Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← All organizations

NEW OPPORTUNITIES FOR LIVING

EIN 95-4253162 SHERMAN OAKS, CA

Revenue 2023
$89,873
Expenses 2023
$86,662

Program services were 71.8% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

As filed

Subsection
03
Classification
1000
Street
13130 BURBANK BLVD

These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).

Officers and directors · 2023

As listed in Part VII of the 2023 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.

  • Barbara Firestone PhD

    President & CEO

    Total calculated
    $2,184,638
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $2,152,837
    Other
    $31,801
    Hours/week
    1 + 49 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    not reported + $1,228,361 related
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported + $924,476 related
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported + $31,801 related
    Filer's total
    not reported + $2,184,638 related
  • Susan Berman PhD

    Pres&CEOFr10/23

    Total calculated
    $898,332
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $845,940
    Other
    $52,392
    Hours/week
    1 + 49 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    not reported + $323,219 related
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported + $522,721 related
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported + $52,392 related
    Filer's total
    not reported + $898,332 related
  • Michael Love

    Sr. VP of Finance (Thru 1/23)

    Total calculated
    $304,737
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $303,468
    Other
    $1,269
    Hours/week
    1 + 39 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    not reported + $25,168 related
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported + $278,300 related
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported + $1,269 related
    Filer's total
    not reported + $304,737 related
  • Oscar Valadez

    CFO

    Total calculated
    $279,527
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $256,236
    Other
    $23,291
    Hours/week
    1 + 39 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    not reported + $256,236 related
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported + $23,291 related
    Filer's total
    not reported + $279,527 related
  • Gary H Carmona

    Dir./ Chairman

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 1 related
  • Meyer Berk

    Vice President

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 1 related
  • Gerald Rosenblatt

    Secretary/Treas

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 1 related
  • Jack Herschorn

    Director

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 1 related
  • David Firestone DDS

    Dir.(Thru10/23)

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 1 related

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.

Filings

  • 2023
    Revenue
    $89,873
    Expenses
    $86,662
    Contributions
    $89,853
    Grants paid
    $0
  • 2022
    Revenue
    $92,094
    Expenses
    $94,527
    Contributions
    $92,086
    Grants paid
    $0

The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.

Other returns filed

  • 2021 · 990

    Revenue
    $102,563
    Expenses
    $122,060
    Assets (EOY)
    $360,100
  • 2020 · 990

    Revenue
    $92,661
    Expenses
    $101,539
    Assets (EOY)
    $374,784
  • 2019 · 990

    Revenue
    $86,499
    Expenses
    $99,566
    Assets (EOY)
    $371,084
  • 2018 · 990

    Revenue
    $89,592
    Expenses
    $110,119
    Assets (EOY)
    $370,820
  • 2017 · 990

    Revenue
    $87,260
    Expenses
    $121,260
    Assets (EOY)
    $382,744
  • 2016 · 990

    Revenue
    $86,065
    Expenses
    $114,057
    Assets (EOY)
    $413,767
  • 2015 · 990

    Revenue
    $78,484
    Expenses
    $115,205
    Assets (EOY)
    $449,742
  • 2014 · 990

    Revenue
    $78,640
    Expenses
    $98,578
    Assets (EOY)
    $468,216
  • 2013 · 990

    Revenue
    $74,328
    Expenses
    $97,361
    Assets (EOY)
    $484,219
  • 2012 · 990

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    $105,098
    Assets (EOY)
    $497,276

Nonprofiteer parses Forms 990, 990-EZ and 990-PF, in a window of recent tax years. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all. Showing the 10 most recent; the API carries the rest.

Grants made

No itemized grants to organizations. Schedule I is filed only by organizations that granted more than $5,000 to a recipient, so most filers have none.

Grants received

No itemized grant names this organization as a recipient. Only grants over $5,000 are itemized, and only by filers of the full Form 990.

Related organizations

From Schedule R Part II, where a filer lists the tax-exempt organizations it is related to by control. It does not record shared board members or money.

Declared on its 2023 return

Declared as related by

Other IRS files

Auto-Revocation List

Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.

Publication 78

Listed as of 13 October 2026, under deductibility PC.

These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.

What this page reflects

The registration facts above come from the IRS Business Master File published 13 October 2026 and read 23 October 2026, for every organization at once. Returns through tax year 2023, the newest we have parsed for this organization.