Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← All organizations

IDEA FLORIDA INC

EIN 84-3519271 WESLACO, TX

Revenue 2023
$74,347,081
Expenses 2023
$64,773,469

Program services were 90.4% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

As filed

Subsection
03
NTEE code
B29
Classification
2000
Street
2115 W PIKE BLVD

These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).

Mission and programs · 2023

Mission

IDEA FLORIDA PREPARES STUDENTS FROM UNDERSERVED COMMUNITIES TO BE SUCCESSFUL COLLEGE STUDENTS AND RESPONSIBLE CITIZENS BY PROVIDING EDUCATIONAL SERVICES TO STUDENTS. IDEA FLORIDA SERVES STUDENTS IN GRADES K-9 AND WILL GROW TO SERVE GRADES K-12 WHEN FULLY SCALED.

Activities or mission (Part I)

IDEA FLORIDA PROVIDES TUITION-FREE EDUCATION TO COLLEGE BOUND STUDENTS IN FLORIDA.

  • IDEA PUBLIC SCHOOLS BELIEVES EACH AND EVERY CHILD CAN GO TO COLLEGE. SINCE 2000, IDEA PUBLIC SCHOOLS HAS GROWN FROM A SMALL SCHOOL WITH 150 STUDENTS TO A NATIONAL NETWORK OF TUITION-FREE K-12 PUBLIC CHARTER SCHOOLS IN THE UNITED STATES. THE NETWORK CURRENTLY SERVES OVER 80,000 COLLEGE-BOUND STUDENTS IN 143 SCHOOLS. THROUGH SMALL LEARNING GROUPS AND DAILY ACCESS TO TECHNOLOGY, EVERY STUDENT LEARNS AT THE LEVEL AND SPEED JUST RIGHT FOR THEM. TEACHERS BRING SUBJECT MATTER EXPERTISE AND AN UNWAVERING COMMITMENT TO SET EACH STUDENT ON A PATH TO SUCCESS. PARENTS, TEACHERS, AND ADMINISTRATORS WORK AS A TEAM TO HELP EACH STUDENT REACH THEIR FULL POTENTIAL. FOR THE 2023-2024 ACADEMIC YEAR, IDEA FLORIDA SERVED 1,689 STUDENTS ACROSS FOUR CAMPUSES IN THE TAMPA BAY AREA. IDEA FLORIDA ALSO OPENED FOUR ADDITIONAL SCHOOLS IN THE JACKSONVILLE AREA, SERVING 1,411 STUDENTS. THE SCHOOLS OPENED WITH GRADES K-9 AND WILL GROW TO SERVE GRADES K-12 WHEN FULLY SCALED.

    Expenses $58,579,418

As filed on the 2023 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.

Officers and directors · 2023

As listed in Part VII of the 2023 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.

  • JAMES HARTMAN

    EXECUTIVE DI

    Total calculated
    $190,900
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $175,516
    Other
    $15,384
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    not reported + $175,516 related
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported + $7,215 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported + $8,169 related
    Filer's total
    not reported + $190,900 related
  • SIMARAN BAKSHI

    EXECUTIVE DI

    Total calculated
    $189,034
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $174,101
    Other
    $14,933
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    not reported + $174,101 related
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported + $7,133 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported + $7,800 related
    Filer's total
    not reported + $189,034 related
  • CURTIS LAWRENCE

    PRINCIPAL

    Total calculated
    $151,523
    From this org
    $136,278
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $15,245
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $136,278
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    $5,945
    Nontaxable benefits
    $9,300
    Filer's total
    $151,523
  • JANINE VALENTIN

    MANAGING DIR

    Total calculated
    $136,208
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $126,273
    Other
    $9,935
    Hours/week
    40
  • LATOYA MCGHEE

    PRINCIPAL

    Total calculated
    $127,403
    From this org
    $118,452
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $8,951
    Hours/week
    40
  • KATOYA MCCASKILL

    PRINCIPAL

    Total calculated
    $121,547
    From this org
    $112,208
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $9,339
    Hours/week
    40
  • LATOYA SPANN

    PRINCIPAL

    Total calculated
    $119,746
    From this org
    $108,739
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $11,007
    Hours/week
    40
  • RENEE BAKER

    TREASURER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    6
  • CHRISTINA BARKER

    CHAIR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    6
  • GARY CHARTRAND

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    6
  • NICK RHODES

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    6

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.

Filings

  • 2023
    Revenue
    $74,347,081
    Expenses
    $64,773,469
    Contributions
    $74,030,847
    Grants paid
    $0
  • 2022
    Revenue
    $51,759,566
    Expenses
    $51,493,720
    Contributions
    $51,759,566
    Grants paid
    $0

The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.

Other returns filed

  • 2021 · 990

    Revenue
    $28,549,811
    Expenses
    $29,470,141
    Assets (EOY)
    $10,711,541
  • 2020 · 990

    Revenue
    $8,920,816
    Expenses
    $8,690,437
    Assets (EOY)
    $6,472,132
  • 2019 · 990

    Revenue
    $1,084,423
    Expenses
    $1,037,578
    Assets (EOY)
    $2,638,996

Nonprofiteer parses Forms 990, 990-EZ and 990-PF, in a window of recent tax years. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all.

Grants made

No itemized grants to organizations. Schedule I is filed only by organizations that granted more than $5,000 to a recipient, so most filers have none.

Grants received

Related organizations

From Schedule R Part II, where a filer lists the tax-exempt organizations it is related to by control. It does not record shared board members or money.

Declared on its 2023 return

Declared as related by

Taxable family

From Schedule R Parts I, III and IV: entities that legally are the filer, and taxable partnerships, corporations and trusts it is related to. These record ownership and control, not shared board members or money.

Disregarded entities on its 2022 return

Other IRS files

Auto-Revocation List

Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.

Publication 78

Listed as of 13 October 2026, under deductibility PC.

These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.

What this page reflects

The registration facts above come from the IRS Business Master File published 13 October 2026 and read 26 October 2026, for every organization at once. Returns through tax year 2023, the newest we have parsed for this organization.