Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← All organizations

HUMANE SOCIETY OF VERO BEACH FLA

EIN 59-0863199 VERO BEACH, FL

Revenue 2024
$7,848,061
Expenses 2024
$6,784,383

Program services were 87.6% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

As filed

Subsection
03
NTEE code
D200
Classification
4000
Street
6230 77TH ST

These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).

Mission and programs · 2024

Mission

NONE

Activities or mission (Part I)

PROVIDE SHELTER, MEDICAL CARE, ADOPTION SERVICES & PREVENT CRUELTY TO ANIMALS.

  • THE HUMANE SOCIETY OF VERO BEACH AND INDIAN RIVER COUNTY FL, INC CONDUCTS SEVERAL PROGRAMS AND ACTIVITIES DESIGNED TO PROMOTE WELFARE AND HAPPINESS OF ANIMALS, INCLUDING ADOPTION AND REUNITING PETS WITH THEIR OWNERS.

    Expenses $5,770,893 · Grants $2,695,484

  • PROVIDE HUMANE EDUCATION AND OUTREACH PROGRAMS TO INDIVIDUALS.

    Expenses $174,716

As filed on the 2024 return.

Officers and directors · 2024

As listed in Part VII of the 2024 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.

  • JILL COLLINSON

    PRESIDENT

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    4
  • SUSAN SCHUYLER SMITH

    PAST PRESIDENT

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • LISA MCCARTHY

    VICE PRESIDENT

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • KATHRYN BARTON

    TREASURER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • ROSALEN E CLINE

    SECRETARY

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    2
  • CHRISTINE HAMMARSKJOLD

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • ROB KUSCH

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • MELISSA HANDLER

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • RICHARD MARRA

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • MARGARET NORRIS

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • BECCA RUSSELL

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • WENDY TRIMARCHE

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • SOPHIE BENTHAM-WOOD

    BOARD MEMBER

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • LIZ SMOKOWSKI TERMINATED DEC 2024

    CEO

    Total calculated
    $126,836
    From this org
    $126,836
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • NICHOLA REDMOND

    CEO

    Total calculated
    $70,538
    From this org
    $70,538
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40
  • TANYA CIACCIARELLI

    VETINARIAN

    Total calculated
    $113,868
    From this org
    $113,868
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $0
    Hours/week
    40

Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.

Filings

  • 2024
    Revenue
    $7,848,061
    Expenses
    $6,784,383
    Contributions
    $5,931,633
    Grants paid
    $2,695,484
  • 2023
    Revenue
    $4,245,992
    Expenses
    $4,489,749
    Contributions
    $2,130,970
    Grants paid
    $0
  • 2022
    Revenue
    $3,896,610
    Expenses
    $4,485,966
    Contributions
    $1,488,540
    Grants paid
    $0

The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.

Other returns filed

  • 2021 · 990

    Revenue
    $3,876,281
    Expenses
    $4,478,044
    Assets (EOY)
    $7,124,569
  • 2020 · 990

    Revenue
    $4,307,966
    Expenses
    $4,181,771
    Assets (EOY)
    $6,950,955
  • 2019 · 990

    Revenue
    $3,463,275
    Expenses
    $4,706,005
    Assets (EOY)
    $7,510,689
  • 2018 · 990

    Revenue
    $2,833,378
    Expenses
    $4,151,368
    Assets (EOY)
    $8,977,347
  • 2017 · 990

    Revenue
    $5,051,366
    Expenses
    $3,995,930
    Assets (EOY)
    $9,608,020
  • 2016 · 990

    Revenue
    $3,368,902
    Expenses
    $3,581,376
    Assets (EOY)
    $8,211,721
  • 2015 · 990

    Revenue
    $3,800,949
    Expenses
    $3,419,692
    Assets (EOY)
    $8,342,814
  • 2014 · 990

    Revenue
    $3,317,662
    Expenses
    $3,370,437
    Assets (EOY)
    $7,995,193
  • 2011 · 990

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    $2,664,456
    Assets (EOY)
    $8,714,003
  • 2010 · 990

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    $2,853,345
    Assets (EOY)
    $8,963,963

Nonprofiteer parses Forms 990, 990-EZ and 990-PF, in a window of recent tax years. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all. Showing the 10 most recent; the API carries the rest.

Grants made

  • HUMANE SOCIETY OF VERO BEACH AND INDIAN RIVER COUNTY FL FOUNDATION

    $2,695,484

    2024 TO INVEST FUNDS ON BEHALF OF THE SOCIETY TO BE USED FOR FUTURE OPERATIONS

Where these grants went next →

Grants received

The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.

Related organizations

From Schedule R Part II, where a filer lists the tax-exempt organizations it is related to by control. It does not record shared board members or money.

Declared on its 2024 return

Other IRS files

Auto-Revocation List

Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.

Publication 78

Listed as of 13 October 2026, under deductibility PC.

These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.

What this page reflects

The registration facts above come from the IRS Business Master File published 13 October 2026 and read 26 October 2026, for every organization at once. Returns through tax year 2024, the newest we have parsed for this organization.