUMMER CAMP THAT CREATES A WELCOMING AND INCLUSIVE JEWISH COMMUNITY FOR CAMPERS AND STAFF FROM AROUND THE WORLD. CAMP BEN FRANKEL WELCOMED 100 CAMPERS IN 2023 AND EMERGED FROM THE PANDEMIC WITH A NATIONAL REPUTATION FOR SAFETY (TOP-RATED AMONGST OVERNIGHT JEWISH SUMMER CAMPS) AND QUALITY PROGRAMMING. CAMP BEN FRANKEL IS ACCREDITED BY THE AMERICAN CAMP ASSOCIATION AND PARTNERS WITH THE FOUNDATION FOR JEWISH CAMP AND JCAMP 180.

    Expenses $685,215 · Revenue $347,838

  • SUPPORT THE JEWISH FEDERATION AND ASSISTANCE FOR THE JEWISH COMMUNITY.

    Expenses $15,436

As filed on the 2023 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.

Listed in Part VII

  • Aaron N Hadley

    EXECUTIVE DI

    Total calculated
    $178,408
    From this org
    $160,858
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $17,550
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $153,358
    Bonus
    $7,500
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    $17,550
    Filer's total
    $178,408
  • Bills Bruns

    PAST PRESIDE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.25
  • Phil Cohn

    PRESIDENT

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Naomi Gohn

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.25
  • Rich Goldenhersh

    VICE PRESIDE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.25
  • Stephanie Goldenhersh

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Todd Goldenhersh

    TREASUER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Leonard Gross

    PAST PRESIDE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Scott Kaufman

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.25
  • Gail Lipe

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Sara Faye Marten

    PAST PRESIDE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.25
  • Susan Pearlman

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Ronald Rubin

    PAST PRESIDE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.25
  • David Singer

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Jonathan Thursby

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.25
  • Vivian Ugent

    BOARAD MEMBE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Burton Zwick

    PAST PRESIDE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.25
  • Carol Zwick

    PAST PRESIDE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.25
  • Keren Zwick

    SECRETARY

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Malcom Zwick

    PAST PRESIDE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.25

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

  • 3 · Compensation committee
  • 3 · Written employment contract
  • 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
  • 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
  • 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
  • 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
  • 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
  • 7 · Other non-fixed payments
  • 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception

The filer's explanations (Part III)

SCHEDULE J, PAGE 1, PART I, LINE 3
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR RECEIVED AN OFFER LETTER AT THE TIME OF JOB ACCEPTANCE. THERE IS A COMMITTEE THAT IS A SUBSET OF THE BOARD WHICH IS PRIMARILY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE THAT DETERMINES THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S SALARY. THE COMMITTEE MAKES A RECOMMENDATION TO THE BOARD AND THE BOARD VOTES TO APPROVE THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S SALARY.

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

No itemized grants to organizations on this return.

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2023
Filed
12 November 2024
IRS schema version
2023v5.0
Source object
202423179349307982

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.