Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← All organizations

COVENANT COLLEGE INC

EIN 43-0719506 LOOKOUT MTN, GA

Revenue 2023
$55,489,035
Expenses 2023
$57,790,075

Program services were 86.1% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

As filed

Subsection
03
NTEE code
B420
Classification
2000
Street
14049 SCENIC HWY

These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).

Mission and programs · 2023

Mission

To explore and express the preeminence of Jesus Christ in all things; to educate Christians to engage culture and cultures; to examine and unfold creation; and to pursue biblical justice and mercy in community with the student-faculty relationship, strong teaching, and scholarship at the foundation. Our Christ-centered community seeks to help students mature in three primary areas: identity in Christ, Biblical frame of reference, and service that is Christ-like.

Activities or mission (Part I)

To provide Christ-centered higher educational services.

  • Instructional expenses: These expenses relate directly to the academic disciplines of the College. With approximately thirty majors, two master's programs, and more than fifty minors and concentrations, Covenant College provided nearly 900 students with a well-rounded liberal arts education while simultaneously preparing them for careers or advanced degrees in theology, medicine, business, art, music, engineering, education, psychology, international relations, and much more.

    Expenses $31,159,410 · Grants $21,562,162 · Revenue $35,349,656

  • Auxiliary enterprises and independent operations: The College's four residence halls, student apartments, and dining hall compose the auxiliary enterprises. While all of the halls offer a close, supportive community of students, each building has its own distinctive personality and each floor has its own identity and traditions. Additionally, the College hosts camps and conferences and has an onsite gift shop filled with Covenant apparel, classroom supplies, snacks and other items. The camps and conferences as well as the gift shop are included in independent operations.

    Expenses $8,907,303 · Revenue $10,349,960

  • Student services: Student services at Covenant help create a rich learning environment for our students. From the moment a student becomes interested in attending Covenant, the admissions office provides him or her with resources and personalized attention to help each student make an informed and thoughtful decision about where to attend college. The student development office fosters a positive residential experience through intentional training with resident assistants, hall presidents, and dorm councils. In addition to campus activities, student development offers student training programs, individual academic counsel, professional counseling and medical services to students. Our records and financial aid offices personally work with students to ensure they are on track for graduation and are financially able to complete their education at Covenant. Students have access to the Center for Calling & Career, where they learn to build a resume, write a cover letter, interview well, and network with future employers.

    Expenses $7,600,745 · Revenue $165,072

  • Academic support: The College works to provide students with academic support at every stage of their Covenant education. In addition to highly qualified staff, the Covenant library is networked with more than 18,000 other institutions worldwide, providing interlibrary loan access and document delivery services to over 1.3 billion library items. Our library was eleventh in the world to go live with the Online Computer Library Center's new cloud-based operating system, Web-scale Management Service. Covenant's writing center is located in the library, providing students one-on-one tutoring for essays, research papers, and any writing-related assignments. The Office of Academic Affairs at Covenant works to provide support for deans and faculty members as they seek to provide a rigorous education to Covenant students. Covenant's master of education and master of arts in teaching degrees offered by the graduate school of education at Covenant provide students with the exceptional opportunity of completing a master's degree in one year. Covenant's Maclellan Scholars program offers courses designed to encourage critical thinking and develop the skills of potential Christian leaders. Students in the program travel internationally while at Covenant and demonstrate leadership through student-initiated projects.

    Expenses $2,110,648

As filed on the 2023 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.

Officers and directors · 2023

As listed in Part VII of the 2023 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.

  • Bob Wilkinson

    Secretary

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 1 related
  • Craig Wood

    Vice Chairman

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 1 related
  • John Truschel

    Chairman

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 1 related
  • Martin Moore

    Treasurer

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 1 related
  • Bob Curtis

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 1 related
  • David Caines

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Don Mellott

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Dr Bradley Harris

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Dr Gordon Sluis

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Dr Render Caines

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Dr Robert Rayburn

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Drew Jelgerhuis

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Duncan Highmark

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Ken Smith

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Mark Griggs

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Mike Kramer

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 1 related
  • Rev Alexander Brown

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Rev Bradley Barnes

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Rev Lance Lewis

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Rev Matt Fray

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Rev Omari Hill

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Rev Scott Seaton

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Rev Tom Groelsema

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Richard Bowser

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 1 related
  • Sam R Smartt Jr

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 1 related

The first 25 listed. Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.

Filings

  • 2023
    Revenue
    $55,489,035
    Expenses
    $57,790,075
    Contributions
    $8,945,058
    Grants paid
    $21,562,162
  • 2022
    Revenue
    $49,689,611
    Expenses
    $53,240,912
    Contributions
    $7,349,533
    Grants paid
    $19,281,677

The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.

Other returns filed

  • 2023 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2022 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2021 · 990

    Revenue
    $54,082,557
    Expenses
    $51,842,194
    Assets (EOY)
    $101,474,646
  • 2021 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2020 · 990

    Revenue
    $47,383,629
    Expenses
    $47,497,943
    Assets (EOY)
    $105,869,402
  • 2020 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2019 · 990

    Revenue
    $50,724,767
    Expenses
    $48,119,813
    Assets (EOY)
    $98,255,603
  • 2018 · 990

    Revenue
    $52,053,076
    Expenses
    $50,634,403
    Assets (EOY)
    $98,973,141
  • 2017 · 990

    Revenue
    $56,270,730
    Expenses
    $50,621,128
    Assets (EOY)
    $100,341,114
  • 2016 · 990

    Revenue
    $50,276,314
    Expenses
    $46,896,266
    Assets (EOY)
    $98,285,174

Nonprofiteer parses Forms 990, 990-EZ and 990-PF, in a window of recent tax years. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all. Showing the 10 most recent; the API carries the rest.

Grants made

Where these grants went next →

Grants received

The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.

Related organizations

From Schedule R Part II, where a filer lists the tax-exempt organizations it is related to by control. It does not record shared board members or money.

Declared on its 2023 return

Declared as related by

Taxable family

From Schedule R Parts I, III and IV: entities that legally are the filer, and taxable partnerships, corporations and trusts it is related to. These record ownership and control, not shared board members or money.

Disregarded entities on its 2022 return

Other IRS files

Auto-Revocation List

Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.

Publication 78

Listed as of 13 October 2026, under deductibility PC.

These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.

What this page reflects

The registration facts above come from the IRS Business Master File published 13 October 2026 and read 29 October 2026, for every organization at once. Returns through tax year 2023, the newest we have parsed for this organization.