Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← CARMEL SWIM CLUB

Form 990 for tax year 2024

Filed by CARMEL SWIM CLUB.

Totals

Total revenue
$2,913,620
Total expenses
$3,074,096
Contributions and grants received
$176,258
Grants paid
$5,538
Program service revenue
$2,720,119
Investment income
$17,243
Other revenue
$0
Total assets, end of year
$4,644,293
Total liabilities, end of year
$3,312,895
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$1,331,398
Program services expenses (Part IX)
$2,497,456
Management and general expenses
$479,781
Fundraising expenses
$96,859
Program service expenses (Part III)
$2,497,456

Program services were 81.2% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants

    $176,258

  • 2a · Program service revenue: SWIM MEETS AND LESSONS

    total $1,580,253 · related or exempt $1,580,253

  • 2b · Program service revenue: MEMBERSHIP DUES

    total $1,119,739 · related or exempt $1,119,739

  • 2c · Program service revenue: MISCELLANEOUS

    total $20,127 · related or exempt $20,127

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $17,243 · excluded $17,243

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments

    total $200 · program services $200

  • 2 · Grants to domestic individuals

    total $5,338 · program services $5,338

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $267,284 · program services $213,827 · management and general $53,457

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $1,298,222 · program services $1,038,578 · management and general $204,851 · fundraising $54,793

  • 8 · Pension plan contributions

    total $36,006 · program services $28,805 · management and general $5,941 · fundraising $1,260

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $44,339 · program services $35,471 · management and general $8,868

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $107,697 · program services $86,158 · management and general $17,770 · fundraising $3,769

  • 11a · Fees: management

    total $31,000 · program services $31,000

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $18,339 · management and general $18,339

  • 11g · Fees: other

    total $7,264 · program services $7,264

  • 12 · Advertising and promotion

    total $97,816 · program services $78,253 · management and general $19,563

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $32,632 · program services $26,106 · management and general $6,526

  • 14 · Information technology

    total $61,864 · program services $18,559 · management and general $18,559 · fundraising $24,746

  • 16 · Occupancy

    total $273,571 · program services $191,500 · management and general $82,071

  • 17 · Travel

    total $18,173 · program services $18,173

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $85,346 · program services $63,800 · management and general $21,516 · fundraising $30

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $56,961 · program services $45,569 · management and general $11,392

  • 24a · Other expenses: POOL RENTAL

    total $193,223 · program services $193,223

  • 24b · Other expenses: MEET EXPENSES

    total $181,396 · program services $181,396

  • 24c · Other expenses: POOL SUPPLIES

    total $89,750 · program services $89,750

  • 24d · Other expenses: COACHES EXPENSES

    total $75,814 · program services $75,814

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total $91,861 · program services $68,672 · management and general $10,928 · fundraising $12,261

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $158,642 · end of year $204,668

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    beginning of year $193,352 · end of year $197,135

  • 3 · Pledges and grants receivable

    beginning of year $14,500 · end of year $7,500

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    beginning of year $63,402 · end of year $132,768

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    beginning of year $38,788 · end of year $55,064

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $2,331,696

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $330,310

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $2,079,487 · end of year $2,001,386

  • 11 · Investments: publicly traded securities

    beginning of year $425,088 · end of year $168,547

  • 15 · Other assets

    beginning of year $1,920,959 · end of year $1,877,225

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $89,139 · end of year $122,156

  • 23 · Secured mortgages and notes payable

    beginning of year $1,474,688 · end of year $1,395,956

  • 25 · Other liabilities

    beginning of year $1,838,517 · end of year $1,794,783

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $1,467,753 · end of year $1,331,398

  • 28 · Net assets with donor restrictions

    beginning of year $24,121

Mission and programs · 2024

Mission

TO PROMOTE AMATEUR SWIMMING AND PHYSICAL FITNESS

  • TEACH SWIM LESSONS, HOLD SWIM MEETS, AND OTHER VARIOUS ACTIVITIES THROUGHOUT THE YEAR TO PROMOTE AMATEUR SWIMMING. PROMOTE PHYSICAL FITNESS, MUSCLE DEVELOPMENT, AND COORDINATION IN YOUTH AND CHILDREN THRU STRENGTH AND CONDITIONING CLASSES. WE PROVIDE OPPORTUNITY AND INSTRUCTION FOR MEMBERS TO COMPETE IN NATIONAL AMATEUR SWIMMING COMPETITIONS. THE CLUB MANAGES THE AQUATICS CENTER FOR BENEFIT OF THE CARMEL COMMUNITY ON BEHALF OF CARMEL CLAY SCHOOLS. THE AQUATICS CENTER PROVIDES PROGRAMS AND ACTIVITIES TO MEET THE NEEDS OF ALL AGE GROUPS, INCLUDING SENIOR ADULTS. ON JULY 5, 2023 WE OPENED AND BEGAN MANAGING A NEW LEASED POOL FACILITY IN THE CARMEL COMMUNITY. THIS LARGER FACILITY ALLOWS US TO OFFER MORE PROGRAMS AND AVAILABILITY TO THE COMMUNITY.

    Expenses $2,497,456 · Grants $5,538 · Revenue $2,719,345

As filed on the 2024 return.

Listed in Part VII

  • BRIAN POWERS

    CHAIR / PRES

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    4
  • LAUREN ZALE

    VICE CHAIR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    4
  • KEVIN WARD

    TREASURER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    4
  • JIM INSKEEP

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • NICK SHACKELL

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • LIN PUGH

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • SAM ZHU

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • LONNIE JOHNSON

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • CHRISTOPHER PLUMB

    CEO / HEAD C

    Total calculated
    $259,929
    From this org
    $251,770
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $8,159
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $206,149
    Bonus
    $45,621
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    $8,159
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported
    Filer's total
    $259,929

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

  • 3 · Written employment contract
  • 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
  • 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
  • 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
  • 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
  • 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
  • 7 · Other non-fixed payments
  • 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

No itemized grants to organizations on this return.

Taxable family on this return

Schedule R Parts I, III and IV, as filed. These record ownership and control, not shared board members or money moved.

Disregarded entities

Part I: entities that legally are the filer and file no return of their own.

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2024
Filed
13 July 2026
IRS schema version
2024v5.0
Source object
202621959349301862

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.