Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← All organizations

MOUNTAIN PROJECTS INC

EIN 56-0849092 WAYNESVILLE, NC

Browse the largest nonprofits in North Carolina

Revenue 2024
$23,698,985
Expenses 2024
$20,696,915

Program services were 93.2% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

As filed

Subsection
03
Classification
1200
Street
2177 ASHEVILLE RD

These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).

Mission and programs · 2024

Mission

MOUNTAIN PROJECTS COMMUNITY ACTION AGENCY CHANGES PEOPLE'S LIVES, EMBODIES THE SPIRIT OF HOPE, IMPROVES COMMUNITIES, AND MAKES HAYWOOD AND JACKSON COUNTIES A BETTER PLACE TO LIVE.

  • ASSIST LOW-INCOME, CHALLENGED, & OLDER PERSONS TO SECURE QUALITY HOUSING BY SUBSIDIZED RENTS & UTILITES FOR 880 UNITS/MONTH. A FEE IS CHARGED TO FUND THE OPERATION OF THE PROGRAM.

    Expenses $8,501,959 · Grants $7,903,160

  • COMPREHENSIVE CHILD DEVELOPMENT PROGRAM (HEAD START) FOR 195 (130 HEAD START AND 65 EARLY HEAD START) LOW-INCOME CHILDREN & THEIR FAMILIES. NO FEE IS CHARGED.

    Expenses $2,860,695 · Grants $98

  • A FOOD SERVICE PROGRAM FOR THE PREPARATION OF MEALS FOR OTHER PROGRAMS OF THE ORGANIZATION. A FEE IS CHARGED; SERVED 26,465 MEALS DURING THE YEAR.

    Expenses $2,013,089 · Grants $510,187

  • HOUSING - PERFORM MAJOR RENOVATION WORK ON HOMES OF LOWER INCOME PERSONS TO IMPROVE HOUSING QUALITY. NO FEE IS CHARGED. 15 HOMES SERVED THIS YEAR. AFFORDABLE HOUSING RENTAL - PROVIDE AFFORDABLE HOUSING UNITS. EXPENSES TOTAL 74,382. WEATHERIZATION - PROVIDE ASSISTANCE IN SELF-HELP HOUSING. SERVED 165 UNITS DURING THE YEAR. EXPENSES TOTAL 911,607. SENIOR SERVICES - ASSISTS ELDERLY WITH PHYSICAL AND NUTRITIONAL NEEDS. SERVED 5,981 PERSONS DURING YEAR. EXPENSES 456,817. CORPORATION FOR NATIONAL SERVICE - PROMOTES PEOPLE BECOMING INVOLVED AS VOLUNTEERS WHILE ASSISTING IN NEEDED AREAS SUCH AS DAYCARES. 67 VOLUNTEERS SERVED DURING THE YEAR. EXPENSES 414,616. COMMUNITY SERVICES BLOCK PROGRAM - PROGRAM FUNDS CENTRAL INTAKE OPERATIONS AND CASE WORKERS. SERVED OVER 908 PERSONS DURING THE YEAR. EXPENSES 217,350. PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION PROGRAM - PROVIDES PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION FOR HAYWOOD CTY CITIZENS. SERVED 42,000 PASSENGERS FOR THE YEAR. EXPENSES 1,183,312. NAVIGATOR PROGRAM - PROVIDES ASSISTANCE TO LOW INCOME INDIVIDUALS IN OBTAINING AFFORDABLE HEALTH INSURANCE COVERAGE. SERVED 3,794 PERSONS DURING THE YEAR. EXPENSES 338,153. PREVENTION SERVICES - THIS PROGRAM PROVIDES ADULT AND YOUTH COUNSELING FOCUSED ON THE PREVENTION OF SUBSTANCE ABUSE. SERVED 162,890 PEOPLE. EXPENSES 303,760. WORKFORCE OPPORTUNITY ACT - SERVED 11 PEOPLE. PROVIDES ACCESS TO EMPLOYEMENT, EDUCATION, TRAINING, AND SUPPORT SERVICES TO JOB SEEKERS. EXPENSES 83,659. SMOKEY MOUNTAIN HOUSING - DEVELOP LOTS AND CONSTRUCT HOMES TO BE SOLD TO ELIGIBLE LOW INCOME HOUSEHOLDS. 3 HOMES/LOTS SOLD AND 4 HOMES IN DEVELOPMENT. EXPENSES 570,276. HEALTHY OPPORTUNITIES PILOT - COMPREHENSIVE PROGRAM TO EVALUATE NON MEDICAL INTERVENTIONS RELATED TO HOUSING, FOOD AND TRANSPORTATION FOR MEDICAID ENROLLEES. SERVED 305 INDIVIDUALS. EXPENSES 1,426,136.

    Expenses $5,905,736 · Grants $989,970 · Revenue $2,399,016

As filed on the 2024 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.

Officers and directors · 2024

As listed in Part VII of the 2024 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.

  • Brad Waldrop

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Jenny Hooper

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Brandon Rogers

    SECRETARY

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Diane Fore

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Marla Morris

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Wes Jamison

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Ira Dove

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Anthony Cabe

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Kelly Kelley

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Jeff Haynes

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Chris Weatherford

    CHAIR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Nick Honerkamp

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Linda Outlaw

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Richard Frady

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Bucky Dykes

    TREASURER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Patsy Davis

    PAST EXECUTI

    Total calculated
    $263,445
    From this org
    $188,175
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $75,270
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $188,175
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    $75,270
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported
    Filer's total
    $263,445
  • Robert Si Simmons

    EXECUTIVE DI

    Total calculated
    $126,644
    From this org
    $108,243
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $18,401
    Hours/week
    40

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.

Filings

  • 2024
    Revenue
    $23,698,985
    Expenses
    $20,696,915
    Contributions
    $20,400,944
    Grants paid
    $9,403,415
  • 2023
    Revenue
    $19,038,316
    Expenses
    $18,284,879
    Contributions
    $16,779,972
    Grants paid
    $7,075,816
  • 2022
    Revenue
    $14,988,273
    Expenses
    $14,586,021
    Contributions
    $13,797,195
    Grants paid
    $5,382,338

The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.

Other returns filed

  • 2024 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2023 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2022 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2021 · 990

    Revenue
    $16,388,173
    Expenses
    $14,685,969
    Assets (EOY)
    $12,244,902
  • 2021 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2020 · 990

    Revenue
    $15,189,679
    Expenses
    $14,008,352
    Assets (EOY)
    $9,904,248
  • 2020 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2019 · 990

    Revenue
    $13,490,702
    Expenses
    $12,807,937
    Assets (EOY)
    $8,340,738
  • 2018 · 990

    Revenue
    $12,739,400
    Expenses
    $12,508,364
    Assets (EOY)
    $7,385,405
  • 2017 · 990

    Revenue
    $12,445,764
    Expenses
    $12,434,158
    Assets (EOY)
    $7,553,837

Nonprofiteer parses Forms 990, 990-EZ and 990-PF, in a window of recent tax years. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all. Showing the 10 most recent; the API carries the rest.

Grants made

No itemized grants to organizations. Schedule I is filed only by organizations that granted more than $5,000 to a recipient, so most filers have none.

Grants received

The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.

Other IRS files

Auto-Revocation List

Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.

Publication 78

Listed as of 13 October 2026, under deductibility PC.

These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.

What this page reflects

The registration facts above come from the IRS Business Master File published 13 October 2026 and read 1 November 2026, for every organization at once. Returns through tax year 2024, the newest we have parsed for this organization.