- Revenue 2024
- $716,349
- Expenses 2024
- $759,193
Program services were 61.9% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.
As filed
- Subsection
- 03
- NTEE code
- P20
- Classification
- 1000
- Street
- 200 MARCY ST STE 102
These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).
Mission and programs · 2024
Mission
INSPIRED BY THE LIFE, WORK, AND MORAL COURAGE OF AMERICAN JOURNALIST, EDUCATOR, AND HUMANITARIAN JAMES W. FOLEY, THE FOLEY FOUNDATION ADVOCATES FOR THE FREEDOM OF INNOCENT US NATIONALS HELD CAPTIVE ABROAD AND PROMOTE JOURNALIST SAFETY. TO DO THIS, WE CONDUCT UNIQUE AND AUTHORITATIVE RESEARCH ABOUT HOSTAGE-TAKING. WE USE DATA ABOUT ISSUES AND STRUCTURED INTERVIEWS THAT CAPTURE THE LIVED EXPERIENCES OF HOSTAGE FAMILIES AND THOSE WHO HAVE RETURNED FROM CAPTIVITY TO INFORM THE PUBLIC AND POLICYMAKERS. WE MAKE LEGISLATIVE AND POLICY RECOMMENDATIONS FOR REFORMS THAT WILL BRING MORE AMERICANS HOME MORE QUICKLY, SUPPORT VICTIMS, AND ULTIMATELY DETER AND PREVENT THE SCOURGE OF HOSTAGE-TAKING.
-
TO ADVOCATE FOR AMERICAN HOSTAGES AND WRONGFUL DETAINEES HELD ABROAD AND PROMOTE JOURNALIST SAFETY.
Expenses $470,274
As filed on the 2024 return. The filer continues this part on Schedule O, which is not shown here.
Officers and directors · 2024
As listed in Part VII of the 2024 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.
-
Diane M FoleyDIANE M FOLEY
PRESIDENT
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 40
-
Peter VenturaPETER VENTURA
TREASURER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Ellen ShearerELLEN SHEARER
CHAIR
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Ali SoufanALI SOUFAN
VICE PRESIDE
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Christopher CostaCHRISTOPHER COSTA
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Rana H AltenburgRANA H ALTENBURG
SECRETARY
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
David LevinsonDAVID LEVINSON
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Fernando ColinaFERNANDO COLINA
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Richard GingrasRICHARD GINGRAS
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Neda Sharghi SalehiNEDA SHARGHI SALEHI
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Mark DonigMARK DONIG
BOARD MEMBER
- Total calculated
- $0
- Hours/week
- 2
-
Benjamin GrayBENJAMIN GRAY
EXECUTIVE DI
- Total calculated
- $180,000
- From this org
- $180,000
- From related orgs
- $0
- Other
- $0
- Hours/week
- 40
Schedule J breakdown matched by us
- Base
- $180,000
- Bonus
- not reported
- Other
- not reported
- Deferred
- not reported
- Nontaxable benefits
- not reported
- Filer's total
- $180,000
Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.
Filings
-
2024
- Revenue
- $716,349
- Expenses
- $759,193
- Contributions
- $662,074
- Grants paid
- $0
-
2023
- Revenue
- $573,723
- Expenses
- $664,374
- Contributions
- $319,472
- Grants paid
- $0
-
2022
- Revenue
- $561,255
- Expenses
- $540,233
- Contributions
- $280,673
- Grants paid
- $0
The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.
Other returns filed
-
2021 · 990
- Revenue
- $477,958
- Expenses
- $449,037
- Assets (EOY)
- $1,045,322
-
2020 · 990
- Revenue
- $387,938
- Expenses
- $363,231
- Assets (EOY)
- $933,486
-
2019 · 990
- Revenue
- $399,800
- Expenses
- $417,847
- Assets (EOY)
- $834,552
-
2018 · 990
- Revenue
- $339,183
- Expenses
- $348,443
- Assets (EOY)
- $852,559
-
2017 · 990
- Revenue
- $481,541
- Expenses
- $343,064
- Assets (EOY)
- $861,858
-
2016 · 990
- Revenue
- $532,180
- Expenses
- $399,999
- Assets (EOY)
- $723,381
-
2015 · 990
- Revenue
- $588,275
- Expenses
- $268,932
- Assets (EOY)
- $640,221
Nonprofiteer parses Forms 990, 990-EZ and 990-PF, in a window of recent tax years. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all.
Grants made
No itemized grants to organizations. Schedule I is filed only by organizations that granted more than $5,000 to a recipient, so most filers have none.
Grants received
-
SILICON VALLEY COMMUNITY FOUNDATION
$125,000
2022 Human Services
-
SILICON VALLEY COMMUNITY FOUNDATION
$100,000
2023 Human Services
-
DONOR ADVISED CHARITABLE GIVING
$32,967
2024 HUMAN SERVICES
-
2024 For grant recipient's exempt purposes
-
$25,000
2023 PUBLIC, SOCIETAL BENEFIT
-
2024 UNRESTRICTED GENERAL SUPPORT
-
$20,000
2024 HUMAN SERVICES
-
$18,805
2022 As recommended by donor via platform
-
$10,000
2022 HUMAN SERVICES
-
2024 HOSTAGE ADVOCATES
The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.
Other IRS files
Auto-Revocation List
Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.
Publication 78
Listed as of 13 October 2026, under deductibility PC.
These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.
What this page reflects
The registration facts above come from the IRS Business Master File published 13 October 2026 and read 1 November 2026, for every organization at once. Returns through tax year 2024, the newest we have parsed for this organization.