Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← All organizations

NORTH TEXAS PUBLIC BROADCASTING INC

EIN 75-2084961 DALLAS, TX

Largest nonprofits in Texas

Revenue 2024
$85,049,363
Expenses 2024
$33,447,655

Program services were 67.1% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

As filed

Subsection
03
NTEE code
A300
Classification
2000
Street
3000 HARRY HINES BLVD

These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).

Mission and programs · 2024

Mission

THE MISSION OF NORTH TEXAS PUBLIC BROADCASTING, INC. IS TO SERVE NORTH TEXANS THROUGH PUBLIC TELEVISION, RADIO AND MULTIMEDIA RESOURCES THAT EDUCATE, ENGAGE, INSPIRE, INFORM AND ENTERTAIN.

Activities or mission (Part I)

TO SERVE NORTH TEXANS THROUGH PUBLIC TELEVISION, RADIO AND MULTIMEDIA RESOURCES THAT EDUCATE, ENGAGE, INSPIRE, INFORM AND ENTERTAIN.

  • NORTH TEXAS PUBLIC BROADCASTING, INC. OPERATES A PUBLIC RADIO STATION - KERA 90.1 FM - THAT SERVES THE NORTH TEXAS AREA. THE LISTENING AUDIENCE IS APPROXIAMATELY 431,650 PEOPLE PER WEEK. THE PROGRAMMING FOCUSES ON NEWS AND INFORMATION WITH REGARD TO CIVIC AND PUBLIC AFFAIRS. THE NEWS AND INFORMATION IS ALSO INCLUDED IN A NORTH TEXAS AREA DIGITAL AND PAPER NEWSPAPER.

    Expenses $10,030,708 · Revenue $1,528,925

  • NORTH TEXAS PUBLIC BROADCASTING, INC. OPERATES A PUBLIC RADIO STATION - KXT 91.7 - AND MANAGES A PUBLIC RADIO STATION - WRR 101.1 - THAT SERVES THE NORTH TEXAS AREA. THE LISTENING AUDIENCE IS APPROXIMATELY 244,000 PEOPLE FOR KXT AND 225,000 PEOPLE FOR WRR PER WEEK RESPECTIVELY. KXT'S PROGRAMMING FOCUSES ON AN ECLECTIC ASSORTMENT OF MUSIC AND WRR A CLASSICAL ASSORTMENT OF MUSIC PROVIDING PERFORMING OPPORTUNITIES FOR LOCAL MUSICIANS. IN ADDITION TO ASSISTING LOCAL MUSICIANS, NORTH TEXAS PUBLIC BROADCASTING, INC. OPERATES AN EDUCATIONAL RESOURCE FOR THE LOCAL ARTISTS.

    Expenses $5,205,933

  • NORTH TEXAS PUBLIC BROADCASTING, INC. OPERATES A PUBLIC TELEVISION STATION - KERA - THAT SERVES THE NORTH TEXAS AREA. THE STATION IS VIEWED BY APPROXIMATELY 3.2 MILLION PEOPLE WITH PROGRAMS DESIGNED TO SERVE A DIVERSE AUDIENCE OF ALL AGES WITH PROGRAMS THAT FOCUS ON KIDS, NEWS AND PUBLIC AFFAIRS, ARTS AND ENTERTAINMENT, LIFESTYLE, NATURE AND SCIENCE, DOCUMENTARIES, COMEDIES AND DRAMA.

    Expenses $4,462,072

  • NORTH TEXAS PUBLIC BROADCASTING, INC. OPERATES AN EDUCATIONAL RESOURCE CENTER THAT FOCUSES ON PRODUCING CONTENT FOR PARENTS, CAREGIVERS, AND EDUCATORS WHO WORK WITH CHILDREN. PROJECTS INCLUDE INITIATIVES TO IMPROVE SKILLS IN LITERACY AND MATH, WHICH POSITIVELY IMPACTS EARLY CHILDHOOD DEVELOPMENT AND GRADES K-12.

    Expenses $2,728,537

As filed on the 2024 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.

Officers and directors · 2024

As listed in Part VII of the 2024 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.

  • Gwen Echols

    BOARD CHAIR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Lamonte Thomas

    CHAIRPERSON - PAST

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • William M Addy

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Jennifer Burr Altabef

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Lucy Billingsley

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Lael Brodsky

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Dr Tamara L Brown

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Erin Carter

    DIRECTOR (AS OF 01/25)

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Chalon N Clark

    DIRECTOR (THRU 12/24)

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Mary McDermott Cook

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Dodee Crockett

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Glen Davison

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Sejal Desai

    DIRECTOR (AS OF 01/25)

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Harry Eaddy

    DIRECTOR (THRU 12/24)

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Jorge Ferraez

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Shawn C Gilbert

    DIRECTOR (AS OF 01/25)

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Carol Glendenning

    DIRECTOR (THRU 12/24)

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 1 related
  • Peter Handy

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Gary Henderson

    DIRECTOR (AS OF 01/25)

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Marissa Horne

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Marissa Jarratt

    DIRECTOR (AS OF 01/25)

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Kelley Johnson

    DIRECTOR (THRU 08/24)

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Peter A Kraus

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Heather Kreager

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 1 related
  • Adelaide Leavens

    DIRECTOR (AS OF 01/25)

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1

The first 25 listed. Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.

Filings

  • 2024
    Revenue
    $85,049,363
    Expenses
    $33,447,655
    Contributions
    $36,144,031
    Grants paid
    $0
  • 2023
    Revenue
    $40,991,408
    Expenses
    $33,433,329
    Contributions
    $38,485,902
    Grants paid
    $0
  • 2022
    Revenue
    $26,879,457
    Expenses
    $29,880,236
    Contributions
    $26,159,496
    Grants paid
    $0

The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.

Other returns filed

  • 2023 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2022 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2021 · 990

    Revenue
    $26,329,429
    Expenses
    $27,416,432
    Assets (EOY)
    $45,319,782
  • 2021 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2020 · 990

    Revenue
    $28,809,026
    Expenses
    $25,240,827
    Assets (EOY)
    $48,874,631
  • 2020 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2019 · 990

    Revenue
    $28,075,482
    Expenses
    $29,353,978
    Assets (EOY)
    $55,596,237
  • 2018 · 990

    Revenue
    $32,294,350
    Expenses
    $26,064,812
    Assets (EOY)
    $57,351,156
  • 2017 · 990

    Revenue
    $28,384,691
    Expenses
    $24,764,943
    Assets (EOY)
    $57,681,763
  • 2016 · 990

    Revenue
    $24,362,079
    Expenses
    $23,975,652
    Assets (EOY)
    $54,963,382

Nonprofiteer parses Forms 990, 990-EZ and 990-PF, in a window of recent tax years. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all. Showing the 10 most recent; the API carries the rest.

Grants made

No itemized grants to organizations. Schedule I is filed only by organizations that granted more than $5,000 to a recipient, so most filers have none.

Grants received

The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.

Related organizations

From Schedule R Part II, where a filer lists the tax-exempt organizations it is related to by control. It does not record shared board members or money.

Declared on its 2024 return

Declared as related by

Taxable family

From Schedule R Parts I, III and IV: entities that legally are the filer, and taxable partnerships, corporations and trusts it is related to. These record ownership and control, not shared board members or money.

Disregarded entities on its 2024 return

  • DENTON PUBLIC MEDIA LLC

    HOLDING COMPANY · TX · income $1,528,925 · assets $0

Other IRS files

Auto-Revocation List

Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.

Publication 78

Listed as of 13 October 2026, under deductibility PC.

These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.

What this page reflects

The registration facts above come from the IRS Business Master File published 13 October 2026 and read 1 November 2026, for every organization at once. Returns through tax year 2024, the newest we have parsed for this organization.