Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← All organizations

BAYVIEW HUNTERS POINT FOUNDATION FOR COMMUNITY IMPROVEMENT INC

EIN 94-1747575 SAN FRANCISCO, CA

Browse the largest nonprofits in California

Revenue 2023
$17,901,881
Expenses 2023
$18,407,091

Program services were 82.3% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

As filed

Subsection
03
Classification
1200
Street
1625 CARROLL AVE

These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).

Other organizations at this address

2 other organizations in the IRS Business Master File list the same street address. matched by us

We match the street line and ZIP code as the IRS gives them, ignoring case and outer spaces and nothing else, so "AVE" and "AVENUE" count as different streets and this list can miss some. A shared address can mean related organizations or a shared office, but it can also be a registered agent, a mail drop or a service provider holding mail for unrelated clients. It is not, by itself, evidence that two organizations are connected.

Mission and programs · 2023

Mission

PROVIDE SUPPORT SERVICES FOR THE COMMUNITY RELATING TO MENTAL HEALTH, SUBSTANCE ABUSE, YOUTH SERVICES & VIOLENCE PREVENTION.

  • INTEGRATED BEHAVIORAL HEALTH SERVICES PROGRAM PROVIDES: BEHAVIORAL HEALTH SERVICES ARE PROVIDED THROUGH THE FOLLOWING PROGRAMS: MENTAL HEALTH PROGRAM- THE MENTAL HEALTH SERVICES PROGRAM PROVIDES INDIVIDUAL AND GROUP THERAPY FOR THE PREVENTION AND EARLY DETECTION OF MENTAL ILLNESS, AND DIAGNOSIS, TREATMENT AND REHABILITATION FOR ADOLESCENTS AND ADULTS WITH MENTAL AND EMOTIONAL DISORDERS. BALBOA TEEN HEALTH CENTER- THIS IS A COMPREHENSIVE PRIMARY CARE MEDICAL, MENTAL HEALTH, AND HEALTH EDUCATION PROGRAM FOR STUDENTS AT BALBOA HIGH SCHOOL.DIMENSIONS OUTPATIENT SA- THE DIMENSIONS CLINIC PROVIDES BEHAVIORAL HEALTH COUNSELING SERVICES FOR TRANSITIONAL AGED YOUTH (TAY) AMD OTHER YOUTH AGED TWELVE TO TWENTY- FIVE WHO IDENTIFY AS LESBIAN,BISEXUAL, TRANSGENDER, AND OR QUEER (LGBTQ).

    Expenses $2,174,816

  • SUBSTANCE USE DISORDER SERVICES (SUDS):OUTPATIENT METHADONE MAINTENANCE (OMM)- THE OMM PROGRAM SERVES INDIVIDUALS WHO ARE UNABLE TO CEASE THE USE OF HEROIN WITHOUT MEDICAL ASSISTANCE AND HEROIN ABUSERS AT RISK FOR HIV INFECTION. THE PROGRAM INCLUDES SHORT TERM DETOXIFICATION AND LONG-TERM MAINTENANCE, AND OUTPATIENT SUBSTANCE ABUSE COUNSELING. JAIL METHADONE MAINTENANCE- THE JAIL METHADONE MAINTENANCE PROGRAM SERVES INCARCERATED HEROIN ABUSERS WHO ARE ALSO REGISTERED IN A METHADONE PROGRAM. HIV SET ASIDE ROUTINE OPT-OUT - THIS PROGRAM PROVIDES OPTIONAL ROUTINE TESTING TO CLIENTS WHO ARE ENROLLED IN THE METHADONE MAINTENANCE PROGRAM. IN ADDITION, IT IS THE PROGRAM'S GOAL TO REDUCE RISK AMONG CLIENTS WHO ARE AT-RISK FOR HIV INFECTION AND TO LINK THOSE WHO TEST POSITIVE FOR HIV TO CARE. THE PROGRAM ALSO PROVIDES HIV/AIDS COUNSLING TO THE COMMUNITY.

    Expenses $2,131,106

  • RESIDENTIAL SERVICES:JELANI FAMILY RESIDENTIAL STEP-DOWN (JFRSD) PROGRAM- THE JFRSD PROGRAM IS A 24-MONTH INDEPENDENT-LIVING RESIDENTIAL HOUSING FACILITY PROVIDING SUPPORT TO THOSE WHO ARE ON THEIR WAY TO REGAINING INDEPENDENCE IN THEIR LIVES AFTER SUCCESSFULLY COMPLETING A MINIMUM 3- MONTHS INPATIENT TREATMENT PROGRAM. RESIDENTS ARE ADULTS RECOVERING FROM SUBSTANCE USE WHO HAVE FINISHED A CLINICAL TREATMENT PROGRAM AND MAY INCLUDE CHILDREN AND FAMILY MEMBERS. IS LEGALLY PERMISSIBLE AND A COMPONENT OF THEIR TRANSITION. ALL RESIDENTS MUST BE CLEAN AND SOBER ABSTAINING FROM ADDICTIVE DRUGS AND ALCOHOL. (CONTINUED ON SCHEDULE O)BAYVIEW HILLS GARDENS PROGRAM- THE PROGRAM PROVIDES SUPPORTIVE SERVICES TO FORMERLY HOMELESS FAMILIES WITH A MINOR CHILDREN LIVING AT THE BAYVIEW HILL GARDENS HOUSING FACILITY.

    Expenses $5,551,766

  • HOMELESS SERVICES:SAFE NAVIGATION CENTERS- THE SAFE NAVIGATION CENTERS FOR LOW-THRESHOLD, HIGH-SERVICE TEMPORARY SHELTER PROGRAMS FOR ADULTS EXPERIENCING HOMELESSNESS IN SAN FRANCISCO. BAYVIEW OPERATES AND STAFFS THE BAYVIEW NAVIGATION CENTER.BAYSHORE SAFE AND EMBARCADERO SAFE NAVIGATION CENTERS- BAYVIEW HUNTERS POINT FOUNDATION FOR COMMUNITY IMPROVEMENT (BVHPF) PROVIDES CASE MANAGEMENT STAFFING AT THE BAYSHORE AND EMBARCADERO NAVIGATION CENTERS, WHICH ARE OPERATED BY FIVE KEYS SCHOOLS AND PROGRAM (FIVE KEYS).RED COACH INN (SITE 48) SHELTER-IN-PLACE (SIP) HOTEL- THE SIP HOTEL SITES PROVIDE TEMPORARY HOUSING FOR UNSHELTERED ADULTS IN SAN FRANCISCO DURING THE COVID EPIDEMIC. BAYVIEW OPERATES AND STAFFS THE RED COACH INN SITE.WHITCOMB, MOSCONE, INTERNATIONAL, AND ADANTE SHELTER-IN-PLACE HOTELS- BAYVIEW PROVIDES CASE MANAGEMENT STAFFING TO THE WHITCOMB, MOSCONE, INTERNATIONAL AND ADANTE SIP HOTELS, WHICH ARE OPERATED BY FIVE KEYS.HOUSING SERVICES:RAPID REHOUSING- RAPID REHOUSING IS A TIME- LIMITED SUBSIDY FOR FORMERLY UNHOUSED PEOPLE THAT GRADUALLY DECREASES AS THE TENANT STABILIZES AND FINDS HOUSING OUTSIDE OF THE HOMELESS SYSTEM OF CARE. TENANTS LIVE IN PRIVATE-MARKET UNITS AND ACCESS SUPPORTIVE SERVICES PROVIDED BY BVHPF, INCLUDING CASE MANAGEMENT AND HOUSING RETENTION ASSISTANCE.FLEXIBLE HOUSING SUBSIDY POOL (FHSP)- FHSP IS A FORM OF PERMANENT SUPPORTIVE HOUSING, PROVIDING TENANTS LONG-TERM AFFORDABLE HOUSING WITH A RANGE OF SUPPORTIVE SERVICES, WITH SUBSIDIES TO LIVE IN UNITS IN THE PRIVATE RENTAL MARKET. BAYVIEW PROVIDES CASE MANAGEMENT AND HOUSING RETENTION ASSISTANCE.

    Expenses $5,296,620

As filed on the 2023 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.

Officers and directors · 2023

As listed in Part VII of the 2023 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.

  • James Bouquin

    CHIEF EXE.

    Total calculated
    $256,886
    From this org
    $256,886
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40 + 2 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $256,886
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported
    Filer's total
    $256,886
  • Simbarashe Ndemera

    CHIEF FIN. O

    Total calculated
    $177,917
    From this org
    $177,917
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $177,917
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported
    Filer's total
    $177,917
  • Pamela Gilmore

    CHIEF MISSIO

    Total calculated
    $170,000
    From this org
    $170,000
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $170,000
    Bonus
    not reported
    Other
    not reported
    Deferred
    not reported
    Nontaxable benefits
    not reported
    Filer's total
    $170,000
  • Darrell Smith

    CHIEF OPER.

    Total calculated
    $110,604
    From this org
    $110,604
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • Chuck Coulson

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 2 related
  • Adam Cray

    TREASURER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 2 related
  • Claude Everhart

    SECRETARY

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 2 related
  • Wayzel Fuller

    VICE CHAIR O

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 2 related
  • Susan Watson

    CHAIR OF THE

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 2 related

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.

Filings

  • 2023
    Revenue
    $17,901,881
    Expenses
    $18,407,091
    Contributions
    $17,820,997
    Grants paid
    $0
  • 2022
    Revenue
    $20,846,144
    Expenses
    $19,334,712
    Contributions
    $20,486,688
    Grants paid
    $0

The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.

Other returns filed

  • 2021 · 990

    Revenue
    $20,332,412
    Expenses
    $19,818,179
    Assets (EOY)
    $4,311,906
  • 2020 · 990

    Revenue
    $10,177,517
    Expenses
    $9,942,273
    Assets (EOY)
    $2,481,067
  • 2019 · 990

    Revenue
    $5,186,856
    Expenses
    $5,289,479
    Assets (EOY)
    $1,464,304
  • 2018 · 990

    Revenue
    $4,989,537
    Expenses
    $5,234,211
    Assets (EOY)
    $963,985
  • 2017 · 990

    Revenue
    $5,657,587
    Expenses
    $5,826,185
    Assets (EOY)
    $1,546,700
  • 2016 · 990

    Revenue
    $7,730,393
    Expenses
    $7,731,687
    Assets (EOY)
    $2,940,104
  • 2015 · 990

    Revenue
    $8,112,942
    Expenses
    $8,150,599
    Assets (EOY)
    $2,076,307
  • 2014 · 990

    Revenue
    $7,771,611
    Expenses
    $8,095,450
    Assets (EOY)
    $1,614,151
  • 2013 · 990

    Revenue
    $8,860,802
    Expenses
    $9,363,730
    Assets (EOY)
    $2,322,107
  • 2012 · 990

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    $8,418,652
    Assets (EOY)
    $2,458,004

Nonprofiteer parses Forms 990, 990-EZ and 990-PF, in a window of recent tax years. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all. Showing the 10 most recent; the API carries the rest.

Grants made

No itemized grants to organizations. Schedule I is filed only by organizations that granted more than $5,000 to a recipient, so most filers have none.

Grants received

Related organizations

From Schedule R Part II, where a filer lists the tax-exempt organizations it is related to by control. It does not record shared board members or money.

Declared on its 2023 return

Declared as related by

Taxable family

From Schedule R Parts I, III and IV: entities that legally are the filer, and taxable partnerships, corporations and trusts it is related to. These record ownership and control, not shared board members or money.

Disregarded entities on its 2023 return

  • 5815 3RD STREET HOLDING LLC

    RENTAL · CA · income $709,837 · assets $5,596,915

Other IRS files

Auto-Revocation List

Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.

Publication 78

Listed as of 13 October 2026, under deductibility PC.

These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.

What this page reflects

The registration facts above come from the IRS Business Master File published 13 October 2026 and read 1 November 2026, for every organization at once. Returns through tax year 2023, the newest we have parsed for this organization.