- Revenue 2024
- $2,548,028
- Expenses 2024
- $2,105,425
Program services were 29.1% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.
As filed
- Subsection
- 03
- Classification
- 2000
- Street
- 8000 WESTON PKWY
These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).
Officers and directors · 2024
As listed in Part VII of the 2024 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.
-
PATTI RAMSEUR
IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1 + 1 related
-
KIMBERLY H STOGNER
PRESIDENT
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1 + 20 related
-
ROBERT E HARRINGTON
PRESIDENT-ELECT/TREASURER
- Total calculated
- $5,000
- From this org
- $0
- From related orgs
- $5,000
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1 + 10 related
-
CHRISTOPHER G BROWNING JR
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1 + 1 related
-
COLLEEN L BYERS
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1 + 1 related
-
JOHN R CELLA JR
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
ROBERT H EDMUNDS JR
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
SAMANTHA GORDON
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
NAN HANNAH
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
JON HEYL
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
ALICE L JOHNSON
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1 + 1 related
-
LINDA FUNKE JOHNSON
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
AFI S JOHNSON-PARRIS
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
PAULA A KOHUT
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1 + 1 related
-
SIDNEY O MINTER
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1 + 1 related
-
TAMMY NICHOLSON
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1 + 1 related
-
WILL ODEN
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1 + 1 related
-
ELIZABETH L QUICK
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1 + 1 related
-
ASHLEY S RUSHER
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1 + 1 related
-
COLLINS SAINT
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1 + 1 related
-
MATT SAWCHAK
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1 + 1 related
-
JARED SMITH
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
ROBIN STINSON
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
RICHARD M THIGPEN
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1 + 1 related
-
COURTNEY B THOMAS
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1 + 1 related
The first 25 listed. Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.
Filings
-
2024
- Revenue
- $2,548,028
- Expenses
- $2,105,425
- Contributions
- $763,633
- Grants paid
- $276,054
-
2023
- Revenue
- $1,655,265
- Expenses
- $1,951,698
- Contributions
- $713,600
- Grants paid
- $535,772
-
2022
- Revenue
- $2,416,990
- Expenses
- $1,762,190
- Contributions
- $958,290
- Grants paid
- $270,524
The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.
Other returns filed
-
2024 · 990-T
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- not reported
- Assets (EOY)
- not reported
-
2023 · 990-T
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- not reported
- Assets (EOY)
- not reported
-
2022 · 990-T
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- not reported
- Assets (EOY)
- not reported
Nonprofiteer parses the Form 990 only. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all.
Grants made
-
$243,466
2023 THE NCBF I. BEVERLY LAKE JUSTICE FUND WAS DISSOLVED BY ACTION OF THE NCBF BOARD OF DIRECTORS AND THE FUNDS WERE TRANSFERRED TO THE CAMPBELL SCHOOL OF LAW'S LAKE SCHOLARSHIP FUND.
-
LEGAL AID OF NORTH CAROLINA INC
$126,986
2024 Legal Aid of NC Lawyer on the Line and pro bono
-
LEGAL AID OF NORTH CAROLINA INC
$124,983
2023 LEGAL AID OF NC LAWYER ON THE LINE AND OTHER PROGRAMS
-
LEGAL AID OF NORTH CAROLINA INC
$122,652
2022 LEGAL AID OF NCLAWYER ON THE LINE AND OTHER PROGRAMS
-
2023 PROFESSIONALISM PROGRAM FOR NEW ATTORNEYS, MIP DIVERSITY SYMPOSIUM
-
$21,750
2022 VOLUNTEER LAW CLINIC/CONSULTATION EXPANSION
-
$20,000
2023 VOLUNTEER LAW CLINIC/CONSULTATION EXPANSION
-
2022 PROFESSIONALISM PROGRAM FOR NEW ATTORNEYS, MIP DIVERSITY SYMPOSIUM
-
2024 Professionalism program for New Attorneys, MIP Summit
-
2022 TO BE A RESPONSIVE SUPPORT AND RESOURCE FOR PEOPLE IN NC WHO NEED HELP WITH IMMIGRATION AND MEDICAID ISSUES.
The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.
Grants received
-
2022 GENERAL SUPPORT
-
$11,000
2024 9 grant(s) for varying purposes
-
$10,000
2024 CRIME AND LEGAL
-
2024 For grant recipient's exempt purposes
-
2024 CRIME
-
2023 For grant recipient's exempt purposes
-
2022 HUMAN SERVICES
-
2024 GENERAL SUPPORT
-
2024 IMPROVING EDUCATIONAL OPPORTUNITIES
-
2024 CRIME AND LEGAL
The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.
Related organizations
From Schedule R Part II, where a filer lists the tax-exempt organizations it is related to by control. It does not record shared board members or money.
Declared on its 2024 return
-
NORTH CAROLINA BAR ASSOCIATION
501 (c)6 · PROMOTING AND IMPROVING THE ADMINISTRATION OF JUSTICE IN NORTH CAROLINA · NC
Declared as related by
-
NORTH CAROLINA BAR ASSOCIATION
On its 2024 return
Other IRS files
Auto-Revocation List
Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.
Publication 78
Listed as of 10 September 2026, under deductibility PC.
These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.