Form 990 for tax year 2024
Filed by COMMUNITY INDOOR TENNIS CENTER INC.
Totals
- Total revenue
- $1,306,498
- Total expenses
- $1,654,887
- Contributions and grants received
- $27,162
- Grants paid
- $0
- Program service revenue
- $1,172,678
- Investment income
- $5,865
- Other revenue
- $100,793
- Total assets, end of year
- $7,913,035
- Total liabilities, end of year
- $1,816,206
- Net assets or fund balances, end of year
- $6,096,829
- Program services expenses (Part IX)
- $1,470,640
- Management and general expenses
- $143,506
- Fundraising expenses
- $40,742
- Program service expenses (Part III)
- $1,470,640
Program services were 88.9% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.
Line items
Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.
Revenue
Part VIII, the statement of revenue.
-
1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants
$27,162
-
2a · Program service revenue: Court & Equipment Time
total $92,010 · related or exempt $92,010
-
2b · Program service revenue: Tennis Programs
total $693,788 · related or exempt $693,788
-
2c · Program service revenue: Tennis Tournaments.Events
total $386,880 · related or exempt $386,880
-
3 · Investment income
total $5,865 · related or exempt $5,865
-
4 · Income from investment of tax-exempt bond proceeds
total $0
-
5 · Royalties
total $0
-
6d · Net rental income or loss
total $0
-
7d · Net gain or loss
total $0
-
8c · Net income from fundraising events
total $0
-
9c · Net income from gaming
total $0
-
10a · Gross sales of inventory
$76,280
-
10b · Cost of goods sold
$31,115
-
10c · Net income from sales of inventory
total $45,165 · related or exempt $45,165
-
11a · Other revenue: Land Lease Agreement
total $25,434 · related or exempt $25,434
-
11b · Other revenue: Marketing Sales
total $28,310 · related or exempt $28,310
-
11c · Other revenue: Vending Machine Sales
total $1,884 · related or exempt $1,884
-
11e · Other revenue, total
$55,628
Functional expenses
Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.
-
1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments
total $0
-
2 · Grants to domestic individuals
total $0
-
3 · Grants to foreign organizations and individuals
total $0
-
4 · Benefits paid to or for members
total $0
-
5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees
total $149,847 · program services $74,924 · management and general $37,462 · fundraising $37,462
-
6 · Compensation of disqualified persons
total $0
-
7 · Other salaries and wages
total $387,126 · program services $317,056 · management and general $69,591 · fundraising $479
-
8 · Pension plan contributions
total $0
-
9 · Other employee benefits
total $0
-
10 · Payroll taxes
total $39,649 · program services $28,943 · management and general $7,905 · fundraising $2,801
-
11a · Fees: management
total $0
-
11b · Fees: legal
total $0
-
11c · Fees: accounting
total $9,668 · management and general $9,668
-
11d · Fees: lobbying
total $0
-
11e · Fees: professional fundraising services
total $0
-
11f · Fees: investment management
total $0
-
11g · Fees: other
total $22,048 · program services $22,048
-
12 · Advertising and promotion
total $8,017 · program services $8,017
-
13 · Office expenses
total $7,994 · management and general $7,994
-
14 · Information technology
total $16,108 · program services $8,054 · management and general $8,054
-
15 · Royalties
total $0
-
16 · Occupancy
total $81,915 · program services $81,915
-
17 · Travel
total $249 · management and general $249
-
18 · Travel or entertainment for public officials
total $0
-
19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings
total $0
-
20 · Interest
total $115,143 · program services $115,143
-
21 · Payments to affiliates
total $0
-
22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization
total $392,583 · program services $390,000 · management and general $2,583
-
23 · Insurance
total $24,351 · program services $24,351
-
24a · Other expenses: Tournament Expenses
total $230,626 · program services $230,626
-
24b · Other expenses: Land Lease Agreement
total $57,628 · program services $57,628
-
24c · Other expenses: Bad Debts
total $40,650 · program services $40,650
-
24d · Other expenses: Tennis Equipment
total $36,177 · program services $36,177
-
24e · All other expenses
total $35,108 · program services $35,108
Balance sheet
Part X, book values.
-
1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing
beginning of year $168,241 · end of year $132,431
-
2 · Savings and temporary cash investments
beginning of year $211,694 · end of year $145,731
-
3 · Pledges and grants receivable
beginning of year $775,516 · end of year $292,317
-
4 · Accounts receivable
beginning of year $23,693 · end of year $35,166
-
5 · Loans and receivables from officers and key people
end of year $0
-
6 · Loans and receivables from disqualified persons
end of year $0
-
7 · Other notes and loans receivable
end of year $0
-
8 · Inventories for sale or use
beginning of year $19,500 · end of year $14,985
-
9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges
beginning of year $831 · end of year $4,920
-
10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis
$8,192,311
-
10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation
$1,700,735
-
10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net
beginning of year $6,616,511 · end of year $6,491,576
-
11 · Investments: publicly traded securities
end of year $0
-
12 · Investments: other securities
end of year $0
-
13 · Investments: program-related
end of year $0
-
14 · Intangible assets
end of year $0
-
15 · Other assets
beginning of year $828,103 · end of year $795,909
-
17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses
beginning of year $66,281 · end of year $57,321
-
19 · Deferred revenue
beginning of year $75,103 · end of year $70,025
-
23 · Secured mortgages and notes payable
beginning of year $2,057,486 · end of year $1,688,860
-
27 · Net assets without donor restrictions
beginning of year $5,617,116 · end of year $5,300,921
-
28 · Net assets with donor restrictions
beginning of year $828,103 · end of year $795,908
Mission and programs · 2024
Mission
CITC's mission is to create a facility for the Sioux Falls community & surrounding areas that will support all tennis opportunities, whether competitive, recreational or educational for all players.
-
Tennis Activities: CITC offers private lessons by USTA certified tennis professionals, group activities led by such pros and tennis court rentals for use by the general public.
Expenses $1,413,012 · Revenue $1,172,678
-
Land Lease: CITC leases the land upon which the building has been constructed for a nominal amount annually.
Expenses $57,628 · Revenue $25,434
As filed on the 2024 return.
Listed in Part VII
-
Mark Vellek
Executive Director
- Total calculated
- $152,247
- From this org
- $152,247
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 50
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $84,939
- Bonus
- $64,908
- Other
- $2,400
- Deferred
- not reported
- Nontaxable benefits
- not reported
- Filer's total
- $152,247
-
Cindy Huether
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Tom McDowell
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Bethany Mckenzie
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Katrin Profilet
Vice President
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Mike Rallis
Chairman
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Jason Woidyla
Treasurer
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Kate Barnes
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
David Seruyange
Secretary
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Hannah Gebauer
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Bobbi Thury
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
David Seruyange
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Brock Anshutz
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Steph Fischer
Director
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.
Schedule J
Answered yes
- 3 · Form 990 of other organizations
- 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee
Answered no
- 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
- 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
- 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
- 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
- 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
- 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
- 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
- 7 · Other non-fixed payments
- 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception
Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.
Grants on this return
No itemized grants to organizations on this return.
Provenance
- Return type
- form_990
- Tax year
- 2024
- Filed
- 18 November 2025
- IRS schema version
- 2024v5.2
- Source object
- 202523229349302572
Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.
The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.