Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← All organizations

NORTH AMERICAN VASCULAR BIOLOGY ORGANIZATION INC

EIN 52-1917956 GERMANTOWN, MD

Browse the largest nonprofits in Maryland

Revenue 2024
$573,073
Expenses 2024
$583,138

Program services were 81.2% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

As filed

Subsection
03
NTEE code
B60P
Classification
2000
Street
18501 KINGSHILL RD

These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).

Mission and programs · 2024

Mission

THE MISSION OF NAVBO IS TO PROMOTE THE STUDY OF VASCULAR BIOLOGY. THE PURPOSE OF THE SOCIETY IS TO PROVIDE A FORUM WHEREBY MEMBERS DISSEMINATE AND SHARE KNOWLEDGE RELATED TO THE SCIENTIFIC FIELD OF VASCULAR BIOLOGY, TO ENSURE THE TRANSLATION OF KNOWLEDGE FROM BASIC SCIENCE TO CLINICAL PRACTICE. NAVBO SUPPORTS AND ORGANIZES MEETINGS AND WORKSHOPS, AND MAINTAINS A WEBSITE LINKING THE VASCULAR BIOLOGY COMMUNITY.

Activities or mission (Part I)

THE PURPOSE OF NAVBO SHALL BE TO PROMOTE, ADVANCE, AND DISSEMINATE INFORMATION AND KNOWLEDGE RELATED TO THE SCIENTIFIC FIELD OF VASCULAR BIOLOGY AND ITS INTERFACE WITH HUMAN MEDICINE AND PATHOLOGY. THESE PURPOSES SHALL BE ACHIEVED PRIMARILY THROUGH THE SUPPORT OF EDUCATIONAL ACTIVITES AND SCIENTIFIC MEETINGS.

  • MEMBER SERVICES: MEMBER DUES ARE COLLECTED ENABLING THE SOCIETY TO PROVIDE MEMBERS WITH AN ANNUAL NEWSLETTER, A MONTHLY ELECTRONIC NEWSLETTER, A MONTHLY PUBLICATIONS ALERT, MONTHLY WEBINARS, AND A WEB SITE. IN ADDITION TO THESE SERVICES, MEMBERSHIP DUES COVER ALL OPERATIONAL EXPENSES NOT ASSOCIATED WITH A PROGRAM INCLUDING BUT NOT LIMITED TO COMMITTEE EXPENSES, ACCOUNTING, OFFICE SUPPLIES, ETC.

    Expenses $56,652 · Revenue $114,967

  • ANNUAL MEETING: VASCULAR BIOLOGY 2024 BROUGHT TOGETHER SCIENTISTS TO NETWORK ON THE DIVERSE SUBSPECIALTIES WITHIN THE AREA OF VASCULAR BIOLOGY INCLUDING TECHNOLOGIES, BASIC SCIENCE RESEARCH AND TRANSLATIONAL SCIENCE. THE AREAS/SUBSPECIALTIES COVERED IN 2024 WERE DEVELOPMENT AND GENETICS, SIGNALING, INFLAMMATION, VASCULAR MATRIX BIOLOGY AND BIOENGINEERING, AND MICROCIRCULATION. IN 2024, THE MEETING WAS HELD IN PACIFIC GROVE, CA AT THE ASILOMAR CONFERENCE GROUNDS.

    Expenses $330,270 · Grants $16,750 · Revenue $225,236

  • VASCULATA: A SUMMER COURSE THAT PROMOTES THE STUDY OF VASCULAR BIOLOGY. IT IS DESIGNED TO PRESENT AN OVERVIEW OF THE FIELD AND FUTURE AREAS OF ACTIVE RESEARCH. INDIVIDUALS WITH LITTLE OR NO BACKGROUND IN VASCULAR BIOLOGY ARE ENCOURAGED TO ATTEND, AND CURRENT TRAINEES IN THE FIELD AND ALL INTERESTED INDIVIDUALS ARE INVITED TO PARTICIPATE. THIS MEETING IS HELD AT A UNIVERSITY AND INCLUDES DEMONSTRATIONS OF LAB TECHNIQUES. IN 2024, VASCULATA WAS HOSTED BY STANFORD UNIVERSITY IN STANFORD, CA.

    Expenses $86,415 · Revenue $78,875

  • Revenue $13,448

As filed on the 2024 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.

Officers and directors · 2024

As listed in Part VII of the 2024 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.

  • Angela Glading

    COUNCILOR (1/1/24-6/30/24)

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Anjelica Gonzalez

    COUNCILOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Bill Muller

    SECRETARY-TREASURER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • Christopher Hughes

    PAST PRESIDENT (1/1/24-6/30/24)

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Yun Fang

    COUNCILOR (7/1/24-6/30/27)

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Sophie Astrof

    COUNCILOR (7/1/24-6/30/27)

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Elisa Boscolo

    COUNCILOR (1/1/24-6/30/24)

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Kristy Red-Horse

    PRESIDENT (1/1/24-6/30/24)

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • Tsutomu Kume

    COUNCILOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Jason Fish

    PRESIDENT (7/1/24-6/30/25)

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    5
  • Mingxia Gu

    COUNCILOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Scott Johnstone

    COUNCILOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Bernadette Englert

    EXECUTIVE OFFICER

    Total calculated
    $110,185
    From this org
    $110,185
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • A Wayne

    PRESIDENT ELECT (7/1/24-12/31/24)

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.

Filings

  • 2024
    Revenue
    $573,073
    Expenses
    $583,138
    Contributions
    $124,528
    Grants paid
    $16,750
  • 2023
    Revenue
    $545,498
    Expenses
    $562,866
    Contributions
    $100,630
    Grants paid
    $19,500
  • 2022
    Revenue
    $804,780
    Expenses
    $778,795
    Contributions
    $273,768
    Grants paid
    $21,250

The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.

Other returns filed

  • 2024 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2023 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2022 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2021 · 990

    Revenue
    $331,244
    Expenses
    $318,721
    Assets (EOY)
    $541,369
  • 2021 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2020 · 990

    Revenue
    $246,074
    Expenses
    $238,712
    Assets (EOY)
    $515,689
  • 2020 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2019 · 990

    Revenue
    $465,526
    Expenses
    $438,208
    Assets (EOY)
    $353,804
  • 2018 · 990

    Revenue
    $354,741
    Expenses
    $354,532
    Assets (EOY)
    $324,048
  • 2017 · 990

    Revenue
    $402,054
    Expenses
    $404,988
    Assets (EOY)
    $322,389

Nonprofiteer parses Forms 990, 990-EZ and 990-PF, in a window of recent tax years. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all. Showing the 10 most recent; the API carries the rest.

Grants made

No itemized grants to organizations. Schedule I is filed only by organizations that granted more than $5,000 to a recipient, so most filers have none.

Grants received

Other IRS files

Auto-Revocation List

Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.

Publication 78

Listed as of 13 October 2026, under deductibility PC.

These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.

What this page reflects

The registration facts above come from the IRS Business Master File published 13 October 2026 and read 1 November 2026, for every organization at once. Returns through tax year 2024, the newest we have parsed for this organization.