- Revenue 2023
- $105,661,585
- Expenses 2023
- $103,132,931
Program services were 91.4% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.
As filed
- Subsection
- 03
- NTEE code
- E99
- Classification
- 1000
- Street
- 611 S KINGSLEY DR
These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).
Mission and programs · 2023
Mission
APLA HEALTH RESTORES DIGNITY AND TRUST WITHIN UNDERSERVED COMMUNITIES BY PROVIDING WORLD-CLASS LGBTQ+ EMPOWERING HEALTHCARE, HIV SPECIALTY CARE, FOOD, HOUSING AND OTHER ESSENTIAL SUPPORT SERVICES.
-
APLA HEALTH AND WELLNESS IS A FEDERALLY QUALIFIED HEALTH CENTER (FQHC) PROVIDING LOW AND NO COST MEDICAL, DENTAL, AND BEHAVIORAL HEALTH SERVICES TO LOW INCOME INDIVIDUALS, INCLUDING THOSE LIVING WITH HIV/AIDS. SERVICES ARE PROVIDED AT EIGHT CLINIC SITES LOCATED THROUGHOUT LOS ANGELES COUNTY. IN ADDITION TO MEDICAL, DENTAL, AND BEHAVIORAL HEALTH SERVICES, PATIENTS ARE PROVIDED WITH ENROLLMENT AND ELIGIBILITY ASSISTANCE, TRANSPORTAION, AND CARE COORDINATION SERVICES. DURING THE YEAR ENDING JUNE 30, 2024, APLA HEALTH & WELLNESS PROVIDED CARE TO 12,855 PATIENTS THROUGH 66,602 VISITS.
Expenses $70,764,662 · Revenue $66,828,038
-
ALLIANCE FOR HOUSING AND HEALING, THE HOUSING PROGRAMS OF APLA HEALTH & WELLNESS, PROVIDES HOUSING AND SUPPORT SERVICES TO INDIVIDUALS WITH ILLNESSES, INCLUDING PERMANENT HOUSING, FEDERAL HOUSING OPPORTUNITIES, GROUP HOMES, AND INTENSIVE CASE MANAGEMENT. FOR THE YEAR ENDING JUNE 30, 2024, APLA HEALTH & WELLNESS PROVIDED 2,297 CLIENTS WITH HOUSING AND SUPPORT SERVICES.
Expenses $18,041,857 · Grants $7,152,765 · Revenue $391,316
-
THE VANCE NORTH NECESSITIES OF LIFE PROGRAM, (NOLP) PROVIDES FREE FOOD AND HYGIENE ITEMS AND NUTRITION EDUCATION TO LOW-INCOME MEN, WOMEN AND FAMILIES LIVING WITH HIV/AIDS THROUGHOUT THE COUNTY OF LOS ANGELES. DURING THE PAST YEAR, NOLP PROVIDED 2,133 CLIENTS A TOTAL OF 206,222 BAGS OF GROCERIES.
Expenses $5,146,747
-
THE HOME HEALTH PROGRAM PROVIDES INTENSIVE NURSE AND SOCIAL WORK CASE MANAGEMENT TO HIV POSITIVE CLIENTS IN LOS ANGELES COUNTY WHO ARE IN DANGER OF FALLING INTO INSTITUTIONALIZED CARE OR OUT OF CARE ENTIRELY. THE PROGRAM ALSO PROVIDES ADDITIONAL IN-HOME SERVICES SUCH AS ATTENDANT CARE AND PSYCHOTHERAPY IN ORDER TO PROMOTE INDEPENDENT LIVING, QUALITY OF LIFE, AND MAXIMIZE HEALTH OUTCOMES. THE PROGRAM HELPS CLIENTS STAY IN THEIR OWN HOMES THEREBY REDUCING HE NEED FOR COSTLY SKILLED NURSING OR EXTENDED CARE PLACEMENTS, AND REDUCES THE BARRIERS TO EFFECTIVE HIV TREATMENT THEREBY HELPING LIMIT HIV-DISEASE PROGRESSION. APLA HEALTH & WELLNESS PROVIDES A NUMBER OF OTHER SMALLER PROGRAMS TO CLIENTS, INCLUDING FREE CONFIDENTIAL HIV COUNSELING AND TESTING; STD SCREENING AND TREATMENT; ACTIVELY OUTREACHING TO THE COMMUNITY AT-RISK FOR CONTRACTING HIV AND AIDS WITH A VARIETY OF PREVENTION-FOCUSED INTERVENTIONS; LINKAGE AND RETENTION IN CARE SUPPORT SERVICES; BENEFITS COUNSELING; SERVICES TO THOSE AGING WITH HIV; PREP/PEP NAVIGATION; AND RESEARCH PROJECTS.
Expenses $361,712 · Grants $306,946 · Revenue $2,422,746
As filed on the 2023 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.
Officers and directors · 2023
As listed in Part VII of the 2023 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.
-
Alan R WaldenALAN R WALDEN
TREASURER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1.5
-
Anthony HendersonANTHONY HENDERSON
BOARD VICE CHAIR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 3
-
Jessie L McGrathJESSIE L MCGRATH
SECRETARY
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1.5
-
Lee KlosinskiLEE KLOSINSKI
BOARD CHAIR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 3
-
Andrew ClarkANDREW CLARK
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Anyae CardwellANYAE CARDWELL
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Chad FranksCHAD FRANKS
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Christopher TangCHRISTOPHER TANG
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Cody SiscoCODY SISCO
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Daphne Kay ReddingDAPHNE KAY REDDING
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
David DoanDAVID DOAN
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
David FloresDAVID FLORES
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Denis CagnaDENIS CAGNA
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Elwood SidesELWOOD SIDES
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
James Patton IIIJAMES PATTON III
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
John SallyJOHN SALLY
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
John SquatrittoJOHN SQUATRITTO
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Lindsey MorrisonLINDSEY MORRISON
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
M'Alyssa MecenasM'ALYSSA MECENAS
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Maricela De RiveraMARICELA DE RIVERA
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Mark KadzielskiMARK KADZIELSKI
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Natalie RamosNATALIE RAMOS
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Stuart DowneySTUART DOWNEY
DIRECTOR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 1
-
Craig ThompsonCRAIG THOMPSON
CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER
- Total calculated
- $553,606
- From this org
- $528,806
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $24,800
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $528,806
- Bonus
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Deferred
- $19,800
- Nontaxable benefits
- $5,000
- Filer's total
- $553,606
-
Kristina DixonKRISTINA DIXON
INTERIM CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER - START 02/2024
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 40
The first 25 listed. Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.
Filings
-
2023
- Revenue
- $105,661,585
- Expenses
- $103,132,931
- Contributions
- $35,796,970
- Grants paid
- $7,459,711
-
2022
- Revenue
- $84,183,473
- Expenses
- $81,315,621
- Contributions
- $21,920,400
- Grants paid
- $204,972
The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.
Other returns filed
-
2024 · 990-T
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- not reported
- Assets (EOY)
- not reported
-
2023 · 990-T
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- not reported
- Assets (EOY)
- not reported
-
2022 · 990-T
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- not reported
- Assets (EOY)
- not reported
-
2021 · 990
- Revenue
- $73,193,456
- Expenses
- $66,672,998
- Assets (EOY)
- $54,378,695
-
2021 · 990-T
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- not reported
- Assets (EOY)
- not reported
-
2020 · 990
- Revenue
- $66,394,497
- Expenses
- $56,777,396
- Assets (EOY)
- $40,810,614
-
2020 · 990-T
- Revenue
- not reported
- Expenses
- not reported
- Assets (EOY)
- not reported
-
2019 · 990
- Revenue
- $55,511,377
- Expenses
- $50,653,912
- Assets (EOY)
- $35,366,899
-
2018 · 990
- Revenue
- $46,379,066
- Expenses
- $39,944,774
- Assets (EOY)
- $24,150,184
-
2017 · 990
- Revenue
- $20,107,440
- Expenses
- $18,941,362
- Assets (EOY)
- $15,970,412
Nonprofiteer parses Forms 990, 990-EZ and 990-PF, in a window of recent tax years. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all. Showing the 10 most recent; the API carries the rest.
Grants made
-
$69,000
2023 SUPPORT OF HIV/AIDS
-
$30,000
2022 SUPPORT OF HIV/AIDS
-
2023 SUPPORT OF HIV/AIDS
-
2022 SUPPORT OF HIV/AIDS
-
$17,500
2022 SUPPORT OF HIV/AIDS
-
$15,000
2022 SUPPORT OF HIV/AIDS
-
$12,615
2022 SUPPORT OF HIV/AIDS
-
$10,253
2023 SUPPORT OF HIV/AIDS
-
2022 SUPPORT OF HIV/AIDS
-
$5,732
2023 SUPPORT OF HIV/AIDS
The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.
Grants received
-
CALIFORNIA COMMUNITY FOUNDATION
$695,600
2022 HEALTH
-
CALIFORNIA COMMUNITY FOUNDATION
$348,000
2023 HEALTH
-
$100,000
2024 To fund health related services provided AIDS patients.
-
$100,000
2024 GENERAL OPERATING SUPPORT
-
2023 GENERAL SUPPORT
-
$90,000
2022 HEALTH AND WELLNESS GRANT
-
$90,000
2023 COMMUNITY HEALTH GRANT
-
2022 GENERAL SUPPORT
-
2024 GENERAL SUPPORT
-
$75,000
2022 To fund health related services provided AIDS patients.
The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.
Related organizations
From Schedule R Part II, where a filer lists the tax-exempt organizations it is related to by control. It does not record shared board members or money.
Declared on its 2022 return
-
THE GLOBAL FORUM ON MSM & HIV (MSMGF)
501(C)(3) · SEE PART VII · CA · controlled entity
-
ALLIANCE FOR HOUSING AND HEALING
501(C)(3) · SEE PART VII · CA · controlled entity
Declared as related by
-
ALLIANCE FOR HOUSING AND HEALING
On its 2022 return
-
On its 2022 return
California fundraising campaigns
Campaigns run by paid fundraisers, commercial coventurers and thrift stores naming this organization, as California published them. Both figures are as filed, and what the first one counts depends on the campaign type — a coventurer or a thrift store files its own sales rather than money collected for the charity. The 990 reports this only as a yearly total, never per campaign.
-
RITEWAY CHARITY SERVICES INC.
$1,958 raised
2024 CF Vehicle Donation Program
$988 to charity
-
RITEWAY CHARITY SERVICES INC.
$4,350 raised
2023 CF Vehicle Donation Program
$2,680 to charity
-
RITEWAY CHARITY SERVICES INC.
$3,500 raised
2022 CF Vehicle Donation Program
$2,185 to charity
-
RITEWAY CHARITY SERVICES INC.
$675 raised
2021 CF Vehicle Donation Program
$305 to charity
-
RITEWAY CHARITY SERVICES INC.
$4,575 raised
2020 CF Vehicle Donation Program
$2,780 to charity
-
RITEWAY CHARITY SERVICES INC.
$7,125 raised
2019 CF Vehicle Donation Program
$3,928 to charity
Amounts are as filed and do not add up: a commercial coventurer reports one promotion's whole gross once for each charity that shared in it. A campaign may also name more than one registered charity, in which case it appears on each.
Other IRS files
Auto-Revocation List
Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.
Publication 78
Listed as of 13 October 2026, under deductibility PC.
These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.
What this page reflects
The registration facts above come from the IRS Business Master File published 13 October 2026 and read 1 November 2026, for every organization at once. Returns through tax year 2023, the newest we have parsed for this organization.