Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← FAMILIES OF COLOR SEATTLE

Form 990 for tax year 2024

Filed by FAMILIES OF COLOR SEATTLE.

Totals

Total revenue
$1,159,360
Total expenses
$1,207,183
Contributions and grants received
$1,157,711
Grants paid
$5,800
Program service revenue
$1,000
Investment income
$649
Other revenue
$0
Total assets, end of year
$1,131,319
Total liabilities, end of year
$24,889
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$1,106,430
Program services expenses (Part IX)
$863,880
Management and general expenses
$195,594
Fundraising expenses
$147,709
Program service expenses (Part III)
$863,880

Program services were 71.6% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 1e · Government grants (contributions)

    $630,957

  • 1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants

    $526,754

  • 2a · Program service revenue: Consulting

    total $1,000 · related or exempt $1,000

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $649 · excluded $649

  • 8c · Net income from fundraising events

    total $0

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments

    total $5,800 · program services $5,800

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $163,721 · program services $133,917 · management and general $10,659 · fundraising $19,145

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $529,779 · program services $433,339 · management and general $34,490 · fundraising $61,950

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $125,715 · program services $102,830 · management and general $8,184 · fundraising $14,701

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $59,835 · program services $48,943 · management and general $3,895 · fundraising $6,997

  • 11b · Fees: legal

    total $764 · program services $286 · management and general $478

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $85,955 · program services $43,722 · management and general $42,233

  • 11g · Fees: other

    total $132,170 · program services $39,669 · management and general $50,429 · fundraising $42,072

  • 12 · Advertising and promotion

    total $1,419 · program services $131 · management and general $1,288

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $24,461 · program services $18,934 · management and general $4,190 · fundraising $1,337

  • 14 · Information technology

    total $17,600 · program services $5,673 · management and general $11,628 · fundraising $299

  • 16 · Occupancy

    total $12,915 · program services $4,785 · management and general $7,880 · fundraising $250

  • 17 · Travel

    total $32,487 · program services $21,975 · management and general $10,338 · fundraising $174

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $4,319 · management and general $4,319

  • 24a · Other expenses: Staff Development

    total $4,124 · program services $2,216 · management and general $1,253 · fundraising $655

  • 24b · Other expenses: Fees

    total $2,087 · program services $696 · management and general $1,262 · fundraising $129

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total $4,032 · program services $964 · management and general $3,068

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $662,309 · end of year $318,915

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    beginning of year $400,000 · end of year $650,000

  • 3 · Pledges and grants receivable

    beginning of year $86,838 · end of year $162,404

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $4,233 · end of year $5,973

  • 25 · Other liabilities

    end of year $18,916

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $1,144,914 · end of year $1,106,430

Mission and programs · 2024

Mission

Families of Color Seattle (FOCS) connects families, caregivers, and children of color through peer-led parent groups, cultural resource sharing and racial justice education and advocacy.

  • Parent Groups - In 2024 Familes of Color Seattle (FOCS) facilitated 21 parent groups, which served 250 families. We also shifted to in-person parent groups and had 9 new parent group facilitators join FOCS. Funded by City of Seattle HSD, BSK PCIS, DEEL and Public Health-Seattle & King County grants. Continued in Schedule O.

    Expenses $863,880 · Grants $5,800 · Revenue $1,000

As filed on the 2024 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.

Listed in Part VII

  • Annemary Tang

    Executive Director

    Total calculated
    $163,721
    From this org
    $163,721
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $163,721
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported
    Filer's total
    $163,721
  • Demetria Adams

    Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Bob Agiro

    Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Angelica Primavera

    Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Noemi Garcia-Nwokoye

    Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Brittany Merritt

    Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Laura Perez Hamilton

    Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Payton Richardson

    Vice President

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Latima Charbonneau

    President

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • KhanhDung Nguyen

    Secretary

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Paige Speir

    Treasurer

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Kendra Aguilar

    Board Member

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

  • 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
  • 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
  • 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
  • 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
  • 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
  • 7 · Other non-fixed payments
  • 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2024
Filed
16 July 2025
IRS schema version
2024v5.1
Source object
202531979349301863

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.