Skip to content
Nonprofiteer
← All organizations

WEBSTER UNIVERSITY

EIN 43-0662529 SAINT LOUIS, MO

Revenue 2024
$166,552,505
Expenses 2024
$183,097,322

Program services were 84.7% of total expenses calculated — Part IX's program-services column over total expenses, both as filed.

As filed

Subsection
03
NTEE code
B430
Classification
2000
Street
470 E LOCKWOOD AVE

These codes are the IRS's own and are shown exactly as filed. What each one means is in the Business Master File documentation (opens in a new tab).

Officers and directors · 2024

As listed in Part VII of the 2024 return, in the order the filer printed them. Each return names its own; this is not a roster the organization keeps with us.

  • Elizabeth Stroble

    Chancellor - End 06/30/2024

    Total calculated
    $767,876
    From this org
    $700,162
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $67,714
    Hours/week
    38

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $392,746
    Bonus
    $300,000
    Other
    $7,416
    Deferred
    $19,007
    Nontaxable benefits
    $48,707
    Filer's total
    $767,876
  • John Nickel

    Chair of the Board

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Julian Schuster

    President

    Total calculated
    $774,161
    From this org
    $557,652
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $216,509
    Hours/week
    38

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $543,174
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $14,478
    Deferred
    $186,622
    Nontaxable benefits
    $29,887
    Filer's total
    $774,161
  • Katherine Daniel

    Secretary

    Total calculated
    $89,081
    From this org
    $67,877
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $21,204
    Hours/week
    38
  • Susan Gay Burns

    Vice Chair

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Timothy Keane

    Chancellor - Start 06/30/2024

    Total calculated
    $254,942
    From this org
    $239,391
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $15,551
    Hours/week
    38

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $233,358
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $6,033
    Deferred
    $6,708
    Nontaxable benefits
    $8,843
    Filer's total
    $254,942
  • William Donovan

    Chief Financial Officer/Treasurer

    Total calculated
    $199,845
    From this org
    $180,833
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $19,012
    Hours/week
    38

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $174,338
    Bonus
    $6,000
    Other
    $495
    Deferred
    $0
    Nontaxable benefits
    $19,012
    Filer's total
    $199,845
  • Alan Elliott Merschen

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Alicia F Elsner

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Daniel Lisella

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • David P Weiss

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Ellen Harshman

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Gail F Baker

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Jennifer Ozimkiewicz

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Jovita Foster

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Kathleen O'Neill

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Lisa Melandri

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Marvin Anderson

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • May Scheve Reardon

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Michael J Girsch

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Mike Clairborne

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Sumit Verma

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • William Fogarty

    Trustee

    Total calculated
    $0
    Hours/week
    1
  • Lisa Blazer

    Vice President Enrollment Mgmt

    Total calculated
    $244,890
    From this org
    $226,765
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $18,125
    Hours/week
    38

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $223,515
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $3,250
    Deferred
    $6,818
    Nontaxable benefits
    $11,307
    Filer's total
    $244,890
  • Nancy Hellerud

    Vice President Academic Affairs

    Total calculated
    $249,171
    From this org
    $230,464
    From related orgs
    $0
    Other
    $18,707
    Hours/week
    38

    Schedule J breakdown matched by us

    Base
    $221,008
    Bonus
    $0
    Other
    $9,456
    Deferred
    $7,398
    Nontaxable benefits
    $11,309
    Filer's total
    $249,171

The first 25 listed. Compensation is as filed in Part VII: reportable pay from this organization and from related organizations, other compensation, and hours per week. The total, marked calculated, is our sum of the three dollar columns, with a blank column counted as $0; the form itself has no total. On a Form 990-EZ the columns are Part IV's instead, and on a Form 990-PF Part VIII's — compensation, contributions to benefit plans, and expense account — and the total sums those. A Schedule J breakdown is as filed: base pay, bonus, other, deferred compensation and nontaxable benefits from this organization, with any from related organizations beside each, and the filer's own total. It is shown with the Part VII listing of the same name on the same return. The form gives no key between the two, so that pairing is ours, and is marked matched by us. Earlier years are each on their own filing page.

Filings

  • 2024
    Revenue
    $166,552,505
    Expenses
    $183,097,322
    Contributions
    $4,007,758
    Grants paid
    $46,406,377
  • 2023
    Revenue
    $170,755,309
    Expenses
    $184,043,223
    Contributions
    $4,264,829
    Grants paid
    $40,233,981
  • 2022
    Revenue
    $126,933,651
    Expenses
    $166,249,909
    Contributions
    $3,687,201
    Grants paid
    $33,676,418

The four totals the IRS asks for on Part I of the Form 990, as filed. A dash means the figure was not present on the return — not that it was zero.

Other returns filed

  • 2024 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2023 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported
  • 2022 · 990-T

    Revenue
    not reported
    Expenses
    not reported
    Assets (EOY)
    not reported

Nonprofiteer parses Forms 990, 990-EZ and 990-PF, in a window of recent tax years. These returns are recorded from the IRS e-file index, so their figures were extracted by that index rather than read from the return here — treat them as a different source from the filings above, not as more of the same record. A dash means the index carries no figure; Form 990-T listings carry none at all.

Grants made

Where these grants went next →

Grants received

The 10 largest by cash amount. The API serves every itemized grant.

Related organizations

From Schedule R Part II, where a filer lists the tax-exempt organizations it is related to by control. It does not record shared board members or money.

Declared on its 2024 return

  • WEBSTER UNIVERSITY TONG TU ENTERPRISE MGMT CONS

    EDUCATIONAL · CH · controlled entity

  • WEBSTER UNIVERSITY VIENNA

    EDUCATIONAL · AU · controlled entity

  • WEBSTER UNIVERSITY-GHANA

    EDUCATIONAL · GH · controlled entity

  • FONDATION WEBSTER (WEBSTER UNIV-GENEVA)

    EDUCATIONAL · SZ · controlled entity

  • WEBSTER UNIV IN LEIDEN (THE NETHERLANDS)

    EDUCATIONAL · NL · controlled entity

  • WEBSTER ATHENS COLLEGE

    EDUCATIONAL · GR · controlled entity

  • BRANCH OF WEBSTER UNIV IN IN GEORGIA

    EDUCATIONAL · GG · controlled entity

Taxable family

From Schedule R Parts I, III and IV: entities that legally are the filer, and taxable partnerships, corporations and trusts it is related to. These record ownership and control, not shared board members or money.

Disregarded entities on its 2024 return

Other IRS files

Auto-Revocation List

Not listed. The IRS publishes this list for organizations whose exemption was automatically revoked for failing to file for three consecutive years.

Publication 78

Listed as of 10 September 2026, under deductibility PC.

These are two separate IRS files on two separate schedules, shown as published and not reconciled with each other. Neither is a statement about whether a contribution is deductible today: 19,245 organizations appear in Publication 78 while the IRS's own revocation file lists them as currently revoked, more than half of those revoked before 2019. Absence from Publication 78 is evidence of nothing, and presence is not evidence either. Verify current status with the IRS before relying on it.

What this page reflects

The IRS Business Master File ingested 5 October 2026, which is when the registration facts above were last refreshed for every organization. Returns through tax year 2024, the newest we have parsed for this organization.