Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← THE BROADWAY LEAGUE FOUNDATION INC

Form 990 for tax year 2022

Filed by THE BROADWAY LEAGUE FOUNDATION INC.

Totals

Total revenue
$1,770,156
Total expenses
$1,581,068
Contributions and grants received
$475,547
Grants paid
$94,500
Program service revenue
$1,281,567
Investment income
$13,042
Other revenue
$0
Total assets, end of year
$1,006,011
Total liabilities, end of year
$49,691
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$956,320
Program services expenses (Part IX)
$1,570,572
Management and general expenses
$10,496
Fundraising expenses
$0
Program service expenses (Part III)
$1,570,572

Program services were 99.3% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 1f · All other contributions, gifts and grants

    $475,547

  • 1g · Noncash contributions included above

    $40,437

  • 2a · Program service revenue: THEATRE AWARDS EVENT

    total $1,281,567 · related or exempt $1,281,567

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $13,042 · excluded $13,042

  • 4 · Income from investment of tax-exempt bond proceeds

    total $0

  • 5 · Royalties

    total $0

  • 6c · Rental income or loss

    real property $0 · personal property $0

  • 6d · Net rental income or loss

    total $0

  • 7d · Net gain or loss

    total $0

  • 8a · Fundraising events: gross income

    $0

  • 8b · Fundraising events: direct expenses

    $0

  • 8c · Net income from fundraising events

    total $0

  • 9a · Gaming: gross income

    $0

  • 9b · Gaming: direct expenses

    $0

  • 9c · Net income from gaming

    total $0

  • 10a · Gross sales of inventory

    $0

  • 10b · Cost of goods sold

    $0

  • 10c · Net income from sales of inventory

    total $0

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $0

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 1 · Grants to domestic organizations and governments

    total $2,500 · program services $2,500

  • 2 · Grants to domestic individuals

    total $92,000 · program services $92,000

  • 3 · Grants to foreign organizations and individuals

    total $0

  • 4 · Benefits paid to or for members

    total $0

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $0

  • 6 · Compensation of disqualified persons

    total $0

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $5,069 · program services $5,069

  • 8 · Pension plan contributions

    total $0

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $0

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $507 · program services $507

  • 11a · Fees: management

    total $153,400 · program services $153,400

  • 11b · Fees: legal

    total $371 · program services $371

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $10,000 · management and general $10,000

  • 11d · Fees: lobbying

    total $0

  • 11e · Fees: professional fundraising services

    total $0

  • 11f · Fees: investment management

    total $0

  • 11g · Fees: other

    total $4,925 · program services $4,800 · management and general $125

  • 12 · Advertising and promotion

    total $39,696 · program services $39,696

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $35,614 · program services $35,243 · management and general $371

  • 14 · Information technology

    total $3,599 · program services $3,599

  • 15 · Royalties

    total $0

  • 16 · Occupancy

    total $404,472 · program services $404,472

  • 17 · Travel

    total $64,784 · program services $64,784

  • 18 · Travel or entertainment for public officials

    total $0

  • 19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings

    total $128,897 · program services $128,897

  • 20 · Interest

    total $0

  • 21 · Payments to affiliates

    total $0

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $0

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $8,935 · program services $8,935

  • 24a · Other expenses: PRODUCTION COSTS

    total $275,114 · program services $275,114

  • 24b · Other expenses: PROGRAM MANAGEMENT

    total $98,600 · program services $98,600

  • 24c · Other expenses: BROADWAY TICKETS

    total $136,015 · program services $136,015

  • 24d · Other expenses: EQUIPMENT RENTAL

    total $79,659 · program services $79,659

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total $36,911 · program services $36,911

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $13,263 · end of year $33,157

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    beginning of year $860,215 · end of year $970,242

  • 3 · Pledges and grants receivable

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 4 · Accounts receivable

    beginning of year $10,000 · end of year $2,612

  • 5 · Loans and receivables from officers and key people

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 6 · Loans and receivables from disqualified persons

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 7 · Other notes and loans receivable

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 8 · Inventories for sale or use

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 9 · Prepaid expenses and deferred charges

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 11 · Investments: publicly traded securities

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 12 · Investments: other securities

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 13 · Investments: program-related

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 14 · Intangible assets

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 15 · Other assets

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 17 · Accounts payable and accrued expenses

    beginning of year $61,924 · end of year $49,691

  • 18 · Grants payable

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 19 · Deferred revenue

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 20 · Tax-exempt bond liabilities

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 21 · Escrow or custodial account liability

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 22 · Loans and payables to officers and key people

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 23 · Secured mortgages and notes payable

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 24 · Unsecured notes and loans payable

    beginning of year $0 · end of year $0

  • 25 · Other liabilities

    beginning of year $54,322 · end of year $0

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $620,104 · end of year $570,074

  • 28 · Net assets with donor restrictions

    beginning of year $147,128 · end of year $386,246

Mission and programs · 2022

Mission

The Broadway League Foundation Inc. (the "Organization") is a not-for-profit corporation and was formed to enlighten and increase the public's knowledge, appreciation and awareness of the theatrical arts and to provide a forum for the discussion of issues relating to the preservation and promotion of live theatre as a vital and culturally significant artistic medium by such means as shall be charitable in nature. Since 1993, the Organization has supported a number of projects to help preserve Broadway's heritage and expose new audiences to Broadway theatre. The Organization is the charitable arm of The Broadway League Inc., the national trade association for the Broadway industry.

Activities or mission (Part I)

TO INCREASE AND PROMOTE PROFESSIONAL THEATRE.

  • THE NATIONAL HIGH SCHOOL MUSICAL THEATER AWARDS ("JIMMY'S"), AN ANNUAL EVENT PROVIDING HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS FROM the United States THE OPPORTUNITY TO EXPERIENCE, COMPETE TOGETHER AND TO PERFORM ON A BROADWAY STAGE.

    Expenses $1,206,418 · Revenue $1,281,567

  • ENLIGHTEN & INCREASE PUBLICS KNOWLEDGE, APPRECIATION AND AWARENESS OF THEATRICAL ARTS - PROMOTION OF LIVE THEATRE.

    Expenses $364,154 · Grants $94,500

As filed on the 2022 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.

Listed in Part VII

  • Charlotte St Martin

    VICE PRESIDENT

    Total calculated
    $615,036
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $552,970
    Other
    $62,066
    Hours/week
    0.5 + 40 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    not reported + $552,970 related
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported + $62,066 related
    Filer's total
    not reported + $615,036 related
  • Cheri Phillips

    CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER

    Total calculated
    $264,957
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $209,468
    Other
    $55,489
    Hours/week
    0.5 + 40 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    not reported + $209,468 related
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported + $55,489 related
    Filer's total
    not reported + $264,957 related
  • Albert Nocciolino

    PRESIDENT

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.5 + 2 related
  • David Richards

    SECRETARY/TREASURER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    0.5 + 2 related

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

None.

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement
  • 5a · Pay contingent on this organization's revenues
  • 5b · Pay contingent on a related organization's revenues
  • 6a · Pay contingent on this organization's net earnings
  • 6b · Pay contingent on a related organization's net earnings
  • 7 · Other non-fixed payments
  • 8 · Paid under the initial-contract exception

The filer's explanations (Part III)

schedule j, part II, row (ii)
CHARLOTTE ST. MARTIN is the president and CHERI PHILLIPS is the CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER of THE BROADWAY LEAGUE INC. The compensation reported on schedule j, part ii, row (ii) is their respective compensation reported on THE BROADWAY LEAGUE INC's Form 990, schedule J.

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

No itemized grants to organizations on this return.

Related organizations on this return

Schedule R Part II: tax-exempt organizations related to the filer by control. It does not record shared board members or money.

Taxable family on this return

Schedule R Parts I, III and IV, as filed. These record ownership and control, not shared board members or money moved.

Related corporations and trusts

Part IV: related organizations taxable as a corporation or trust.

  • CELEBRATE BROADWAY INC

    C CORP · INTERNET DOMAIN · NY · share of income $0 · share of assets $0

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2022
Filed
23 April 2024
IRS schema version
2022v5.0
Source object
202421179349301012

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.