Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← All organizations

HOOD RIVER COUNTY EDUCATION FOUNDATION

EIN 93-1093479 HOOD RIVER, OR

Revenue 2024
$823,381
Expenses 2024
$628,525

Program services were 63.5% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

As filed

Subsection
03
NTEE code
B94
Classification
1000
Street
1011 EUGENE ST

These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).

Mission and programs · 2024

Mission

TO ENHANCE EDUCATION FOR STUDENTS OF THE HOOD RIVER COUNTY SCHOOL DISTRICT BY PROVIDING FINANCIAL SUPPORT FOR PROGRAMS, SERVICES, AND SCHOLARSHIPS.

  • SCHOLARSHIPS PRESENTED TO STUDENTS

    Expenses $262,816 · Grants $262,400

  • HOOD RIVER COUNTY TEACHER GRANTS TO FUND PROJECTS IN THE AREAS OF MUSIC, READING, BIOETHICS, ELECTRONICS AND MATHEMATICS

    Expenses $132,040 · Grants $132,040

  • CONTRIBUTIONS TO VARIOUS HOOD RIVER COUNTY SCHOOLS FOR THEIR MUSIC PROGRAMS AND ATHLETICS

  • COMMUNITY EDUCATION PROGRAMS

    Expenses $4,055 · Grants $2,000

As filed on the 2024 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.

Officers and directors · 2024

As listed in Part VII of the 2024 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.

  • KAREN ASAI

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • CHUCK BUGGE

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • PAT EVENSON-BRADY

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • JOHN FINE

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • KRISTI HECK

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • KAREN HEINEMANN

    VICE PRESIDE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • SUE HUKARI

    PAST PRESIDE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • CAROLINE LIPPS

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • LUKE MCCARTHY

    TREASURER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • ASPEN MCKENNA

    PRESIDENT/CH

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • BILL NEWTON

    HRCSD SUPERI

    Total calculated
    $0
  • CELIA NEWTON

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • YESENIA SANCHEZ OATES

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • BARRY PAUL

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • CRISSY REITZ

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • MATTHEW ROTH

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • MIKE SCHEND

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • FRED TRUJILLO

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • MO WRIGHT

    SECRETARY

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • MICHAEL MCELWEE

    EXECUTIVE DI

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    15

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.

Filings

  • 2024
    Revenue
    $823,381
    Expenses
    $628,525
    Contributions
    $427,738
    Grants paid
    $396,440
  • 2023
    Revenue
    $833,933
    Expenses
    $636,601
    Contributions
    $338,530
    Grants paid
    $355,802
  • 2022
    Revenue
    $749,631
    Expenses
    $523,359
    Contributions
    $367,020
    Grants paid
    $321,484

The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.

Other returns filed

  • 2021 · 990

    Revenue
    $34,581
    Expenses
    $457,670
    Assets (EOY)
    $2,445,499
  • 2020 · 990

    Revenue
    $803,512
    Expenses
    $322,517
    Assets (EOY)
    $2,867,856
  • 2019 · 990

    Revenue
    $531,716
    Expenses
    $386,645
    Assets (EOY)
    $2,385,585
  • 2018 · 990

    Revenue
    $948,307
    Expenses
    $297,246
    Assets (EOY)
    $2,239,797
  • 2017 · 990

    Revenue
    $372,887
    Expenses
    $251,828
    Assets (EOY)
    $1,586,673
  • 2016 · 990

    Revenue
    $279,647
    Expenses
    $204,354
    Assets (EOY)
    $1,466,109
  • 2012 · 990

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    $140,112
    Assets (EOY)
    $1,213,173
  • 2011 · 990

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    $112,420
    Assets (EOY)
    $1,158,555
  • 2010 · 990

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    $200,129
    Assets (EOY)
    $1,058,148

Nonprofiteer parses Forms 990, 990-EZ and 990-PF, in a window of recent tax years. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all.

Grants made

Where these grants went next →

Grants received

The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.

Other IRS files

Auto-Revocation List

  • Exemption revoked 15 November 2016, reinstated 15 November 2016.

Publication 78

Listed as of 13 October 2026, under deductibility PC.

These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.

What this page reflects

The registration facts above come from the IRS Business Master File published 13 October 2026 and read 26 October 2026, for every organization at once. Returns through tax year 2024, the newest we have parsed for this organization.