Totals
- Total revenue
- $16,327,136
- Total expenses
- $16,327,136
- Contributions and grants received
- $0
- Grants paid
- $0
- Program service revenue
- $16,660,511
- Investment income
- -$323,491
- Other revenue
- -$9,884
- Total assets, end of year
- $42,577,530
- Total liabilities, end of year
- $25,482,221
- Net assets or fund balances, end of year
- $17,095,309
- Program services expenses (Part IX)
- not reported
- Management and general expenses
- not reported
- Fundraising expenses
- not reported
- Program service expenses (Part III)
- not reported
Line items
Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.
Revenue
Part VIII, the statement of revenue.
-
2a · Program service revenue: SALE OF POWER
total $15,808,830 · related or exempt $15,808,830
-
2b · Program service revenue: CAPITAL CREDITS
total $642,222 · related or exempt $642,222
-
2c · Program service revenue: OTHER OPERATING
total $83,109 · related or exempt $83,109
-
2d · Program service revenue: EQUITY INVESTMENTS
total $56,761 · unrelated business $69,974 · excluded -$13,213
-
2f · All other program service revenue
total $69,589 · related or exempt $69,589
-
3 · Investment income
total $23,409 · excluded $23,409
-
6a · Gross rents
personal property $2,652
-
6b · Less rental expenses
personal property $0
-
6c · Rental income or loss
personal property $2,652
-
6d · Net rental income or loss
total $2,652 · related or exempt $2,652
-
7a · Gross sales of assets other than inventory
other assets $493,550
-
7b · Less cost or other basis and sales expenses
other assets $840,450
-
7c · Gain or loss
other assets -$346,900
-
7d · Net gain or loss
total -$346,900 · excluded -$346,900
-
10a · Gross sales of inventory
$170,898
-
10b · Cost of goods sold
$183,434
-
10c · Net income from sales of inventory
total -$12,536 · unrelated business $1,409 · excluded -$13,945
Functional expenses
Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.
-
4 · Benefits paid to or for members
total $1,496,219
-
5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees
total $474,677
-
7 · Other salaries and wages
total $1,375,082
-
8 · Pension plan contributions
total $425,143
-
10 · Payroll taxes
total $118,817
-
20 · Interest
total $607,552
-
22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization
total $1,446,014
-
24a · Other expenses: COST OF POWER
total $9,563,969
-
24b · Other expenses: DISTRIBUTION - OPERATIO
total $879,042
-
24c · Other expenses: DISTRIBUTION - MAINTENA
total $846,548
-
24d · Other expenses: CUSTOMER ACCOUNTS
total $307,850
-
24e · All other expenses
total -$1,213,777
Balance sheet
Part X, book values.
-
2 · Savings and temporary cash investments
beginning of year $4,165,659 · end of year $3,349,961
-
4 · Accounts receivable
beginning of year $2,247,622 · end of year $2,538,410
-
8 · Inventories for sale or use
beginning of year $1,070,195 · end of year $895,768
-
9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges
beginning of year $255,521 · end of year $195,656
-
10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis
$46,664,092
-
10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation
$17,180,500
-
10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net
beginning of year $29,649,033 · end of year $29,483,592
-
12 · Investments: other securities
beginning of year $207,866 · end of year $264,626
-
13 · Investments: program-related
beginning of year $5,474,850 · end of year $5,845,051
-
15 · Other assets
beginning of year $3,992 · end of year $4,466
-
17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses
beginning of year $2,335,684 · end of year $1,935,329
-
23 · Secured mortgages and notes payable
beginning of year $23,917,517 · end of year $23,096,472
-
25 · Other liabilities
beginning of year $239,938 · end of year $450,420
-
29 · Capital stock, trust principal or current funds
beginning of year $0 · end of year $0
-
30 · Paid-in or capital surplus, or land, building or equipment fund
beginning of year $0 · end of year $0
-
31 · Retained earnings, endowment or other funds
beginning of year $16,581,599 · end of year $17,095,309
Mission and programs · 2022
Mission
PROVIDE RELIABLE, EFFICIENT DELIVERY OF ELECTRICITY AND OTHER SERVICES TO OUR MEMBER OWNERS WITH THE HIGHEST LEVEL OF CUSTOMER SERVICE.
Activities or mission (Part I)
PROVIDING ELECTRICITY TO RURAL COMMUNITIES.
-
PROVIDED ELECTRIC SERVICE TO APPROXIMATELY 3,661 MEMBERS ALONG 1,335 MILES OF LINE.
As filed on the 2022 return.
Listed in Part VII
-
Richard NelsonRICHARD NELSON
PRESIDENT
- Total calculated
- $14,350
- From this org
- $14,350
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 5
-
Daniel TauerDANIEL TAUER
VICE PRESIDENT
- Total calculated
- $14,450
- From this org
- $14,450
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Michael Baune SecretaryMICHAEL BAUNE SECRETARY
TREASURER/DIRECTOR (BEG 04/2022)
- Total calculated
- $15,477
- From this org
- $15,477
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 4
-
Jill Weber Vanderwal DirectorJILL WEBER VANDERWAL DIRECTOR
/SECRETARY/TREASURER (BEG 04/2022)
- Total calculated
- $13,750
- From this org
- $13,750
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Dean FultzDEAN FULTZ
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $14,250
- From this org
- $14,250
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Emily EvansEMILY EVANS
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $13,750
- From this org
- $13,750
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
George TurbesGEORGE TURBES
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $13,950
- From this org
- $13,950
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Ronald L HormanRONALD L HORMAN
GENERAL MANAGER
- Total calculated
- $186,323
- From this org
- $114,120
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $72,203
- Hours/week
- 20
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $110,332
- Bonus
- $300
- Other
- $3,488
- Deferred
- $54,753
- Nontaxable benefits
- $19,836
- Filer's total
- $188,709
-
Hope LangHOPE LANG
MANAGER OF FINANCE & ADMINISTRATION
- Total calculated
- $200,881
- From this org
- $121,487
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $79,394
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $120,022
- Bonus
- $900
- Other
- $565
- Deferred
- $44,546
- Nontaxable benefits
- $37,398
- Filer's total
- $203,431
-
Chad NelsenCHAD NELSEN
OPERATIONS MANAGER
- Total calculated
- $197,409
- From this org
- $121,762
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $75,647
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $119,990
- Bonus
- $600
- Other
- $1,172
- Deferred
- $40,768
- Nontaxable benefits
- $37,429
- Filer's total
- $199,959
-
Clark GardnerCLARK GARDNER
SENIOR FOREMAN
- Total calculated
- $207,733
- From this org
- $109,746
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $97,987
- Hours/week
- 42
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $109,014
- Bonus
- $350
- Other
- $382
- Deferred
- $63,620
- Nontaxable benefits
- $36,335
- Filer's total
- $209,701
-
Matthew GrunewaldMATTHEW GRUNEWALD
FOREMAN
- Total calculated
- $176,914
- From this org
- $106,631
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $70,283
- Hours/week
- 43
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $104,774
- Bonus
- $350
- Other
- $1,507
- Deferred
- $34,142
- Nontaxable benefits
- $37,998
- Filer's total
- $178,771
-
Donald DietzDONALD DIETZ
SENIOR FOREMAN
- Total calculated
- $180,252
- From this org
- $104,933
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $75,319
- Hours/week
- 42
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $103,541
- Bonus
- $350
- Other
- $1,042
- Deferred
- $44,754
- Nontaxable benefits
- $32,533
- Filer's total
- $182,220
-
Martin BergMARTIN BERG
FOREMAN
- Total calculated
- $177,814
- From this org
- $102,588
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $75,226
- Hours/week
- 42
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $101,446
- Bonus
- $350
- Other
- $792
- Deferred
- $39,862
- Nontaxable benefits
- $37,221
- Filer's total
- $179,671
Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.
Schedule J
Answered yes
- 1a · Travel for companions
- 1b · Written policy on the line-1a expenses
- 2 · Substantiation required before reimbursing expenses
- 3 · Compensation committee
- 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee
Answered no
- 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
- 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
- 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
The filer's explanations (Part III)
- PART I, LINE 1A
- SPOUSE TRAVEL FOR THE NRECA ANNUAL MEETING IS PAID FOR BY THE COOPERATIVE FOR DESIGNATED DIRECTORS, MANAGEMENT OR EMPLOYEES AND THIS BENEFIT IS INCLUDED AS TAXABLE INCOME. ALSO, THE COOPERATIVE WILL PAY THE AIRFARE OF THE GENERAL MANAGER'S SPOUSE TO CO-OP RELATED MEETINGS. THIS BENEFIT IS INCLUDED AS TAXABLE INCOME ON THE MANAGER'S W-2.
- SCHEDULE J, PART II COLUMN C
- INCLUDED IN COLUMN C IS THE CHANGE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE OF THE DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN FOR EACH PARTICIPANT RATHER THAN THE ACTUAL CONTRIBUTION PAID TO THE PLAN. THE CHANGE IN ACTUARIAL VALUE IN THE DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN ARE AS FOLLOWS: - RONALD HORMAN $49,155 - HOPE LANG $38,383 - CHAD NELSEN $34,605 - MARTIN BERG $35,376 - CLARK GARDNER $58,865 - MATTHEW GRUNEWALD $29,655 - DONALD DIETZ $39,998 THE ACTUAL EXPENSE OF THE COOPERATIVE FOR DEFINED BENEFIT PLAN ARE AS FOLLOWS: - RONALD HORMAN $33,910 - HOPE LANG $36,186 - CHAD NELSEN $36,186 - MARTIN BERG $24,006 - CLARK GARDNER $25,447 - MATTHEW GRUNEWALD $24,006 - DONALD DIETZ $25,447
Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.
Grants on this return
No itemized grants to organizations on this return.
Related organizations on this return
Schedule R Part II: tax-exempt organizations related to the filer by control. It does not record shared board members or money.
-
REDWOOD ELECTRIC TRUST
501(C)(3) · CHARITABLE · MN · controlled entity
Directly controlled by REDWOOD ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE
Provenance
- Return type
- form_990
- Tax year
- 2022
- Filed
- 24 October 2023
- IRS schema version
- 2022v5.0
- Source object
- 202343039349300424
Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.
The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.