Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← All organizations

UNITED SERVICE ORGANIZATIONS

EIN 20-8861567 ARLINGTON, VA

Revenue 2023
$7,538,820
Expenses 2023
$12,272,899

Program services were 96.2% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

As filed

Subsection
03
Classification
1000
Street
2111 WILSON BLVD STE 1200

These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).

Group exemption

A subordinate covered by the group exemption of UNITED SERVICE ORGANIZATIONS INC (EIN 13-1610451). matched by us

The IRS lists each organization's group exemption number; we match a subordinate to its central organization by that number and the affiliation code the IRS assigns.

Officers and directors · 2023

As listed in Part VII of the 2023 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.

  • JED BECKER

    PRESIDENT & CHAIRMAN (END 12/23)

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2 + 1 related
  • AMANDA KOEHLER

    DIRECTOR (END 12/23)

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • ANDREW MAGLIOCHETTI

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • CHRIS CLARKE

    DIRECTOR (END 12/23)

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • COURTNEY L BILLINGTON

    DIRECTOR (BEG 01/23)

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1 + 2 related
  • ROBERT MARTINEZ

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • THOMAS WESSELS

    DIRECTOR (END 12/23)

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • WILLIAM J LYNN III

    DIRECTOR

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • KRISTINE SHUMACK

    TREASURER; USO, INC. CFO

    Total calculated
    $379,176
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $318,802
    Other
    $60,374
    Hours/week
    2 + 48 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $0 + $316,177 related
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $0 + $2,625 related
    Deferred
    $0 + $25,804 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0 + $34,570 related
    Filer's total
    $0 + $379,176 related
  • WARREN CARSTEN

    SEC; USO, INC. VP FIN SYS

    Total calculated
    $213,967
    From this org
    $0
    From related orgs
    $183,294
    Other
    $30,673
    Hours/week
    2 + 40 related

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $0 + $181,650 related
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $0 + $1,644 related
    Deferred
    $0 + $16,757 related
    Nontaxable benefits
    $0 + $13,916 related
    Filer's total
    $0 + $213,967 related

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.

Filings

  • 2023
    Revenue
    $7,538,820
    Expenses
    $12,272,899
    Contributions
    $0
    Grants paid
    $11,801,980
  • 2022
    Revenue
    $18,556,427
    Expenses
    $3,344,529
    Contributions
    $2,730,431
    Grants paid
    $2,945,627

The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.

Other returns filed

  • 2023 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2022 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2021 · 990

    Revenue
    $11,083,062
    Expenses
    $482,870
    Assets (EOY)
    $165,850,457
  • 2021 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2020 · 990

    Revenue
    $10,885,043
    Expenses
    $502,072
    Assets (EOY)
    $147,146,035
  • 2020 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2019 · 990

    Revenue
    $30,939,540
    Expenses
    $495,335
    Assets (EOY)
    $131,992,293
  • 2018 · 990

    Revenue
    $3,274,675
    Expenses
    $448,431
    Assets (EOY)
    $89,657,233
  • 2017 · 990

    Revenue
    $4,825,648
    Expenses
    $567,437
    Assets (EOY)
    $96,597,677
  • 2016 · 990

    Revenue
    $3,115,756
    Expenses
    $577,838
    Assets (EOY)
    $85,858,769

Nonprofiteer parses Forms 990, 990-EZ and 990-PF, in a window of recent tax years. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all. Showing the 10 most recent; the API carries the rest.

Form 990-N e-Postcard, tax year 2009

Tax period
1 January 2009 to 31 December 2009
Principal officer
John Gottschalk - Chairman and Pres
Mailing address
2111 Wilson BoulevardSuite 1200Arlington VA 222013052
Doing business as
USO Foundation

As filed, from the IRS e-Postcard file of 19 October 2026. The IRS publishes only each organization's most recent postcard, so earlier years are not shown. A 990-N carries no financial detail. The postcard also gives the principal officer's address, which is not shown here.

Grants made

Where these grants went next →

Grants received

The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.

Related organizations

From Schedule R Part II, where a filer lists the tax-exempt organizations it is related to by control. It does not record shared board members or money.

Declared on its 2023 return

Declared as related by

Other IRS files

Auto-Revocation List

Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.

Publication 78

Not present in the most recent drop.

These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.

What this page reflects

The registration facts above come from the IRS Business Master File published 13 October 2026 and read 23 October 2026, for every organization at once. Returns through tax year 2023, the newest we have parsed for this organization.