Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← All organizations

BALTIMORE SYMPHONY ENDOWMENT TRUST

EIN 77-0659339 BALTIMORE, MD

Revenue 2023
$16,704,422
Expenses 2023
$12,506,863

Program services were 77.4% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

As filed

Subsection
03
NTEE code
B11
Classification
2000
Street
1212 CATHEDRAL STREET

These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).

Other organizations at this address

1 other organization in the IRS Business Master File lists the same street address. matched by us

We match the street line and ZIP code as the IRS gives them, ignoring case and outer spaces and nothing else, so "AVE" and "AVENUE" count as different streets and this list can miss some. A shared address can mean related organizations or a shared office, but it can also be a registered agent, a mail drop or a service provider holding mail for unrelated clients. It is not, by itself, evidence that two organizations are connected.

Mission and programs · 2023

Mission

THE ORGANIZATION IS A SUPPORTING ORGANIZATION OF THE BALTIMORE SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA, INC. (BSO) AND EXISTS TO SUPPORT BSO IN ACCOMPLISHING ITS MISSIONS. THE DEPRECIATION EXPENSE OF THE ENDOWMENT TRUST RELATES TO ASSETS USED BY THE BSO IN FURTHERANCE OF ITS MISSIONS.

Activities or mission (Part I)

TO SUPPORT THE BALTIMORE SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA IN ACCOMPLISHING ITS MISSIONS.

  • THE BALTIMORE SYMPHONY ENDOWMENT TRUST IS A SUPPORTING ORGANIZATION OF THE BALTIMORE SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA, INC. (BSO) AND EXISTS TO SUPPORT BSO IN ACCOMPLISHING ITS MISSIONS. THE DEPRECIATION EXPENSE OF THE ENDOWMENT TRUST RELATES TO ASSETS USED BY THE BSO IN FURTHERANCE OF ITS MISSIONS.

    Expenses $9,678,634 · Grants $8,560,000

As filed on the 2023 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.

Officers and directors · 2023

As listed in Part VII of the 2023 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.

  • Mr Mark Hanson

    BOARD MEMBER AND CEO

    Total calculated
    $497,136
    From this org
    $85,530
    From related orgs
    $342,120
    Other
    $69,486
    Hours/week
    8 + 32 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $84,002 + $336,010 related
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $1,528 + $6,110 related
    Deferred
    $5,000 + $20,000 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    $8,897 + $35,589 related
    Filer's total
    $99,427 + $397,709 related
  • Mr Andrew A Stern

    CHAIRMAN

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Mr Chris Barlett

    CHAIRMAN (PART YEAR)

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Ms Chaitanya Yaramada

    VICE PRESIDENT

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Mr Steven R Schuh

    TREASURER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 2 related
  • Ms Barbara Bozzuto

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 2 related
  • Mr Kenneth W Defontes Jr

    BOARD MEMBER (PART YEAR)

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Mr Richard Monfred

    BOARD MEMBER (PART YEAR)

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Ms Nicole Nesbit

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Ms Beth Rosenwald

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Mr Barry Rosen

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 2 related
  • Mr Mark Vaselkiv

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Mr John G McLean Jr

    SVP & CFO (PART YEAR)

    Total calculated
    $199,379
    From this org
    $35,354
    From related orgs
    $141,416
    Other
    $22,609
    Hours/week
    4 + 36 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $35,336 + $141,344 related
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $18 + $72 related
    Deferred
    $0
    Nontaxable benefits
    $4,522 + $18,087 related
    Filer's total
    $39,876 + $159,503 related
  • Mr Leonard Williams

    INTERIM CFO

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Ms Allison Burr-Livingstone

    VP & CHIEF ADVANCEMENT OFFICER

    Total calculated
    $233,818
    From this org
    $47,146
    From related orgs
    $141,436
    Other
    $45,236
    Hours/week
    10 + 30 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $47,132 + $141,396 related
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $14 + $40 related
    Deferred
    $0
    Nontaxable benefits
    $11,309 + $33,927 related
    Filer's total
    $58,455 + $175,363 related

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.

Filings

  • 2023
    Revenue
    $16,704,422
    Expenses
    $12,506,863
    Contributions
    $8,674,400
    Grants paid
    $8,560,000
  • 2022
    Revenue
    $7,990,830
    Expenses
    $6,187,456
    Contributions
    $3,051,904
    Grants paid
    $3,550,000

The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.

Other returns filed

  • 2024 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2023 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2022 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2021 · 990

    Revenue
    $5,853,345
    Expenses
    $5,027,446
    Assets (EOY)
    $88,796,004
  • 2021 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2020 · 990

    Revenue
    $13,499,613
    Expenses
    $5,536,325
    Assets (EOY)
    $103,664,720
  • 2020 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2019 · 990

    Revenue
    $1,289,378
    Expenses
    $5,939,328
    Assets (EOY)
    $93,563,260
  • 2018 · 990

    Revenue
    $5,973,326
    Expenses
    $8,530,011
    Assets (EOY)
    $92,104,541
  • 2017 · 990

    Revenue
    $7,672,767
    Expenses
    $11,312,393
    Assets (EOY)
    $98,139,951

Nonprofiteer parses Forms 990, 990-EZ and 990-PF, in a window of recent tax years. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all. Showing the 10 most recent; the API carries the rest.

Grants made

Where these grants went next →

Grants received

No itemized grant names this organization as a recipient. Only grants over $5,000 are itemized, and only by filers of the full Form 990.

Related organizations

From Schedule R Part II, where a filer lists the tax-exempt organizations it is related to by control. It does not record shared board members or money.

Declared on its 2023 return

Declared as related by

Taxable family

From Schedule R Parts I, III and IV: entities that legally are the filer, and taxable partnerships, corporations and trusts it is related to. These record ownership and control, not shared board members or money.

Related corporations and trusts on its 2023 return

  • CATHEDRAL PARKING INC

    C · PARKING GARAGE · MD · 100% owned · share of income -$11,986 · share of assets $975,684 · controlled entity

Other IRS files

Auto-Revocation List

Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.

Publication 78

Listed as of 13 October 2026, under deductibility SOUNK.

These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.

What this page reflects

The registration facts above come from the IRS Business Master File published 13 October 2026 and read 1 November 2026, for every organization at once. Returns through tax year 2023, the newest we have parsed for this organization.