Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← All organizations

AMERICAN JOURNAL OF PREVENTIVE MEDICINE

EIN 52-1385415 WASHINGTON, DC

Browse the largest nonprofits in District of Columbia

Revenue 2024
$8,109,423
Expenses 2024
$325,083

Program services were 48.2% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

As filed

Subsection
03
NTEE code
H03
Classification
2000
Street
2000 PENNSYLVANIA AVE NW STE 7000

These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).

Other organizations at this address

14 other organizations in the IRS Business Master File list the same street address. matched by us

This address is a suite or unit (STE 7000). Organizations that share one are often clients of the same office-services firm, accountant or registered agent rather than related to each other.

We match the street line and ZIP code as the IRS gives them, ignoring case and outer spaces and nothing else, so "AVE" and "AVENUE" count as different streets and this list can miss some. A shared address can mean related organizations or a shared office, but it can also be a registered agent, a mail drop or a service provider holding mail for unrelated clients. It is not, by itself, evidence that two organizations are connected.

Mission and programs · 2024

Mission

The premier source of timely and evidence-based information on prevention science, education, practice, and policy for a global audience.

Activities or mission (Part I)

To publish a scientific journal

  • Publication of 12 monthly issues of The American Journal of Preventive Medicine on topics in public health, preventive medicine, research education and medical practice. Publication of periodic supplements/theme issues on topics ranging from injury prevention and e-health research to alcohol and tobacco use.

    Expenses $156,683 · Revenue $257,276

As filed on the 2024 return.

Officers and directors · 2024

As listed in Part VII of the 2024 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.

  • Rosemary Caron

    Chair

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    4
  • Leila C Kahwati

    Secretary

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    4
  • Carolyn DiGuiseppi

    Treasurer

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    4
  • Alex E Crosby

    Governor

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    4
  • Scott Frank

    Governor

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    4
  • Woodie Kessell

    Governor

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    4
  • Cara Pennel

    Governor

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    4
  • Hunter Smith

    Governor

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    4
  • Ryung Suh

    Governor

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    4
  • Allison Lewis

    Exec Dir./Asst. Treasurer-Ex-Officio

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.

Filings

  • 2024
    Revenue
    $8,109,423
    Expenses
    $325,083
    Contributions
    $0
    Grants paid
    $0
  • 2023
    Revenue
    $986,062
    Expenses
    $936,090
    Contributions
    $0
    Grants paid
    $0
  • 2022
    Revenue
    $998,086
    Expenses
    $1,076,357
    Contributions
    $0
    Grants paid
    $0

The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.

Other returns filed

  • 2021 · 990

    Revenue
    $930,351
    Expenses
    $948,306
    Assets (EOY)
    $1,221,865
  • 2020 · 990

    Revenue
    $1,010,367
    Expenses
    $891,652
    Assets (EOY)
    $1,222,293
  • 2019 · 990

    Revenue
    $986,893
    Expenses
    $887,007
    Assets (EOY)
    $1,192,577
  • 2018 · 990

    Revenue
    $933,766
    Expenses
    $908,193
    Assets (EOY)
    $1,124,011
  • 2014 · 990

    Revenue
    $1,045,000
    Expenses
    $940,713
    Assets (EOY)
    $1,133,937
  • 2013 · 990

    Revenue
    $870,577
    Expenses
    $1,003,780
    Assets (EOY)
    $848,177
  • 2012 · 990

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    $1,013,674
    Assets (EOY)
    $850,813
  • 2011 · 990

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    $895,855
    Assets (EOY)
    $674,817
  • 2010 · 990

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    $1,165,982
    Assets (EOY)
    $827,604

Nonprofiteer parses Forms 990, 990-EZ and 990-PF, in a window of recent tax years. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all.

Grants made

No itemized grants to organizations. Schedule I is filed only by organizations that granted more than $5,000 to a recipient, so most filers have none.

Grants received

No itemized grant names this organization as a recipient. Only grants over $5,000 are itemized, and only by filers of the full Form 990.

Other IRS files

Auto-Revocation List

  • Exemption revoked 15 May 2018, reinstated 15 May 2018.

Publication 78

Listed as of 13 October 2026, under deductibility PC.

These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.

What this page reflects

The registration facts above come from the IRS Business Master File published 13 October 2026 and read 1 November 2026, for every organization at once. Returns through tax year 2024, the newest we have parsed for this organization.