Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← INTERNATIONAL BROTHERHOOD OF ELECTRICAL WORKERS

Form 990 for tax year 2024

Filed by INTERNATIONAL BROTHERHOOD OF ELECTRICAL WORKERS.

Totals

Total revenue
$6,360,978
Total expenses
$4,513,181
Contributions and grants received
$0
Grants paid
$0
Program service revenue
$4,920,153
Investment income
$1,355,510
Other revenue
$85,315
Total assets, end of year
$22,256,772
Total liabilities, end of year
$279,212
Net assets or fund balances, end of year
$21,977,560
Program services expenses (Part IX)
not reported
Management and general expenses
not reported
Fundraising expenses
not reported
Program service expenses (Part III)
not reported

Line items

Every line the filer filed in Parts VIII, IX and X, as filed and in filed order. Blank columns are left out, and the lines are not forced to add up to the totals above.

Revenue

Part VIII, the statement of revenue.

  • 2a · Program service revenue: MEMBER DUES & ASSESSMENTS

    total $4,868,122 · related or exempt $4,868,122

  • 2b · Program service revenue: DUES - LOCAL UNION SHARE

    total $52,031 · related or exempt $52,031

  • 3 · Investment income

    total $564,471 · excluded $564,471

  • 7a · Gross sales of assets other than inventory

    securities $2,504,413 · other assets $153,000

  • 7b · Less cost or other basis and sales expenses

    securities $1,781,885 · other assets $84,489

  • 7c · Gain or loss

    securities $722,528 · other assets $68,511

  • 7d · Net gain or loss

    total $791,039 · excluded $791,039

  • 11a · Other revenue: OTHER INCOME

    total $85,315 · related or exempt $85,315

  • 11e · Other revenue, total

    $85,315

Functional expenses

Part IX, the statement of functional expenses.

  • 5 · Compensation of officers, directors and key employees

    total $1,310,320

  • 7 · Other salaries and wages

    total $185,777

  • 8 · Pension plan contributions

    total $472,864

  • 9 · Other employee benefits

    total $511,094

  • 10 · Payroll taxes

    total $104,438

  • 11b · Fees: legal

    total $3,788

  • 11c · Fees: accounting

    total $39,000

  • 11f · Fees: investment management

    total $175,777

  • 12 · Advertising and promotion

    total $37,332

  • 13 · Office expenses

    total $67,074

  • 14 · Information technology

    total $2,595

  • 16 · Occupancy

    total $204,870

  • 17 · Travel

    total $138,451

  • 19 · Conferences, conventions and meetings

    total $68,410

  • 22 · Depreciation, depletion and amortization

    total $174,050

  • 23 · Insurance

    total $84,155

  • 24a · Other expenses: MARKET RECOVERY AWARDS

    total $205,000

  • 24b · Other expenses: MEMBERSHIP DEVELOPMENT

    total $190,536

  • 24c · Other expenses: DONATIONS & GIFTS

    total $172,605

  • 24d · Other expenses: MEMBERSHIP AFFAIRS & EV

    total $147,219

  • 24e · All other expenses

    total $217,826

Balance sheet

Part X, book values.

  • 1 · Cash, non-interest-bearing

    beginning of year $2,367,229 · end of year $2,702,836

  • 2 · Savings and temporary cash investments

    beginning of year $4,602,195 · end of year $5,925,118

  • 10a · Land, buildings and equipment: cost or other basis

    $1,364,968

  • 10b · Land, buildings and equipment: accumulated depreciation

    $832,759

  • 10c · Land, buildings and equipment, net

    beginning of year $506,775 · end of year $532,209

  • 11 · Investments: publicly traded securities

    beginning of year $12,871,201 · end of year $13,029,930

  • 15 · Other assets

    beginning of year $66,679 · end of year $66,679

  • 25 · Other liabilities

    beginning of year $257,212 · end of year $279,212

  • 27 · Net assets without donor restrictions

    beginning of year $18,449,928 · end of year $19,876,365

  • 28 · Net assets with donor restrictions

    beginning of year $1,706,939 · end of year $2,101,195

Mission and programs · 2024

Mission

TO PROMOTE THE WELFARE OF ITS MEMBERS AND TO STRIVE TO ENHANCE THE WORKING CONDITIONS FOR ITS MEMBERS EMPLOYED IN THE ELECTRICAL CONSTRUCTION INDUSTRY.

Activities or mission (Part I)

CONDUCTING OF COLLECTIVE BARGAINING ACTIVITIES ON BEHALF OF MEMBERS.

  • LABOR UNION ORGANIZED TO REPRESENT ELECTRICAL WORKERS.

As filed on the 2024 return.

Listed in Part VII

  • Michael G McLaughlin

    PRESIDENT

    Total calculated
    $390,375
    From this org
    $249,834
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $140,541
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $249,834
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Deferred
    $91,962
    Nontaxable benefits
    $48,579
    Filer's total
    $390,375
  • Michael P Black

    RECORDING SECRETARY

    Total calculated
    $3,914
    From this org
    $3,914
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    4
  • Warren W Smith

    TREASURER

    Total calculated
    $5,871
    From this org
    $5,871
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    6
  • Joseph V Egan

    BUSINESS MANAGER

    Total calculated
    $444,182
    From this org
    $285,220
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $158,962
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $285,220
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Deferred
    $108,383
    Nontaxable benefits
    $50,579
    Filer's total
    $444,182
  • Dennis F Cronin

    EXECUTIVE BOARD

    Total calculated
    $2,935
    From this org
    $2,935
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    3
  • Edward M Sofield

    EXECUTIVE BOARD

    Total calculated
    $2,935
    From this org
    $2,935
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    3
  • John P Sherry

    EXECUTIVE BOARD

    Total calculated
    $2,935
    From this org
    $2,935
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    3
  • Richard Shine Jr

    EXECUTIVE BOARD

    Total calculated
    $5,386
    From this org
    $5,386
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    3
  • Alan Bulvanoski

    BUSINESS REPRESENTATIVE

    Total calculated
    $382,580
    From this org
    $242,006
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $140,574
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $242,006
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Deferred
    $91,995
    Nontaxable benefits
    $48,579
    Filer's total
    $382,580
  • Wayne Martiak Sr

    BUSINESS REPRESENTATIVE

    Total calculated
    $379,147
    From this org
    $242,006
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $137,141
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $242,006
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Deferred
    $88,562
    Nontaxable benefits
    $48,579
    Filer's total
    $379,147
  • Andrew Brys

    VICE PRESIDENT

    Total calculated
    $4,606
    From this org
    $4,606
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    3
  • Kevin P Egan

    BUSINESS REPRESENTATIVE

    Total calculated
    $382,547
    From this org
    $242,006
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $140,541
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $242,006
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Deferred
    $91,962
    Nontaxable benefits
    $48,579
    Filer's total
    $382,547
  • Ricky L Carr

    EXECUTIVE BOARD

    Total calculated
    $2,935
    From this org
    $2,935
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    3
  • Timothy McMahon

    EXECUTIVE BOARD

    Total calculated
    $9,837
    From this org
    $9,837
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    3
  • Bryan Witham

    EXECUTIVE BOARD

    Total calculated
    $7,894
    From this org
    $7,894
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    3

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us.

Schedule J

Answered yes

  • 3 · Approval by the board or compensation committee

Answered no

  • 4a · Severance or change-of-control payment
  • 4b · Supplemental nonqualified retirement plan
  • 4c · Equity-based compensation arrangement

Part I's answers as filed. A line not listed was left unanswered; on lines 1a and 3 that means the box was not checked.

Grants on this return

No itemized grants to organizations on this return.

Related organizations on this return

Schedule R Part II: tax-exempt organizations related to the filer by control. It does not record shared board members or money.

Provenance

Return type
form_990
Tax year
2024
Filed
16 June 2025
IRS schema version
2024v5.1
Source object
202511679349300996

Check it against the return as filed: the GivingTuesday Data Lake hosts a public copy of the original XML.

The source document this was parsed from is served over the API, which is where bulk and document access live.