Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← All organizations

INSTITUTE FOR QUALITY EDUCATION INC

EIN 35-1836687 INDIANAPOLIS, IN

Revenue 2024
$14,632,100
Expenses 2024
$15,610,907

Program services were 97.0% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

As filed

Subsection
03
NTEE code
B99Z
Classification
1000
Street
101 W OHIO ST STE 700

These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).

Other organizations at this address

1 other organization in the IRS Business Master File lists the same street address. matched by us

This address is a suite or unit (STE 700). Organizations that share one are often clients of the same office-services firm, accountant or registered agent rather than related to each other.

We match the street line and ZIP code as the IRS gives them, ignoring case and outer spaces and nothing else, so "AVE" and "AVENUE" count as different streets and this list can miss some. A shared address can mean related organizations or a shared office, but it can also be a registered agent, a mail drop or a service provider holding mail for unrelated clients. It is not, by itself, evidence that two organizations are connected.

Mission and programs · 2024

Mission

THE ORGANIZATION PROVIDES TUITION ASSISTANCE TO LOW-INCOME STUDENTS, SERVES AS A MODEL FOR RESEARCH AND LEGISLATION, AND ENCOURAGES ALL SCHOOLS TO IMPROVE BY INTRODUCING COMPETITION INTO THE SYSTEM. THE ORGANIZATION CONDUCTS RESEARCH AND ANALYSIS ABOUT THE PRIMARY (K-12) EDUCATIONAL SYSTEM IN INDIANA INCLUDING BUT NOT LIMITED TO SCHOOL CHOICE AS IT EXISTS IN MANY FORMS THROUGHOUT THE UNITED STATES AND ELSEWHERE; AND EDUCATES THE GENERAL PUBLIC AND, IN PARTICULAR, INDIANA RESIDENTS ABOUT THE PRIMARY (K-12) EDUCATIONAL SYSTEM IN INDIANA AND THEIR EDUCATIONAL OPTIONS.

Activities or mission (Part I)

TO PROVIDE TUITION ASSISTANCE TO LOW-INCOME FAMILIES FOR PRIMARY AND SECONDARY EDUCATION.

  • SCHOLARSHIP GRANTING ORGANIZATION, WHICH IS CERTIFIED BY THE INDIANA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION, GRANTS SCHOOL SCHOLARSHIPS TO CHILDREN TO ASSIST IN TUITION AND FEES. FOR THE YEAR ENDED 6/30/2025, 6,224 STUDENTS RECIEVED SCHOLARSHIPS.

    Expenses $15,139,476 · Grants $12,790,273

  • IN ADDITION TO PROVIDING TUITION ASSISTANCE TO LOW INCOME FAMILIES, THE ORGANIZATION SERVES WORKS WITH OVER 85% OF THE CHARTER SCHOOLS IN THE STATE BY CONVENING AND LEADING THE INDIANA CHARTER SCHOOL NETWORK.

  • THE ORGANIZATION WORKS TO DEVELOP, ADVOCATE AND IMPLEMENT K-12 EDUCATION POLICIES AT THE STATE LEVEL TO HELP SUPPORT EDUCATIONAL FREEDOM FOR ALL HOOSIER FAMILIES AND EDUCATORS. THE ORGANIZATION WORKS TO EDUCATE FAMILIES, EDUCATORS, COMMUNITY LEADERS CITIZENS, AND POLICY MAKERS IN THE IMPORTANCE OF ACCESS TO A HIGH QUALITY EDUCATION FOR ALL OF INDIANA'S STUDENTS SO THEY EACH MAY LEARN IN AN ENVIRONMENT THAT BEST MEETS THEIR UNIQUE LEARNING NEEDS AND ALLOWS THEM THE OPPORTUNITY TO REACH THEIR FULL POTENTIAL.

As filed on the 2024 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.

Officers and directors · 2024

As listed in Part VII of the 2024 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.

  • Al Hubbard

    CHAIRMAN

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 1 related
  • Dan Elsener

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Robert Enlow

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 1 related
  • Heather Willey Harris

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Neil Pickett

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Jeff Knight

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Scott Bess

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Betsy Wiley

    PRESIDENT

    Total calculated
    $223,234
    From this org
    $136,500
    From related orgs
    $73,500
    Other
    $13,234
    Hours/week
    24 + 16 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $123,500 + $66,500 related
    Bonus
    $13,000 + $7,000 related
    Other
    $0
    Deferred
    $0
    Nontaxable benefits
    $8,602 + $4,632 related
    Filer's total
    $145,102 + $78,132 related

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.

Filings

  • 2024
    Revenue
    $14,632,100
    Expenses
    $15,610,907
    Contributions
    $14,577,033
    Grants paid
    $12,790,273
  • 2023
    Revenue
    $16,377,935
    Expenses
    $12,271,438
    Contributions
    $16,320,683
    Grants paid
    $9,493,158
  • 2022
    Revenue
    $14,528,950
    Expenses
    $13,392,508
    Contributions
    $14,516,950
    Grants paid
    $10,839,645

The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.

Other returns filed

  • 2021 · 990

    Revenue
    $14,892,886
    Expenses
    $13,517,083
    Assets (EOY)
    $13,566,646
  • 2020 · 990

    Revenue
    $12,010,135
    Expenses
    $10,601,277
    Assets (EOY)
    $12,107,092
  • 2019 · 990

    Revenue
    $10,479,375
    Expenses
    $11,258,645
    Assets (EOY)
    $10,842,201
  • 2018 · 990

    Revenue
    $11,241,504
    Expenses
    $10,940,215
    Assets (EOY)
    $11,467,170
  • 2017 · 990

    Revenue
    $12,306,102
    Expenses
    $10,963,636
    Assets (EOY)
    $11,155,040
  • 2016 · 990

    Revenue
    $10,683,451
    Expenses
    $9,090,608
    Assets (EOY)
    $9,845,744
  • 2015 · 990

    Revenue
    $9,482,323
    Expenses
    $7,903,736
    Assets (EOY)
    $7,921,058
  • 2014 · 990

    Revenue
    $8,590,703
    Expenses
    $6,949,040
    Assets (EOY)
    $6,315,129
  • 2012 · 990

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    $2,590,999
    Assets (EOY)
    $2,486,286
  • 2011 · 990

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    $1,636,998
    Assets (EOY)
    $1,534,808

Nonprofiteer parses Forms 990, 990-EZ and 990-PF, in a window of recent tax years. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all. Showing the 10 most recent; the API carries the rest.

Grants made

The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.

Where these grants went next →

Grants received

The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.

Related organizations

From Schedule R Part II, where a filer lists the tax-exempt organizations it is related to by control. It does not record shared board members or money.

Declared on its 2024 return

Declared as related by

Other IRS files

Auto-Revocation List

Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.

Publication 78

Listed as of 13 October 2026, under deductibility PC.

These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.

What this page reflects

The registration facts above come from the IRS Business Master File published 13 October 2026 and read 1 November 2026, for every organization at once. Returns through tax year 2024, the newest we have parsed for this organization.